We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - great staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Save Saved
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Galvestonian
1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - great staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a terrific stay at the Galvestonian. The staff was amazing from the start. I wanted to bring my mother who is in a wheel chair to a hotel/condo where she could sit on the balcony and watch her grandchildren fly kites and play in the ocean. I called reservations and the person with whom I spoke was helpful from the start regarding what floor I should target (we ended on the 5th floor) and even what unit would best suit her needs. At check-in, the front desk immediately showed me the wheelchair she could use for the duration. They were helpful regarding restaurants and shopping. The pool was immaculate- plenty of towels and plenty of chairs. The condo itself was very comfortable. Well stocked, including beach umbrellas and chairs (although you can also rent a nicer set-up for $30). The on site activity manager stopped by a couple of times to make sure we had everything we needed. He showed much kindness toward my mother and even stated that he was considering investing in a beach wheelchair for guest use. I will not consider staying any where else during future trips. Truely an outstanding stay for us and one that will be a highlight in our memory books. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: No restaurant so no room service- everything else - outstanding. If you want to be able to see peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Delaware012,

I remember your family. Your mom was super nice. I believe your family stayed in condo 503. Some of the condo owners leave extra stuff in their condos for the guest to use such as the umbrella and chairs. Not only are we looking into the beach access chair but now we are thinking about getting a large Galvestonian kite. I am glad you thought our staff was amazing. They really do work hard. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    36
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

our family of 5 stayed for 3 nights July 2013 and everyone thought the Galvestonion was the best beach vacation experience we ever had. Staff was friendly and competitent. Everything working, very very clean, well-kept, secure, and classy. The pool was always in perfect order; the beach was kept much cleaner of sea weed than most Galveston beaches, and the condo was fantastic--good beds, good decor, kitchen appliances, AC working well, plenty of elevators running, and everything really clean and manicured. Kids 10, 11, and 12 and wife all enjoyed. It is an up-scale, classy place but friendly. I was a hero for finding this place. Pricier than many places, but you get what you pay for in this case!.

I was worried it was a long walk to the beach, but it is really close with boardwalk across dunes. And shower before you enter pool area to wash off sand. This is best pool I've ever been in. Plenty of close resturants near the galvestonion on north end of island easy to get to. Recommend Russo's New York Pizza close by and ArlansMarket(grocery store) both only about 3-4 miles away with easy parking.

Room Tip: browse the rooms to find one that is best--these are condos and not all identical in furnighing, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi TheEngineer 54,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your accommodations in the condo your family stayed in. You are correct about our condos not being identical. Each one of our condos are individually owned and uniquely decorated. We look forward to seeing your family back here with us in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here in late June, with 3 kids: 2 aged 14 and one 11 years. There are both positive and negative aspects to the place.

Positive: the facility is quite new so things are in good condition. The condo was well furnished and had modern appliances, etc. Several features not always available in many condo rentals: reception is in the foyer ( not off site) so later check-in is no problem and there is help available as needed. The daily maid service is great and I liked having pool/beach towels available although I wish they had advertised this so I could have saved a lot of space in my luggage. Nice pool and surrounding grounds.

Negatives: I don't know how they got the beach photos on their website, other than by photoshop. The sand is narrower than it appears there, and marred with a thick line of seaweed each high tide. The resort did clear the weed, but dumped it in a huge pile near the boardwalk. The water is far from blue - more like brown and quite foul-smelling. It looks ok from a distance but the beach itself is a big disappointment. Given this, we expected to spend a lot of time in the pool. Be warned, though. The management have a LOT of rules for the pool, which they enforce very erratically. Like a previous reviewer, I got the sense they were biased against kids. My daughter had a small, soft ball (smaller than a tennis ball) that was using very responsibly; she was told she couldn't play with it. The previous day, another family had a football and boogie boards in the pool, without comment. Two days later, the pool was overrun with adults bringing beers into the pool, and even one guy with a cigar and, again no comments.

Bottom line: if you have only adults in your group and you care about the beach only in terms of view, you could have a nice time here. But if you have kids, or want a nice beach, spend your vacation dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the individual rooms on the website. Be aware that the living space in the 2 bedroom condos is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Linlley A,

I guess the first thing I would say is "wow". You hit us pretty hard on the negatives. I will address this first. Galveston has very unique and dynamic beaches. There is one thing that will clear up some of your comments as we move forward. We are going to be introducing a new web cam that will primarily focus on the picnic area, the walkover to the beach, the beach, and then the ocean. This will give everyone a true picture at all times. Your comments about the photos on the web site are somewhat inaccurate. I will now try and explain the beaches, seaweed, and the water clarity. The Sargasso Sea that is located in the Northern Atlantic Ocean has huge mats of Sargassum Seaweed that floats on top of the water spinning in a clockwise motion with the currents. In the summer time large mats up to miles long and hundreds of yards wide break off. The mats then catch the Caribbean currents, travel through the Yucatan Straits, and then enter the Gulf of Mexico. The mats then wash up along the Texas shorelines periodically through the summer. The Sargassum seaweed serves many purposes. Small aquatic life such as fish, crabs, shrimp, and turtles seek shelter in the seaweed which allows for them to grow up. Fisherman also use the mats as an advantage as larger fish hang out around the mats. When the mats hit the shores/beaches we then use the seaweed to help build the dune systems which help protect us from hurricanes. We recently have placed sand on the 2 new dunes made of seaweed. By this fall, more sand will build up when it's windy and then the vegetation will start to grow on them. So, this is a good thing. Texas A & M Galveston also has a program called the SEAS program. Dr. Robert Webster has been studying the landfalls of the Sargassum for some time now. He tracks it by Satellite and also by fly overs. He emails coastal managers every week letting us know where the landfalls will occur. This allows for us to staff up and get the machinery we need to clear the seaweed. The water clarity changes from day to day. I can assure you there are many days of the year when the Galveston's surf is calm and green to the beach. My prediction is that the surf will be green to the beach this Tuesday. You can actually see the fish swimming in the waves and see your feet standing in 4' of water at times. When the winds get very high and the waves get bigger it will stir up the sand. The water is not dirty. In fact, a report just came out that Galveston beach waters are some of the cleanest along the coast. As far as your comments about our pool rules. We try to ensure that everyone has a pleasant experience. We really do! If your child was allowed to throw a small ball around then we would have to allow every child in the pool to throw balls. A pool full of ball throwing is not an environment that our guests wish for. As far as kids breaking out a football or jumping in the pool with a boogie board. I can assure you that as soon as we see them we ask them to take them out. On the other hand, we do really appreciate your nice comments about our Condos and our facilities. We work as hard as we can to maintain them and try to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay here with us. We consider ourselves "The Best Family Spot on the Beach" as many of our reviewers agree as well.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Galvestonian for the 3 years with a large group, typically occupying 3 condos. The service we have received has typically been fantastic, unless the kids try to take toys into the pool (one year we received from very disapproving looks and a bit of an attitude from one of the ladies working at the desk). The location is perfect...you are right on the beach, but away from the busy areas, so it's almost like having a private beach in front of you. The condos are wonderfully furnished and there are a number of amenities, like grills for BBQing, a workout room, and an awesome pool. We will be staying here again in July and we can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Nancy K,

We appreciate you bringing your family to the Galvestonian for the last 3 years. Almost all of our amenities were upgraded this last off season and we are happy you have recognized this. All of our rental Condos have gone through upgrades over this last off season as well. We look forward to having your family and friends back here with us again at the Galvestonian.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place rocks. We loved the privacy and it was still a close drive to the strand and many other attractions. We loved that it had a condo and offered an all inclusive hotel price. We liked the security and overall it was great. They had tons of beach items (boogie boards, sand toys, chairs etc). The staff was overall very nice. We loved that they had wifi. The only issues were parking ( there is limited parking near the hotel because available parking is reserved for owners causing guests to park in the street when occupancy is high) and seagull poop on the BBQ pit area so made the grill area less inviting. We would have loved to see some resort type activities such as s'mores, volleyball nets, organized activities for the family and kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Griswalds 101,

We appreciate your nice comments about your stay here at the Galvestonian. We work very hard at maintaining our pool deck area and picnic area. Unfortunately the sea gulls are a constant battle as they are flying around all day long. This last Saturday night we had a smores night for the kids and families at our fire pit area. We will now be having a smores night every Saturday night for the rest of the summer. Thank you for the suggestion! Were glad you loved the privacy with yet being so close to all of the area attractions. We look forward to seeing you back here in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Galvestonian for a long weekend in February. We found the hotel very bright and well located on the beach front without any road to cross to get onto the sand. The one bedroom flat was well equipped but needed freshened up (new kitchen is overdue) and properly dusted. The view from the balcony was fantastic and very relaxing. The place is off the beaten track which makes it quiet but still very close to the town centre. The pool was great and so was the jacuzzi. Breakfast on self service in the lobby on weekend days only. Look out for the 3 nights for the price of 2 in the springtime. We would recommend eating at the Sunflower Cafe an Leon's BBQ."

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
nicandhul,

We appreciate your positive comments about our "On the Beach Resort". We are seeing more guests here at the Galvestonian from other countries. We always find they are very kind and a pleasure to serve. I noticed you mentioned a couple of different restaurants here in Galveston. Both of them are very good as you noted. We hope to see you back here at the Galvestonian in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stay at the Galvestonian every time we go to Galveston in recent years because of its location. On East beach on the water, away from the crowds on the sea wall. You walk over the dunes to get to the water, not across a busy road. Not crowded like the sea wall with all the traffic. The units are all condos. The staff is always friendly. Only complaint is there is some dispute over the rental of umbrellas and beach chairs, so there weren't any available during our stay. We had to pack up and go to Stewart beach to go to the beach to have the umbrella. We understand the property is going to start providing them Memorial Day weekend.

Room Tip: Pictures of the rooms are available on the Internet. I do not think they have a bad room, but the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi LivesHere,

Thank you for choosing the Galvestonian as your resort destination every time your family visits Galveston. We just started renting our beautiful brand new beach umbrellas and chairs this past Memorial Day weekend prior to you visiting us. We currently have 20 sets and they are in high demand on the weekends. We really appreciate your comments about our location. Being "Right on the Beach" is one of the best attributes we have. We look forward to seeing your family back with us next time you are down in Galveston.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
Free internet...
Show More
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.