We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Wylie, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great Mother's day weekend at this hotel. The room is a great size and layout for my small family of 3 and my husband's parents. Access to the beach and the pool were spectacular, I did not have to cross a busy road with my 2 year old. I also believe that they rake up the seaweed to make their stretch of beach nicer.

We had two issues during our stay - 1) despite booking a room with 2 king beds, we were moved to a different room about 2 weeks before our stay. We had asked for them to make the second room with twin beds into a king bed and this was not done prior to our arrival. They did send someone up to immediately rectify this. This room also had all glass tables - which I wonder if our original room might have better furniture for a toddler who does not understand glass tables can break easily.

2) The oven light stayed on the entire time we were there. We told the maid who changed the beds and she said maintenance would fix it but no one ever came to correct it. (we were there for 3 nights)

The only other thing I would change is that it would be nice to have some curtains in the bedroom facing the water. The shades just don't block enough light to keep it dark for sleeping early in the morning or for toddler nap time.

The hospitality and amenities (coffee and tea all the time, donut holes in the morning, pool and beach towels that are easily accessible) all made for a great stay and we will definitely stay here again in the future. The staff was responsive to most of our needs and even helped us fax a document that had a time limit on it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Amber R,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with your family. I have checked into the concerns you noted and assure you that we have addressed them. We are glad your family enjoyed the easy access to the beach. I am pleased you found our hospitality and amenities accommodating. I will pass along your nice comments to the front desk staff member that assisted you. We hope to see you back here at the Galvestonian.

Sincerely,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    41
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
115
63
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the Galvestonian within four years and must say it just gets better. This time we booked a one bedroom on the 12th floor and the view was breathtaking! We also stayed in a two & three bedrooms in the past and they were just as nice. I have nothing negative to say about the galvestonian and will also book when we visit Galveston.
The kingsize bed was very comfortable & I had no problem sleeping. Usually I have trouble sleeping on strange matresses but not on this one.

Room Tip: Rooms on 12th floor for perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Telicogirl,

We really appreciate your repeat visits here with us at the Galvestonian. Our success is due to customers just like you. This last year we upgraded our beds and we are glad you found them very comfortable. We are also very happy that you recognize the continual improvements we are making to our property. We hope to see you back here again at the Galvestonian in the near future.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we came for a mini-honeymoon having just been married in beaumont, tx and the service is just what we expected from other reviews. great amenities, great property and exceptional service. the rooms are big since it's a condo and not a hotel but the 24/7 staff make your dreams come true ... even down to bringing flowers and breakfast in bed (one of our requests).

stay right on the beach at what we consider the nicest place in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
ChuckShelley,

Thank you for your recent posting about your stay here at the Galvestonian Condo’s. Our location “Right on the Beache” on the quiet eastern end of Galveston Island makes for a great place to get away for a honeymoon. We are really happy your stay went well! Creating lasting memories is part of our staff’s culture. We hope to see you back for your anniversary.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our first trip to the Galvestonian but we have been to Galveston many times staying at houses or other hotels. This by far was the best experience we have had. We have a 3 year old and the privacy and lack of the busy Seawall Blvd was a huge plus for us. It was absolutely no trouble to get the car and be at a place to eat, the Pleasure Pier or anywhere in minutes. We booked a 1 bedroom deluxe, had a slight issue with the plumbing and as soon as the maintenance crew decided it wasn't an easy fix, we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo immediately. The staff was more than helpful, the whole property was very clean and the 2 different rooms we were able to experience were more than nice. It was a great trip, great accommodations and we will be returning with a group of friends in just 2 months!

Room Tip: The higher floors probably have the best view, we were on the 11th and 12th floor (12 story buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Melissa W,

Thank you for your recent posting about your stay here at the Galvestonian Condo’s. I am glad we were able to immediately upgrade you when you experienced a plumbing issue in your Condo. Your comments about our staff and the appearance of our property are appreciated. We look forward to your return visit with your friends in a couple of months.

Thank you,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is a little pricey, but there is not much choice in Galvestion to stay directly on the beach. The Galvestonian is a really nice property with a heated pool, and walking access to the beach. We went in March so it was still a little chilly. The kids (12 and 10) loved the pool and hot tub. We walked out on the beach every day, and found a few shells. Condo is great, because you can shop for groceries at the nearby store (Arlans), and cook your meals there- so you do save on not eating out. All rooms have a few! You do not have to bring your beach towels- they are provided by the Galvestonian. They also have coffee in the lobby, as well as computer/ wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi 8lizB,

Thank you for choosing the Galvestonian for your spring break vacation. We are glad to know that your family enjoyed their stay and thank you for the nice comment about our pool and spa. Many of our guests tell us that we have the best pool in Galveston. We maintain our pool at 86 degrees during the cooler spring, fall, and winter months. And you are right, "you do save on not eating out". Condos with full kitchens do indeed save families money on their vacations. We hope that you and your family return soon for another visit. Please feel free to visit our website for special spring value packages.

Best regards,
Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I should have written a review sooner since we stayed last August, but I am writing it now based on a recent review I read on Trip Advisor. We LOVED the Galvestonian! The previous reviewer was talking about the pool and that they don't allow pool toys. I understand how he must have been frustrated about that since he was there with his young children; I would have felt the same way. But; as a parent with older teen children, this was a huge positive for us. It was wonderful that the staff cared about us and stopped three boys from throwing a ball and splashing everyone. It was great to have some relaxing pool time. We also loved it that they didn't allow children in the hot tub. I guess it is all in what you need as a traveler,so I wanted to show the opposite viewpoint. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They were eager to give us ideas on where to eat, and other island info. The condo itself is extremely well maintained. It's really hard to believe that it was built in the 70's. If you are looking for a place without the seawall, easy access to town, a great beach, large rooms with kitchens, and great pool and hot tub, this is for you. Look at the pictures, call and ask questions about the rooms, and you won't be disappointed. I don't want to stay anywhere else in Galveston. Lastly, the rooms are very quiet, we never heard any of our neighbors at all.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but of course the views are better higher up. They have small one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Crunz3,

We appreciate your recent review! We are happy you found your condo to be quiet and well maintained. I saw you mentioned the fully equipped kitchen in the condo. The full kitchen does make it easy for families who do not want to eat out for every meal. Though, there are plenty of great restaurants just a few minutes away. Our beach access being “Right on the Beach” and views of the Gulf from every Condo we have does make us unique. We look forward to seeing you back at the Galvestonian in the near future.

Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Galvestonian the week of March 25th, 2013. Tim Lopas was very accommodating the first time we came and explored our options of staying for a week somewhere on Galveston Island. He personally showed us a couple of units of different style to help us make a decision for our 3 teens. Although the prices seem to be expensive, you have to weigh the options of going out to eat -vs- buying food from Walmart down the road and cooking in your own kitchenette. It is a no brainer especially with 3 growing teens. Although our weather was very cool (mid 50's to low 60's) with a very stiff wind, it was very refreshing coming from Minnesota. Our family might make the drive to Galveston again in August after the kids sport's wind down and right before school starts in early September. There is plenty to do for kids like playing tennis, biking, basketball etc. Of course you have the heated pool and hot tub. They have a very nice grilling area where i cooked burgers and hot dogs a couple of times. Hoping to see a rattle snake next time we come down!

Thanks again Tim for making our trip fun as we did lots of activities on the side as well (ghost tour, Moody Mansion, Pleasure Pier just to name a few). Lots of great places to eat out at as well.

Brent Z. from Minnesota

P.S. Tim. I have your business card and if it works out we might come back down in August. I will be in touch as we get closer.

Room Tip: Apparently you can look online at the rooms beforehand. I did not know this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Brent,

We do hope to see you and your family again this summer. The beach is awesome in the late summer and there is so much to do and see for families. Your kids will have a great time! I thought it was unique how your family found us. Tim told me that you researched Galveston on trip advisor, drove down from Minnesota, and then reviewed the top lodging choices in Galveston before booking. We are glad that you chose the Galvestonian! “Right on the Beach”. We hope to see you back soon!

Greg Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#14 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.