We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Galvestonian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Galvestonian to your Saves list
The Galvestonian
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUY TWO, GET ONE FREE!
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Galvestonian is a nice property located in a non-congested part of the island.
The property is beach front...no walking across busy traffic to get to the beach.

We have stayed here 4 times, each time in a different unit. All units are individually owned therefore, decorations vary. We have been very happy every time!

These are condos with fully equipped kitchens, no restaurant onsite.
Sounds like a perfect family property...it would be, but we went without kids each time and were very pleased that there weren't many kiddos on the premises.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the individual units on The Galvestonian website. I'd recommend looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments and we appreciate your business. If I can be of service you can contact me directly at gclark@galvestonian.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    39
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are regulars at the San Luis Resort. However, the beach and that area of the seawall is so crowded, especially during the summer so I wanted something on the beach but more quiet. I found it! The Galvestonian is perfect! We went to the beach Friday night and Saturday am and I felt like it was our own private beach! The staff is very accomodating! From giving us Off for the mosquitos to flashlights to see in the dark on the beach. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only downside is no restaurant on site, so make sure you bring some food or prepare to eat out every meal. They do have coffee and donuts in the morning in the lobby. I will definitely be back and suggest this hotel to family and friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in #306. Two balconies, one off the living room and one off the bedroom. Great views! V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stay in room 112 and loved it. i traveled with 4 other picky ladies for a girl's weekend and everyone loved it. the decor and furnishings were nice beach themed without being cheezy, the kitchen and bathrooms were nicely updated with granite. it was also very well stocked with kitchen cookware and dishes. would highly recommend this unit! the staff were all very nice and knowlegable of the area.

Room Tip: choose 112 all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our second trip to The Galvestonian. It is the best place to stay in Galveston. Beach was clean. Pool was clean and nice. Close to area restaurants and attractions. Only drawback, which was not their fault, was mosquitos are very very bad - bring your Off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012, and it was wonderful! The views were beautiful, the beach clean and not crowded, and the staff were wonderful. We booked online and received a prompt email response. Will always stay here when in Gaveston!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Galvestonian and it was just as beautiful as it was in 2010. We were in a party of 6 which included 2 younger children and we had plenty of room in 3 bed/2 bath on 10th floor. This is perfect for couples & families. Some people may say its too expensive but you get what you pay for private beach, clean swimming pool and beautififul units.

One complaint....housekeeping did not clean the bath tub nor swept or vacuum the floors but they did take the trash out on a daily basis along with making up the beds. This is why I rate them "almost perfect". Thinking about going back in the Fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I spent memorial weekend here and had an awesome time. The location is perfect, as Galveston is packed over the holidays. We loved the room and the staff is very accommodating. The room was very clean had an excellent view and was very romantic..Galveston has the new pleasure pier and some of he best resturants in the state. Hope to return soon, a four and a half hour drive is not bad for a tropical get-away. Highly recommend I am just sorry I did not buy one 20 years ago.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galvestonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galvestonian

Address: 1401 East Beach Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#1 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galvestonian 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galvestonian is designed for pleasure and relaxation. For outdoor fun, the large heated swimming pool, which features a hot-tub Jacuzzi, is elevated on a deck which runs almost the entire length of the building. This affords the privacy you deserve, plus a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. The spacious poolside cabana is quiet, shaded area for enjoying pool side refreshments. For tennis buffs, there are two lighted courts. And, of course, there are miles of beach a few steps down from the pool deck. You can stroll along the water's edge, build sand castles or simply relax on the sand and let the sun's golden rays warm your body.East Beach is the most exclusive beach in Texas. Only 50 minutes from Hobby Airport and only three minutes from downtown Galveston. East Beach is a hideaway which will allow you to escape life's pressures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your The Galvestonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Hotel Galveston
Galvestonian Resort Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galvestonian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.