We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort ,Beauty ,History....!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Inn
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Galveston B&B and Inns
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Comfort ,Beauty ,History....!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Enchanting place!!! we did stay for just one night , but the house ambiance it was so charming along with the greeting of Marcy our Hostess ,Pure nature in a lovely patio, friendly cats and sweet bunnies make part of this perfect picture, you can just Smell love in the air of this wonderful place.
Thanks so much for make our visit so great we are to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very pleasantly charmed by this place. You do feel you are somewhere special when you check in. We stayed in Mauney's suite. The bed was super lush.There was a nice fireplace that kept our room warm and cozy. Our room had an attached bathroom and a screened in porch that was great for a cup of coffee in the morning. Marcy owns and runs the house and has put her personal touches on everything. Her breakfasts were beautiful and tasty. Plenty of choices. She also has created a bunny rescue garden in back. She will introduce you to the bunnies that have their own houses...and seem very, very happy. She has also created a certified wildlife habitat that includes an array of birds, cats, squirrels, and doves. Feeding time is delightful to watch. Slow down, sit a spell in the big rockers on the covered porch, and enjoy all that the Victorian inn has to offer. Walking distance to the strand and tons of great restaurants and bars.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was introduced to the Victorian Inn and Marcy about three years ago and I keep returning each year. It is hard to add to all the excellent reviews to date and I completely agree with them. Marcy, the hostess, is a friendly, caring and very interesting lady. Be sure to ask about her adventures after Hurricane Ike! Her breakfasts are served buffet style and are delicious. One of my main criteria about a B&B or a hotel is cleanliness. This house is pristine and beautifully decorated. In addition to the spacious rooms, it is relaxing to sit in the living room,enjoy a board game, read a book or look at all the beautiful antiques. I also love a good porch and this inn has a spacious one and is truely a joy on a good weather day. There is a wide variety of rooms that accomodate any need. This Inn is a true survivor of the Island and is one of the few structures that still remains on the island that survived the 1900 Hurricane, so if you are interested in the island or hurricane history, this is worth a tour. Marcy also has a survivor, of sorts, from Hurricane Ike in the form of a beautiful angel in the garden. It was carved from an oak tree that did not survive the storm. It is one of several such carvings that can be toured on foot from the Inn. I highly recommend staying at the Victorian Inn and know you will not be disappointed. When you go, tell Marcy hello for me and I'll be seeing her soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm not big on B & B's but this was a wonderful, elegant place for our weekend visit to the Island. The building structure is over 100 years old and in perfect repair with beautiful furniture and period antiques yet it was quiet and comfortable as opposed to other B & B's where I have stayed. Tree carvings and bunny rabbits are found in the garden and sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine was a perfect "unwind". It is conveniently located walking distance to the strand. Marcy is a perfect hostess and a very interesting person. Her food was awesome, fresh seasonal fruit, homemade fig preserves, warm ginger bread, eggs benedict, yogurt, granola i.e., something for everyone's palate. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

B&Bs are our preferred lodging when we travel so we have a lot of experience with these across the country. We just stayed at the Victorian Inn in Galveston for a medical school reunion in Galveston. The mansion is one block over from where I lived as a medical student in Galveston. This is truly a very special place. The owner/manager Marcy Hanson is totally dedicated to her home and B&B. The mansion is one of the best that we have stayed at. The room was large, quiet, comfortable, and impeccably decorated to the Victorian and historic times in Galveston. Marcy will give you a tour and terrific history of the house. Being a Galveston native and long time resident of Galveston, she will give you some great history of the city and recommendations of what to do and the local's restaurants. This really adds a great touch to the stay. She maintains a rabbit rescue and you can walk around among them which is a real treat. When staying here you can take a nice walk through the historic home district and you are in very close proximity to the Strand historic area. Marcy is a terrific chef and her breakfast is one of the best that we have had at a B&B. Marcy is really fun to talk with. I can't recommend another place more highly. I only wish we could have spent more time there. Please feel free to contact me if I can help you with your stay in Galveston.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An exquisite place to stay – we spend a lot of time on the big porch when we visit..
Marcy is the perfect hostess – and makes killer breakfasts. All rooms are great –
The Inn is within walking distance to the Original Mexican Inn, the Sunflower Bakery, the Strand, and the Seawall (less than a mile away).

Room Tip: the garden apartment on the lower floor has a private entrance and is best for extended stay (has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 6th anniversary on a weekend trip to the island. The Victorian Inn is a gorgeous historic home full of original fireplaces, floors and carved wood work plus added antiques and furnishings yet it is warm and comfortable.

We stayed in Laura's room which was full of charm and quite nice. The bed was soft and comfy and the room was suprisingly large. In the main bedroom was a king size bed and a table and chairs for games or snacks. There is a day bedroom off to one side with a twin bed in it as well. Like most historic homes of the time, to get to your private patio you walk out the window! The windows are floor to ceiling and slide up to allow you access to a small covered patio. The shared bath was dated pink tile but it fits in the home and was spotless clean and well furnished should you have forgotten something.

The Inn's location is perfect walking distance(1/4-1 mile) from many resturaunts, shops and attractions and it was a very easy drive to the seawall and beach as well. We walked to The Original Mexican Inn, The Mosquito Cafe, The Strand, the Tall Ship Elissa, the Ocean Star Drilling Rig and Museum, Starbucks, The Bishop's Palace and more!

Marcy was a great hostess who is very familiar with the area and has many recommendations on things to do and places to eat. She also cooks an excellent breakfast including fabulous homemade fig preserves and blueberry jam!

The price of the Victorian is on par with many local hotels which are far shadier looking and not nearly as high of quality.

We will certainly stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Don't shy away from the rooms with a shared bathroom. You rarely see the other patrons of the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.