We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite place to stay - spend time on the big porch. Marcy is the perfect hostess - makes killer breakfasts. The bu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Inn
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Galveston B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An exquisite place to stay - spend time on the big porch. Marcy is the perfect hostess - makes killer breakfasts. The bu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An exquisite place to stay – we spend a lot of time on the big porch when we visit..
Marcy is the perfect hostess – and makes killer breakfasts. All rooms are great –
The Inn is within walking distance to the Original Mexican Inn, the Sunflower Bakery, the Strand, and the Seawall (less than a mile away).

Room Tip: the garden apartment on the lower floor has a private entrance and is best for extended stay (has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 6th anniversary on a weekend trip to the island. The Victorian Inn is a gorgeous historic home full of original fireplaces, floors and carved wood work plus added antiques and furnishings yet it is warm and comfortable.

We stayed in Laura's room which was full of charm and quite nice. The bed was soft and comfy and the room was suprisingly large. In the main bedroom was a king size bed and a table and chairs for games or snacks. There is a day bedroom off to one side with a twin bed in it as well. Like most historic homes of the time, to get to your private patio you walk out the window! The windows are floor to ceiling and slide up to allow you access to a small covered patio. The shared bath was dated pink tile but it fits in the home and was spotless clean and well furnished should you have forgotten something.

The Inn's location is perfect walking distance(1/4-1 mile) from many resturaunts, shops and attractions and it was a very easy drive to the seawall and beach as well. We walked to The Original Mexican Inn, The Mosquito Cafe, The Strand, the Tall Ship Elissa, the Ocean Star Drilling Rig and Museum, Starbucks, The Bishop's Palace and more!

Marcy was a great hostess who is very familiar with the area and has many recommendations on things to do and places to eat. She also cooks an excellent breakfast including fabulous homemade fig preserves and blueberry jam!

The price of the Victorian is on par with many local hotels which are far shadier looking and not nearly as high of quality.

We will certainly stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Don't shy away from the rooms with a shared bathroom. You rarely see the other patrons of the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here prior to a cruise last year and it was just a little piece of heaven.
Our check in was quick and painless, the room was so cute!
Breakfast was included and it was very tasty with lots of different options to choose from.
We were able to leave our car parked for the week while on the cruise, which was an added bonus. It wasn't too far away for us to just walk back from the ship upon debarkation.

Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to others staying in the area :)

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointblank, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Four friends really enjoyed our weekend at this bed and breakfast. It is a beautiful house with a beautiful hostess. We had the third floor suite, 2 bedrooms, private bathroom and living room. This is the only suite on this floor. It is a long climb, but worth it. The house has quite a history surviving two major hurricanes and you could never tell. The bunny sancuary was so cool. Hats off to Marcy for taking them in and giving them a permanent home. Breakfast was outstanding, Marcy made a quiche that was kind of biscuits and gravey on the bottom and a wonderul egg custard on top. I definately will go back and would recommend this place to everyone. It was such a welcoming and homey place and close to the beach and the Strand. Our bed just was so comfortable, it seemed to embrace you.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, take the climb you will enjoy the 3rd floor suite, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

some friends came across the Victorian Inn a few weeks ago so we went down for a weekend. Marcy gave a great tour of the home with great details of its history. The place is great; beautiful garden, excellent breakfast and close to most everything in old Galveston making it easy to walk to lunch or dinner. can not wait til another chance to go and stay longer.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are great, but the main level porch is great and a fun place to hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I spent the night in the Garden Apartment at the Victorian Inn before sailing out of Galveston on an anniversary cruise and had a wonderfuly time. Marcy is a fantastic host, the property is beautiful, and breakfast was delicious. She even let us leave our car parked on the curb while we were at sea, saving us the cost of paying to park down by the cruise terminal. We had such a great time we're planning on going back for a long weekend just to visit and explore more of the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We visited the Bunny Garden hoping to get a photo of the tree sculpture "Angel Cradling Bunny." My 9 year old and I hesitated at the back gate not wanting to disturb any guest but seeing the sign welcoming visitors we entered (carefully following the 'close gate for bunnies' note.)
"Look, look, there are bunnies," he whispered...he'd forgotten our mission of finding the historic tree sculptures.
When asked "Can we Stay?" The answer is "Yes." We'll be staying at the Bed and Breakfast over his birthday this Spring. Charming and Enchanting aren't everyday experiences. Here, in Galveston, they are.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.