We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Inn
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Galveston B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

some friends came across the Victorian Inn a few weeks ago so we went down for a weekend. Marcy gave a great tour of the home with great details of its history. The place is great; beautiful garden, excellent breakfast and close to most everything in old Galveston making it easy to walk to lunch or dinner. can not wait til another chance to go and stay longer.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are great, but the main level porch is great and a fun place to hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I spent the night in the Garden Apartment at the Victorian Inn before sailing out of Galveston on an anniversary cruise and had a wonderfuly time. Marcy is a fantastic host, the property is beautiful, and breakfast was delicious. She even let us leave our car parked on the curb while we were at sea, saving us the cost of paying to park down by the cruise terminal. We had such a great time we're planning on going back for a long weekend just to visit and explore more of the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We visited the Bunny Garden hoping to get a photo of the tree sculpture "Angel Cradling Bunny." My 9 year old and I hesitated at the back gate not wanting to disturb any guest but seeing the sign welcoming visitors we entered (carefully following the 'close gate for bunnies' note.)
"Look, look, there are bunnies," he whispered...he'd forgotten our mission of finding the historic tree sculptures.
When asked "Can we Stay?" The answer is "Yes." We'll be staying at the Bed and Breakfast over his birthday this Spring. Charming and Enchanting aren't everyday experiences. Here, in Galveston, they are.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was my second stay at this B&B.
My friend Sue was out from St. Louis and we wanted to explore Galveston a bit. We booked our night at The Victorian Inn and was delighted with the stay. We stayed up late, came in after midnight from an evening out and stayed up to watch a movie,felt like we had the whle place to ourselves. Refreshments, popcorn, candy was available to snack on late night too. Breakfast was wonderful and set to light irish tunes just for us, because Marcy knew I was Irish !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast in Galveston 15 years ago. It is still our favorite romantic get away. It is only a 4 hour drive from our home in Waco, Texas. The owner/hostess Marcy is the most wonderful hostess and best cook you'll ever find. She treats her guests like family. The gorgeous Victorian mansion was built in 1899 and is in excellent condition. I took over 100 photos of the well manicured grounds, pet rabbits, and beautiful decor/furniture/personality inside the house.

Room Tip: We've stayed in all three rooms. One has a king size bed. One has a private bath. One has an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

A perfect getaway for an older couple needing a little time away from all the hassles!
Marcy makes guests feel very much at home by allowing total access to the pantry,
parlour, garden etc. anytime. She's very warm and friendly (and does a really tasty
breakfast.) We are planning to return when we do our next "getaway from it all!"
The Hunts

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We were visiting our daughter and attended Feather Fest. The Inn was in a perfect location, just 2 blocks from our daughter, about 1 mile from Feather Fest Headquarters and the Seawall beachfront. We had a car but walked alot in this beautiful neighborhood of largely restored Vctorian Homes. We could have done without a car and still have easily accessed some of the best restaurants in town on foot.

The innkeeper, Marcy H is a native Galvestonian but has traveled widely and is both historian and local activist. Marcy is currently working with local groups to replant tens of thousands of trees on the island that were lost in Hurricane Ike. We were sorry to miss the "Neighborwoods" tree distribution planned for the day after we left. Her spacious corner

At the Inn, Marcy responded to our every need for a full week. Meals were buffet style, healthy and ample. We came and went as we pleased and rarely ran into another guest even though we shared a hallway bathroom. It was like having our oun island home.

Our room, Laura's Room, was very lovely, comfortable and had a great balcony where I read and bird watched daily.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.