We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely way to kick off a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian Inn
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Galveston B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely way to kick off a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I spent the night in the Garden Apartment at the Victorian Inn before sailing out of Galveston on an anniversary cruise and had a wonderfuly time. Marcy is a fantastic host, the property is beautiful, and breakfast was delicious. She even let us leave our car parked on the curb while we were at sea, saving us the cost of paying to park down by the cruise terminal. We had such a great time we're planning on going back for a long weekend just to visit and explore more of the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We visited the Bunny Garden hoping to get a photo of the tree sculpture "Angel Cradling Bunny." My 9 year old and I hesitated at the back gate not wanting to disturb any guest but seeing the sign welcoming visitors we entered (carefully following the 'close gate for bunnies' note.)
"Look, look, there are bunnies," he whispered...he'd forgotten our mission of finding the historic tree sculptures.
When asked "Can we Stay?" The answer is "Yes." We'll be staying at the Bed and Breakfast over his birthday this Spring. Charming and Enchanting aren't everyday experiences. Here, in Galveston, they are.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was my second stay at this B&B.
My friend Sue was out from St. Louis and we wanted to explore Galveston a bit. We booked our night at The Victorian Inn and was delighted with the stay. We stayed up late, came in after midnight from an evening out and stayed up to watch a movie,felt like we had the whle place to ourselves. Refreshments, popcorn, candy was available to snack on late night too. Breakfast was wonderful and set to light irish tunes just for us, because Marcy knew I was Irish !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast in Galveston 15 years ago. It is still our favorite romantic get away. It is only a 4 hour drive from our home in Waco, Texas. The owner/hostess Marcy is the most wonderful hostess and best cook you'll ever find. She treats her guests like family. The gorgeous Victorian mansion was built in 1899 and is in excellent condition. I took over 100 photos of the well manicured grounds, pet rabbits, and beautiful decor/furniture/personality inside the house.

Room Tip: We've stayed in all three rooms. One has a king size bed. One has a private bath. One has an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

A perfect getaway for an older couple needing a little time away from all the hassles!
Marcy makes guests feel very much at home by allowing total access to the pantry,
parlour, garden etc. anytime. She's very warm and friendly (and does a really tasty
breakfast.) We are planning to return when we do our next "getaway from it all!"
The Hunts

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We were visiting our daughter and attended Feather Fest. The Inn was in a perfect location, just 2 blocks from our daughter, about 1 mile from Feather Fest Headquarters and the Seawall beachfront. We had a car but walked alot in this beautiful neighborhood of largely restored Vctorian Homes. We could have done without a car and still have easily accessed some of the best restaurants in town on foot.

The innkeeper, Marcy H is a native Galvestonian but has traveled widely and is both historian and local activist. Marcy is currently working with local groups to replant tens of thousands of trees on the island that were lost in Hurricane Ike. We were sorry to miss the "Neighborwoods" tree distribution planned for the day after we left. Her spacious corner

At the Inn, Marcy responded to our every need for a full week. Meals were buffet style, healthy and ample. We came and went as we pleased and rarely ran into another guest even though we shared a hallway bathroom. It was like having our oun island home.

Our room, Laura's Room, was very lovely, comfortable and had a great balcony where I read and bird watched daily.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I was celebrating my daughter's 21st b-day and treating her to the CATS performance at The Grand. She wanted something with history. The mansion is gorgeous, Marcy is an angel, Laura's room was great! The bunnies are precious. If we could have fit him in a suitcase, we would have taken Mr. Kitty home with us. The breakfast was a delight! Can't say enough about this beautiful home and can't wait to go back! P.S. It was cold and drizzling rain the whole time but we still had a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 511 17th Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.