We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Island Escape
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
San Angelo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel area is a good place to stay. Everything is close by and of course across the street from the beach area. Rooms are bright, fresh and clean. For the price I would expect to not have an internet fee though. You can always go to the lobby area and have free internet service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your review is appreciated very much on Trip Advisor. I will make sure to foward your comments to our staff. Please come back and see us soon.
Have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    314
    181
    90
    69
See reviews for
308
300
25
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I cannot say enough about the jovial, embracing attitude of this staff. The GM must be an outstanding person to instill such a welcoming attitude in all of his staff. I talked to maintenance, housekeeping, waitstaff, even a chef and everyone was wonderful. Thank you all for making our stay ridiculously wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you and it was very nice meeting you. It is our cuture to get to know our guest and make their stay with us a great experience. I appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you back in the future.
Mike Pistone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall the room appeared ill kept and dirty. When I arrived I was not informed that they were working on a water pipe and I had no water. The hairdryer did not work but they did bring a new one quickly. The room assigned should not have been provided to a customer. The bathroom had mold on the walls, the wallpaper was coming apart at the seams, the carpet was stained and floor trip was missing. I could hear visitors conversations throught he walls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The most important items -- cleanliness, comfort, and quiet -- were achieved with excellence. Temporary construction in lobby and main hall due to renovation, but should only add value to future visitors. Also, extremely convenient to Convention Center, which is right next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Your review is appreciated very much on Trip Advisor. I will make sure to foward your comments to our staff. Please come back and see us soon.
Have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything was very good except that my room was next to the pool and noisy. Check in and out times need to be tweeked a bit to coincide with guests arriving from out of town for meetings in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you and it was very nice meeting you. It is our cuture to get to know our guest and make their stay with us a gret experience. I appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you back in the future.
Mike Pistone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was extremely nice. We got a great deal using an online discount site. My guess it's for that reason that we got a room on the 1st floor without a balcony or view (other than a bush and parking lot). That was ok though because we paid a lot less than the going rate. The pool was very nice and had a hot tub and swim up bar. Also a sauna. I'm glad the weather cooperated for us that afternoon! Right across the street is a nice strip of beach. The Rainforest cafe is next door too. We were surprised when offered to sign up for the free shuttle to the cruise port the next morning. I didn't see that mentioned on the website so it was a nice bonus to not have to pay for a cab. As others have said, the staff were all extremely polite and friendly. Even though I asked for a room with a view or a balcony and got neither, I just couldn't get mad. The guys at the front entrance (bellhops I believe) made a great first impression with their eagerness to help and a nice hello and goodbye every time we left. Seems like this hotel would work well for just about every situation whether family, couples or business. I imagine it will be even nicer when the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: There's only a few rooms on the first floor. They do not have balconys (obviously) or a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your cadid comments on Trip Advisor. We are always striving to improve so your feedback is welcomed. I will forward your review to our operational staff. I hope that you will have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Galveston Hilton several times before & it has always been a nice place to stay at. This trip, it seemed like the heavy use by people wanting fun in the sun & on the beach were wearing the hotel out. The room was typical Hilton issue, but the lobby bar & pool area were showing wear & tear. The staff were all nice, but seemed sometimes harried with so many customers. We were particularly concerned about the pool area. There was so much competition for lounges, we had our personal things moved so others could get our chairs. I noticed a lot of people walking off the street through an external pool entrance. I asked about it & the waitress said that because the Hilton was owned by the same company as other beach-front hotels that their customers from the other hotels could use the Hilton pool. This bothered us from a crowding standpoint, but also from a safety standpoint. We had to watch our stuff all of the time & that took some of the desired relaxing away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.