We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold & Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, United States
1 review
“Mold & Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall the room appeared ill kept and dirty. When I arrived I was not informed that they were working on a water pipe and I had no water. The hairdryer did not work but they did bring a new one quickly. The room assigned should not have been provided to a customer. The bathroom had mold on the walls, the wallpaper was coming apart at the seams, the carpet was stained and floor trip was missing. I could hear visitors conversations throught he walls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    269
    167
    77
    62
See reviews for
264
258
23
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The most important items -- cleanliness, comfort, and quiet -- were achieved with excellence. Temporary construction in lobby and main hall due to renovation, but should only add value to future visitors. Also, extremely convenient to Convention Center, which is right next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Your review is appreciated very much on Trip Advisor. I will make sure to foward your comments to our staff. Please come back and see us soon.
Have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything was very good except that my room was next to the pool and noisy. Check in and out times need to be tweeked a bit to coincide with guests arriving from out of town for meetings in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you and it was very nice meeting you. It is our cuture to get to know our guest and make their stay with us a gret experience. I appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you back in the future.
Mike Pistone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was extremely nice. We got a great deal using an online discount site. My guess it's for that reason that we got a room on the 1st floor without a balcony or view (other than a bush and parking lot). That was ok though because we paid a lot less than the going rate. The pool was very nice and had a hot tub and swim up bar. Also a sauna. I'm glad the weather cooperated for us that afternoon! Right across the street is a nice strip of beach. The Rainforest cafe is next door too. We were surprised when offered to sign up for the free shuttle to the cruise port the next morning. I didn't see that mentioned on the website so it was a nice bonus to not have to pay for a cab. As others have said, the staff were all extremely polite and friendly. Even though I asked for a room with a view or a balcony and got neither, I just couldn't get mad. The guys at the front entrance (bellhops I believe) made a great first impression with their eagerness to help and a nice hello and goodbye every time we left. Seems like this hotel would work well for just about every situation whether family, couples or business. I imagine it will be even nicer when the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: There's only a few rooms on the first floor. They do not have balconys (obviously) or a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your cadid comments on Trip Advisor. We are always striving to improve so your feedback is welcomed. I will forward your review to our operational staff. I hope that you will have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Galveston Hilton several times before & it has always been a nice place to stay at. This trip, it seemed like the heavy use by people wanting fun in the sun & on the beach were wearing the hotel out. The room was typical Hilton issue, but the lobby bar & pool area were showing wear & tear. The staff were all nice, but seemed sometimes harried with so many customers. We were particularly concerned about the pool area. There was so much competition for lounges, we had our personal things moved so others could get our chairs. I noticed a lot of people walking off the street through an external pool entrance. I asked about it & the waitress said that because the Hilton was owned by the same company as other beach-front hotels that their customers from the other hotels could use the Hilton pool. This bothered us from a crowding standpoint, but also from a safety standpoint. We had to watch our stuff all of the time & that took some of the desired relaxing away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollyville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here on October 14 for a Public Health Emergency Preparedness quarterly meeting. The service and hospitality was more than excellent. Everyone was friendly.

I asked one of the staff, who turned out to be the general manager (Mike Pistone), about a cigar store. He gave me a couple of cigars from his personal inventory for me be enjoy while I was walking on the beach.

I will definitely return to the Hilton with my family.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower on the 6th floor and above have an excellent view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you and it was very nice meeting you. It is our cuture to get to know our guest and make their stay with us a gret experience. I appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you back in the future.
Mike Pistone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although this hotel was under some renovations during our stay, each staff member we saw was quite friendly and helpful. The ballrooms were enormous and had plenty of room for our conference. Great view too. The pool is beautiful! Also perfect distance from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.