We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond compare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Island Escape
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
“Beyond compare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have to say this place is a good example of an average hotel (facility wise) can seem like a 5 star hotel. The staff is what makes this location phenomenal. They go above and beyond to be courteous, kind and respectful. Every single staff member from the front desk, to maintenance make you feel welcome and special. They are also consistent with this throughout your stay, not just at check-in. They get to know your name and they take the time to listen to your needs. They most definitely are not "trolling" for tips. I highly, highly recommend this location for any stay in Galveston. You will make the best decision of your traveling life when you do.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are nicer, but the original rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    345
    198
    98
    74
See reviews for
356
333
27
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Staff was extremely friendly and more than willing to knock themselves out for you. I was there for four nights and enjoyed the whole stay.

Conspicous by their can-do attitude is the staff of the Lobby Retaurant. Kelly and her staf were always there for breakfast with a smile. Rate them excellent!!

Bob Threatt
Composite Cooling Solutions
Fort Worth, Texas

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff at this facility are hands down the friendliest and most helpful of any major chain hotel I've stayed. Housekeeping needs special commendation. The room is large, beds/pillows are what one expects in a fine Hilton Hotel. Having a dressing table and upholstered bench (and lighted make-up mirror) outside bathroom was a nice amenity. The view of Gulf was gorgeous from our room. The pool is very nice. Please note: the ONLY reason this facility did not warrant "excellent" was because it's a little worn. However, new paint and wallpaper was being installed while we were there.

Room Tip: Worth spending just a tad more and getting the Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

In my 40+ years of traveling, on both sides of the Atlantic, this hotel takes the cake when it comes to staff friendliness. Management has worked with ALL staff members to ALWAYS greet hotel guests and to then thank the guests when they respond in kind.
I have never seen such an outreach to a guest. Makes me want to live in the hotel.
Thank you management and staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from 4 glorious days in Galveston. Once again, we stayed at the Hilton. It really is the best place on the beach. Beautiful property, close to everything, balcony rooms have a great view of the water, staff is GREAT! Definitely will be back again.

Room Tip: Request upper floor balcony room (3rd floor or higher) on the east side of the hotel for the best wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is great in many senses. Comfortable room, all equipped and with a nice view of Galveston Beach. Magnificent pool with an island in the middle, cascades and a jacuzzi. But the real reason behind the max grade I gave is the crew. Everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY, greets you in the morning with a smile in their face. The waiters in the restaurant do everything to make your meal a nice experience. All employees act as if they are there only to please you and make your stay there the best possble. Well, they succeeded!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. I hope to see you back very soon.
Have a great day!

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business trip. Room was clean, and very quiet. The whole staff could not have been nicer, and the front desk ladies were top notch. Only down side, no mini frig in the room. Nice view of the beach which was right across the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank You, thank you, thank you. I appreciate the very nice review to Trip Advisor. I hope to see again when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.