We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Galveston Island, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have never stayed at a Hilton before and this was a pampering, exclusive experience. It was truly very nice. The only complaint I would say is you have to pay for WIFI unless you go to the lobby. I need to do schoolwork and to have to pay for WIFI, I thought was ridiculous. It was a rip-off. But everything else was great.

Room Tip: The view to the water is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your time at the Hilton. I along with my staff appreciate the comments posted to Trip Advisor. Your feedback weighs in the decision making of other travlers to the area.
Please accept my thanks and have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    292
    176
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
282
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was highly disappointed when I stayed at this hotel with my family. The rooms showed evidence of water damage. They gave away our original room so we had to stay in a room that was on the other side of the hotel that we did not want to be on. The hallways were rediculously hot.

It says that it is a part of the San Luis resort but it is NOTHING like the San Luis hotel next door. Save your money and just go to the San Luis (but they have a minimum 2 night stay at certain times). The price is the same. We paid $450 for a crappy room with crappy service.

The manager did, however, offer my family a free night stay but why would I want to stay there again?

The Pros: Pool was nice, bartenders were super nice, right next door to Rainforest Cafe. This hotel is more for families with kids, not for romance or business trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I thank you for expressing your view of your stay at the Hilton. I will review your comments with our staff. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We always enjoy staying at the Hilton in Galveston. We stayed for 4 days during the July 4th holiday and everything was very nice! All the staff was friendly and the service was great! We will stay there again. My favorite is the pool bar. I hang out around the pool more than the beach, but love that the beach is right across the street. We could also walk to restaurants close by and to the San Luis Hotel next door.

Room Tip: We had a room in the tower on the 9th floor. Loved the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Come back and see us soon.
Most importantly have a great day.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent everything, I do not know how you could do any better. We have stayed in this hotel each year for many years and never experienced anything but good. Galveston is a great place to visit any time of the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Come back and see us soon.
Most importantly have a great day.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I actually was so worried from the other reviews that I went and previewed the Hotel. It was nothing like the reviews said. It was absolutly outstanding! the staff was so helpful and curteous. I am an Engineer from the Dallas Area and would hands down recomend this hotel to anyone. We actually checked into the Holiday Inn on the beach which is just down the street. We were so disappointed with the Holiday Inn that gave us more like a motel feel that we only stayed one night and then moved to the Hilton. The best move we ever made to save our vacation. This was a second honeymoon trip with my wife while our daughter was at camp. I can't say enough about how good we were treated and how modern and plush and clean this hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your favorable review of our property. Your comments are important to us as well as future guests traveling to our area. I hope to see you on your next visit and have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Employees are very polite and helpful. The food at the restaurant is good and the service is quick and friendly. The pool and outdoor bar is awesome. Location is directly across from the beach and you are within walking distance of several hotels and shops. The parking lot is well lit and secure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your favorable review of our property. Your comments are important to us as well as future guests traveling to our area. I hope to see you on your next visit and have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantersville, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This year's check in was great for us, easy-fast-efficient. Gave us the feeling that maybe things were looking up..then our family and friends arrived for their rooms - their annual trip to conference also. Each had difficulties with check-in, having their room ready (and it was well after 3 pm) - 1st room - water overflow from toliet - entire floor soaked. 2nd room - did not have the reservation - even though they had the confirmation number and the payment info; then after lengthy discussion they were given a room and had to put up their payment info AGAIN which was already pre-paid. They eventually got the credit back but what a hassle. Now for the great part of our trip - the valet staff, the bellman, the room service FANTASTIC. For areas of improvement - POOL WAIT STAFF HORRIBLE..then when a shower comes through in the morning..the sun comes out at noon...pool area full and fun...NO BARTENDERS or WAIT STAFF...advised from manager that when it rains it cost too much to open the pool bar area..WHAT?? You have a state conference going on, families on vacation, booked solid and it cost too much....CRAZY. Going to the Galvez next year..they have a great pool area, great servers and have staff back on duty when the sun comes out. This trip business and family.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony face the parking lot..I would recommend the Gulf Seawall View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We appreciate your comments to Trip Advisor. Your review will be shared with management.
Please have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.