We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in G Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Webster, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in G Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was such an awesome Hotel! Very Family Oriented and awesome location right on the Seawall. Walking distance to all the best restaurants in Galveston (Landry's, Rainforest, and the new Grotto at the San Luis). I love their swim up bar and the new Cabanas provide such a great shade and resting place by the pool AND the kids can watch some Cartoons on the big flat screens while resting!!! They have lot's of kid's activities to keep the youngsters engaged. Popsicles by the pool, Popcorn every afternoon at 2pm.

The staff is so genuinely friendly and helpful from the Manager greeting us in the Lobby to the Housekeepers on our guest room floor.

The view from this hotel is AWESOME and worth paying the upgrade. We will be back hopefully before Labor Day weekend!!

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a Gulf View room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. Please consider us again when in the area. Your review is very important to staff and future guests to our hotel.
Please have a great day,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    257
    156
    71
    58
See reviews for
254
240
23
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel and is located in a great spot. Real close to good eating places and entertainment. The pool and hot tub is excellent and there is also a sauna next to the pool. Having a swim up bar is very nice, even though we didn't use it.

The parking lot is somewhat bothersome when traffic on the seawall is heavy. I say this because getting out and entering the road is very difficult.

The issues I had with this hotel is that our room had two separate air conditioners and the one in the main room leaked real bad causing the carpet to get soaked, so we had to deal with a wet carpet. We were in the kids camping suite so we didn't change rooms.

We also had problems with two of the three televisions not working properly, with two remotes that wanted to control the other TV when being used. During our stay, we had to have maintenance come in and adjust and reprogram the TV so we could watch it. Luckily, we didn't spend that much time in the suite to watch TV but its just the point.

Carpet in the suite definitely needs some cleaning! Bottoms of our feet were black after getting out of showers and doing a little walking around the room.

Complimentary milk and cookies served to us a night was very nice, and all tasted excellent.

Price is a little steep, but if you want something nice, you have to pay for it!

Room Tip: Kids camping suite is located right at the pool and has its own private patio area. Only drawback is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.Our operation can only get better because of feedback like yours.
Have a wonderful day and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall I was very satisfied with my stay..The pool was clean..the room was clean,,the Hotel was clean and it is in a great location too..Only problem was their directions on their website are wrong..It said to go left @ 61st and Seawall and travel 7 blocks and its a left and 1 block..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I appreciate your posting on Trip Advisor. I will make sure to foward your comments to our staff. Please consider us for your future stays,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice friendly place. Kid would love this place. Pool was great. But the drinks were watered down. I drank a shot of tequila and didnt feel a thing. It didn't burn or taste like tequila. Pina colada didnt have any kick to it at all. Room was alittle dirty when we arrived. Spot on the comforter, bathroom floor looked like someone had dropped some food on it. Some hair left in the bath tub. But a very pretty place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The A/C unit in our room obviously froze up regularly. It froze up and exposed my husband to mold in the carpet - which he is highly allergic to. They obviously don't clean the carpet when this happens and we wound up missing a day of vacation due to this making him sick. The hotel moved us to another room due to our complaint, but the room was not even ready yet. So we left to give the staff time to get the room ready. Then the new room's restroom's sink fixtures didn't work correctly. We couldn't turn off the cold water correctly. And the staff did not even come to clean the room the next day. Geez!! Not impressed at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am a travel agent, and I will not be suggesting this hotel to clients. My husband and I had a romantic mini vacation scheduled for Galveston and wanted to stay by the beach. We stayed the first few nights at the San Luis Resort and it was amazing and worth every penny. They were sold out on the 4th of July, so we moved over to the Hilton Resort next door. At $239.00 per night plus tax and the Hilton name, I figured it would be nice, as well. When we went to check-in, we had a small cooler that we keep our insulin in while we travel. My husband and I both have Type 1 Diabetes, and our insulin cannot get warm. We were told that we could not bring in ANY cooler, no matter how small. We were never told this on the phone, or prior to check-in. Then we told her we needed it for insulin and she didn't believe us, so we had to show her our insulin pumps. She rolled her eyes. Then a manager stepped in and offered a small fridge free of charge. Then we check-in and realize that you must pay for wi-fi, which in this day and age is sad, considering the price. The air took forever to cool the room. We were hot until about 3am. And to top it all off, the walls are very thin. You could hear the neighbors and anyone in the hallway. It was pretty noisy until after midnight, and again at 6am. Maybe, if this were a $99 room, but at $239, I expect better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor. We can always improve from the reviews.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West University Place, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on and off for business over the past 6 months. Great service, fresh food and absolutely clean rooms. The eggs at breakfast come out of shells not bags or stirred with water. The fruit is fresh. The staff are amazing from Carol at the Restaurant to Amelia at the front desk offering you a good morning even at 6am! Also a great place to walk right in front of the hotel is a large walking patc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your opinion weighs heavy in future guests and where they decide to stay. Again thank you for the kind words and have a nice day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.