We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Trip 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Conference Trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel met its usual standards very accomodating and staff extremely good. fitness center was very good. Location was excellent for the convention center access. Easy to get to multiple eating locations will definitelay saty there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I appreciate your review of our property. I will share your comments with our staff. Your feedback is important to future guests and where they choose to stay.
Please have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    291
    175
    83
    65
See reviews for
276
277
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

$300 per night and $9 per drink - you do the math for a 5 day vacation spot. The hotel rooms do not have a fridge, the people working at the pool bar act as if they hate their job. The room and hotel is nice, yet average for a hilton or hampton inn. There are other hotels nearby that are just as nice for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback to Trip Advisor. We wil review your comments with staff so that we may improve our facillity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our recent stay at the Hilton was pricey, even with the technology conference discount. The Hilton is well staffed and well maintained. We found a DIRTY washcloth thrown over the shower curtain. My husband was looking out of the window, turned around and a circular wire imbedded in the carpet stuck in his toe. I reported both occurrences, and the front desk seemed unconcerned. "I don't know how that could have happened". We were never contacted by anyone regarding these occurrences.

Room Tip: Our air conditioner was COLD in the TOWER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I appreciate your review of our property. I will share your comments with our staff. Your feedback is important to future guests and where they choose to stay.
Please have a wonderful day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here and attended a conference down the street. The hotel was in the process of painting and/or renovation both inside and outside making our stay a little less than perfect. However; the hotel staff were extremely nice and seemed to genuinely care their guests. The cleaning staff worked quickly and were very pleasant. Although our room had a nice view; it didn't have a balcony like most of the other rooms and was lacking a small fridge and microwave. Overall; our stay was pleasant and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms in the north tower don't have balcony's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We appreciate your kind review of our hotel. Your opinion will influence future guests to our area and we recognize this. Have a great day and come back and see us!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, MO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all, Galveston, TX was one of the friendliest towns we have visited. We were there partially on business, but to enjoy ourselves as well. The Hilton Galveston Island Resort staff was probably the most outgoing and helpful we've seen in a long time, and made us feel welcome and cared for. The staff was busy day and night cleaning, painting - you name it, but not in the way and extremely polite. We stayed four days, and had breakfast every morning. Our server - Kelli - greeted us by name every morning and provided outstanding service. Bottom line - from the staff at the front desk to the bartenders in the pool's swim-up bar, we were truly treated as guests and with an attitude that shouted: You are welcome here!
One negative - the Business Room leaves a bit to be desired. The printer was down and I could not scan documents to a jump drive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are very convenient to parking. Especially if you get a room in the tower, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your very positive response to Trip Advisor. You know that your review influences future guest to Galveston and where they choose to stay. Please consider us for your future stays to the area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Just left after 3 nights of the best service comfort views food and pool! I was spoiled to the point of laughing!! Amazing staff and I especially want say thanks to Kristina S. For making it great! She was our check-in person and had a smile and kind words for us everyday!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments to Trip Advisor. Your review will definately influence future guest on their decision to stay with us.
Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a good place to have your anniversary, or any romantic stay. I highly recommend this hotel for its abundant quality and service. If you choose any other hotel in Galveston you are a fool because other hotels are much more expensive. This hotel is not only affordable but you get more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I appreciate your review, Your comments are very valuable to our staff and our future guests. Please come back again. Have a great day!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.