We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pleasure Pier Pkg
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Sylacauga, Alabama
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is not your typical Hilton. It's the smallest Hilton I've ever visited, and it's a little dated. It is oceanfront, but it's not on the beach as there's a very busy highway between the hotel and the beach. In my opinion, the staff needs a little more training, particularly housekeeping. Two days I didn't have coffee or cups for the in room coffee maker, and one day I didn't have bath soap. I would expect more from a hotel that charges as much as they do. However, the bright spot is the staff. Each and everyone of them was nice, polite, had a good attitude, and were more than helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Staff and I will review your comments and work to improve our operation. i appreciate your candid remarks and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    241
    143
    66
    49
See reviews for
226
224
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garrett Park, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We felt, this Hilton is a little dated. Rooms are bit on the small side. However, the staff was very nice and the location is adequate. Overall, we felt the hotel was over-priced, but it was spring break, so we understand. Not a bad stay, but no wow factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. I will share your feedback with staff to improve our operation. Thank you again for your input,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

ShaLynn and Kelly were our servers at breakfast last Saturday morning professional, nice and helpful only start to describe them. The food was great everything was near perfect. Our room was nice and clean the front desk girl was covered up when we got there and she still got to us in a timely manner, the only complaint I could think of is the Valet could be more of a professional at such a nice hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I appreciate yor positive feedback. Trip Advisor is a valuable source for guest reviews for our staff. Please consider us for future stays in this area.

Sincerely,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms and hotel were a little tired. The staff was great and the pool was excellent. Great location right on the beach drive. Free parking was nice. A little on the expensive side for the overall quality of the hotel. Would expect a much more update lobby and rooms for $200 plus per night!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your input is important to our staff. Please cosider the Hilton Galveston in the future, Have a wonderful day.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If your going to Galveston Island the Hilton on Seawall is great. Staff is friendly and professional. Pool was a welcome relief from the heat and the beach is right across the street. Easy quick access to Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens and great dining. Opt to go with the bigger room/beds, the gulfview with 2 double beds is rather uncomfortable for 2 adults and teenagers. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you staying with us and look to see you back in the future.
Have a Great Day.

Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first stay at this Hilton. We were in Galveston for a Conference at the Galveston Convention Center which is right next to the Hilton. We just had to walk across the street. The front desk staff were so accomodating and no problem with my reservation. Then there was Jason, who brought the luggage in from my car after he parked it and then right on up to the room. He was polite and very helpful. Jason is a great asset to the hotel. Beds were very comfortable. View of the Gulf of Mexico was great. Called Housekeeping for towels and in no time they brought more than requested. Also had great service in the restaurant at lunch. The food was very good. Fortunate to have Jason at check-out. Again, Jason was most helpful and accomodating. My stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a positive review to Trip Advisor. Feeback from our guest make us a better operation. I look forward to seeing you again when in the area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton is part of the San Luis resort, which also includes the San Luis hotel and a Holiday Inn. We stayed there for a wedding that was at the San Luis, which has a two-night minimum, and we were only going to be in Galveston for one night. It's immediately across the street from the beach, right next door to the San Luis, and within walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store.
Somehow, our room got upgraded without an extra charge, and it was a very welcome surprise! Balconies everywhere, very nice furnishings, very comfortable bed, excellent service. Room service breakfast was correct,on time, and delicious. There's a very nice pool, hot tub, and cabanas for rent. The Hilton is now our go to place when visiting Galveston!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a great view, and definitely get a balcony room. The fresh air coming off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I appreciate your review and will share your feedback with staff.Please consider us in the future.
Thank you,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.