We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pleasure Pier Pkg
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Galveston
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Full time business traveler: I will start off with saying I like this hotel. It is directly across the street from the beach (it is along the street that runs a long way directly adjacent to the beach). From my balcony I overlooked the pool/hot tub, It looked very nice - very much a beach resort type, lush, large pool area. We didn't get a chance to use it as the weather was as cold as it probably ever gets in Galveston yet I still admired it from my vantage point.
Parking was ample. While I didn't end up using Valet the valet staff was super friendly. The front desk area is nice, not opulent, but nice. The front desk staff was also super friendly. The bellman was friendly and helpful..
The room itself was quite nice, relatively spacious for this type/location hotel, very comfy bed, good video/audio (not a lot of channels though), good shower (bathroom is small-ish), internet was at best ok though, decor and feel to it was quite good. I enjoyed and recommend having opting for a balcony room (even with cooler weather) and it was interesting to see the building across the parking lot doing its fire eruption in the evening.
My one experience I would say that was not above average was a dessert order to go in the restaurant. Not bad but response was not what i would consider warm and friendly, however, it wasn't something that was off putting either (probably shouldn't even mention it).
There are lots of food options along the street the Hilton is on (you will definitely not lack for good choices to eat) as well as many close options for market place items.
I definitely recommend this hotel for a nice stay across from the beach with a very nice pool offering, friendly staff, comfy rooms.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hilton property. I appreciate and will share your comments with staff. Please consider us for your future stays.
Sincerely,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    241
    142
    65
    49
See reviews for
224
222
22
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you must come to Galveston, I would highly recommend the Hilton Hotel. Though it may be a bit pricey, I found the property to be clean, very bright, and wonderful facilities and services. The room have plenty of space, most over looking the Gulf, a very nice pool and fitness center, and their dining room has very good food. Plus, if you are catching a cruise here in Galveston, the hotel provides free shuttle service to the ship, a savings of $20 or so. Book early because the hotel is right next to the Galveston Convention Center and fills up fast when a conference/convention is in town.

Room Tip: Book early if you plan to come to Galveston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hilton property. I appreciate and will share your comments with staff. Please consider us for your future stays.
Sincerely,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and the location can't be beat. Directly across the street lies Galveston beach and the sea wall and there is a wide variety of restaurants, shops, and bars within walking distance. The staff is overwhelmingly helpful and friendly and the bartender was delightful. The rooms were ok. There was a bit of dirt behind the bathroom door in my room, an the tv didn't work, but I didn't mind since I wasn't planning on watching tv or eating off the floor in the bathroom. The food in the bar/restaurant was disappointing. I had a bland gumbo and some gummy pasta while my business partner had some overly cooked, dry fish. We bolstered our spirits with some extra drinks though and weren't too bothered. If ou stay here, enjoy the rooms, the lobby, the pool, and the view, but plan on dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hilton property. I appreciate and will share your comments with staff. Please consider us for your future stays.
Sincerely,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little leery of booking this hotel. I am a hotel aficionado...and very hard to please. I don't have one single bad thing to say. The rooms were clean and very nice. The bathroom had good lighting and was very clean. (Even the balcony, chairs and table were clean!) The staff is truly amazing. Someone had broken a beer bottle in the hallway by the stairs. We told one of the housekeepers and she immediately stopped what she was doing and went and cleaned it up. I don't think I saw one staff member that wasn't smiling. The lobby is nice and inviting. The bartender at the swim up bar on Thursday was great. She was quick and very pleasant to talk to. (Wednesday's bartender was a little slow...but very nice.) We had great appetizers by the pool and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Parking, pool towels, waiters and waitresses, drinks, and help were readily available anytime we needed anything. Very impressed. We will be staying there again. Definitely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Great to hear your stay was good. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
I will share your comments with my staff. Please consider us for future stays when in the area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed during the spring break "madness" and the staff managed to do a great job at keeping the hotel, lobby, and pool area very clean and the service at times was slower but the entire staff was working very hard and super friendly. Our room was your average hotel room you would expect from a Hilton...nice and clean. What really made our stay however was the staff...everyone from the front desk, bar tender, bellman, waiters and restaurant staff really took the time to make sure everything was perfect and they were always fast, friendly, and attentive. They not only treated us that way..but I saw how they treated our 12 year old son while I was sitting in the lobby and he went up to ask for a soda at the lobby bar and for some brochures at the front desk....the staff gave him the same greeting and service that they would to an arriving dignitary. Its great to stay at a place where everyone treats you so well and the hotel and amenities are clean and all functioning. Also...the location is excellent...right on the seawall and near some great places to eat and the price we paid for our stay was a bargain for the quality of the experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room on higher floors in order to get a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trp Advisor. I will pass on your review to our staff.Please consider the Hilton Galveston in the future when in the area. Have a great day!
Mike PIstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel prior to departing for a cruise out of Galveston. The location is directly across from the beach. The day we stayed, Sat. March 2, 2013 if was very cold and windy so did not walk on the beach. Although we did not take advantage of the beautiful pool, I understand from other guests that is was a heated pool and very pleasant.
We stayed in a King Balcony room that was comfortable. The only complaint is that the sliding door had a leaky seal and the wind noise was very annoying. My husband, being very handy, figured out how to block the wind around the door. Otherwise it would have been a very sleepless night.
The front desk staff and bellmen were excellent. Friendly, courteous and helpful with advice on getting the shuttle to the cruise port. The shuttle staff were very organized and efficient at loading the shuttle and getting us to the port in record time. The hotel provides free transport to the cruiseship. Although we did not bring our vehicle, I understand you could park in their longterm lot for no extra fee, while you were on the cruise.
There is a restaurant on site that we took advantage of. The food quality was very good, and we enjoyed our waiter. He had a great sense of humor. The Rainforest Cafe and IHOP are very conveniently located within a very short walk.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony room, try to get one facing the beach. The ones on the other side get a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trp Advisor. I will pass on your review to our staff. Have a great day!
Mike PIstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice. Once, as a dating couple on a romatic weekend getaway; the second, as a newly-engaged couple (he proposed in the hotel room!). The first stay was nicer, even though the second came with an added bonus! The first stay was in the shorter tower on the 6th -the top- floor (how's that for feeling important?). I loved the balcony, which overlooked the pool and had a great angle of the beach. Breakfast in the restaurant was great.

Our second room was not as nice as the first and we were disappointed to realize, upon arrival, that it was a handicapped-accessible room. We called downstairs and after 30 minutes of trying to get moved to a different room (we were told the hotel was fully booked) we decided to suck it up and stay. The worst part about that whole experience, other than feeling awkward in the shower with the rails, was that the elevator for the second tower is about a mile out of the way from the center of the hotel.

I give the Average rating because, although my first impression was that this is a beautiful hotel, I took a couple points off after the second stay.

Room Tip: Get a beach view, stay in the first (shorter) tower! If you don't get a beach view your alternat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trp Advisor. I will pass on your review to our staff. Have a great day!
Mike PIstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.