We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Surrey B.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good hotel with great amenities. Large pool, lots of patio space as well as a sauna and hot tub. Good sized exercise room. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and you have a choice of either a continental or full buffet The hotel itself is within walking disance to a number of good cafes. Unfortunately when we were here for Mardi Gras the weather was not spectacular, but this would be a great location in the warmer months. My wife and the other couple we travel with were most impressed with the quality of service. We encountered a problem and brought it to the attention of James, the manager, and Kirsten who works at the desk and they handled it in a very professional manner; showing that "The Hilton" truely values their customers and will go the "extra mile" to ensure satisfaction

Room Tip: The best rooms are those facing the pool as they have larger balconies. Because these rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    260
    162
    75
    61
See reviews for
259
247
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed during Mardi Gras. Great location! Beds were so comfortable. Beautiful hotel & pool. Balcony was a little small but was really nice. Plenty of parking. Walking distance to Landry's, Rainforest Cafe & I-Hop.

Room Tip: If you are getting a balcony room ask for a room above 2nd floor. We arrived late and that was all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This Hilton has an Amazing Staff, Clean hotel, and free parking and transportation during cruise. Will definitley be going back again. The washing machine and pool were both down while we were there but the staff got right on them both to fix them as soon as we alerted them and they accomodated us. I could not have been happier with my stay there.

Room Tip: The Kids Camp suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for stay with us and posting a positive review with Trip Advisor. Please consider us when in the area for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good hotel, friendly staff, breakfast and dinner was good. The room smelled damp/old, maybe a ex-smoking room. The hotel is right at the waterfront and easy accessible, most rooms has ocenview. The fitness room was good with basic equipment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate bringing your concerns and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Feb 2013, just prior to the Mardi Gras weekend. The staff was helpful, courteous and responsive. The restaurant had a good fish dinner the night that we arrived. The breakfast buffet was very limited, just scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, very few fruits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Pretty rooms with an ocean view. Pool bar and Kids Camp, love it. Great service. Convenient location near kid friendly restaurants all walking distance. It is not cheap but normal for Galveston. Rooms have tile entry so those sensitive to noise should know it is not quiet. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in the last week of Feb in 2012. The lobby was nice and a little out dated our room smelled like mold and some of the tile was cracked and falling on the floor. I was a little disappointed by this due to the Hilton name. We asked for another room due to the smell and we were told there was nothing available and just to close the bathroom door. I dont mind spending the money but the room and hotel was out dated for our one night stay before the Cruise with Royal Carribean which was great. Stay at another hotel its not worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I am very concerned with the review posted of our hotel. My first question is if you had these type of issues a year ago why are these comments just being posted now. I whould love for you to call me direct so that I might get a better idea of your complaints. I am also surprised with the suggestions by our staff when a complaint ordors was expressed. Being a AAA Fourr Diamond property this is not the normal response to guest issues. Lastly, our guest rooms are inspected daily so if there was any issue with the room condition it would not be rented. In addition to that I'm confused with the ceiling title because we don't have ceiling tiles in our guest rooms. Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.