We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Surrey B.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good hotel with great amenities. Large pool, lots of patio space as well as a sauna and hot tub. Good sized exercise room. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and you have a choice of either a continental or full buffet The hotel itself is within walking disance to a number of good cafes. Unfortunately when we were here for Mardi Gras the weather was not spectacular, but this would be a great location in the warmer months. My wife and the other couple we travel with were most impressed with the quality of service. We encountered a problem and brought it to the attention of James, the manager, and Kirsten who works at the desk and they handled it in a very professional manner; showing that "The Hilton" truely values their customers and will go the "extra mile" to ensure satisfaction

Room Tip: The best rooms are those facing the pool as they have larger balconies. Because these rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandySurreyB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed during Mardi Gras. Great location! Beds were so comfortable. Beautiful hotel & pool. Balcony was a little small but was really nice. Plenty of parking. Walking distance to Landry's, Rainforest Cafe & I-Hop.

Room Tip: If you are getting a balcony room ask for a room above 2nd floor. We arrived late and that was all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This Hilton has an Amazing Staff, Clean hotel, and free parking and transportation during cruise. Will definitley be going back again. The washing machine and pool were both down while we were there but the staff got right on them both to fix them as soon as we alerted them and they accomodated us. I could not have been happier with my stay there.

Room Tip: The Kids Camp suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for stay with us and posting a positive review with Trip Advisor. Please consider us when in the area for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good hotel, friendly staff, breakfast and dinner was good. The room smelled damp/old, maybe a ex-smoking room. The hotel is right at the waterfront and easy accessible, most rooms has ocenview. The fitness room was good with basic equipment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLarsenMandeville_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate bringing your concerns and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Feb 2013, just prior to the Mardi Gras weekend. The staff was helpful, courteous and responsive. The restaurant had a good fish dinner the night that we arrived. The breakfast buffet was very limited, just scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, very few fruits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luchomonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Pretty rooms with an ocean view. Pool bar and Kids Camp, love it. Great service. Convenient location near kid friendly restaurants all walking distance. It is not cheap but normal for Galveston. Rooms have tile entry so those sensitive to noise should know it is not quiet. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments . I will share your review with our staff. I appreciate everything and please consider us again.
MIke Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in the last week of Feb in 2012. The lobby was nice and a little out dated our room smelled like mold and some of the tile was cracked and falling on the floor. I was a little disappointed by this due to the Hilton name. We asked for another room due to the smell and we were told there was nothing available and just to close the bathroom door. I dont mind spending the money but the room and hotel was out dated for our one night stay before the Cruise with Royal Carribean which was great. Stay at another hotel its not worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I am very concerned with the review posted of our hotel. My first question is if you had these type of issues a year ago why are these comments just being posted now. I whould love for you to call me direct so that I might get a better idea of your complaints. I am also surprised with the suggestions by our staff when a complaint ordors was expressed. Being a AAA Fourr Diamond property this is not the normal response to guest issues. Lastly, our guest rooms are inspected daily so if there was any issue with the room condition it would not be rented. In addition to that I'm confused with the ceiling title because we don't have ceiling tiles in our guest rooms. Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing