We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pleasure Pier Pkg
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Esterhazy, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Accompanied my husband for conference in Galveston the beginning of January. Hotel was very conveniently located next to conference centre. We had a nice room on the fifth floor with a balcony facing the ocean. The room was clean, although older and could use some updating. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. There was quite a bit of rust in the bathroom. Taking the stairs instead of the elevator was a little sketchy as there were discarded lamps, etc. on each floor and during a big rain storm the bottom floor had a pool of water. The staff were very nice and helpful. What we were most disappointed in was that the hotel was full for the conference and yet they only had one bartender on in the evenings. Twice we sat in the bar for over one and a half hours and never got served. We were playing cards so let it go. Also breakfast took well over an hour to be served one morning. The pool was quite nice and heated; the hot tub was clean and hot. This was a great time to visit Galveston without the crowds - we could pretty well walk into any museum, etc. and be virtually the only ones there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback of our property.Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when in Galveston. Your comments will be reviewed with our staff.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    245
    149
    66
    51
See reviews for
233
231
23
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room I was in was pretty worn, and grimy. Never felt clean in the room. On first floor, so there was lot's of noise in hall way.
Room service brought wrong items (but quickly resolved); food was overcooked and dry like it had been cooked much, much earlier in the day (I hope) and reheated for my meal.
Staff was as friendly as they could be and very appreciative for the business there. If it weren't for the rain, I would have moved elsewhere, but it is very, very close to the convention center.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review posting. I will pass your comments to the appropriate departments. Iappreciate you staying with the Galveston Hilton.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hilton for a pre-cruise night with a very large party. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and they were happy to shuttle the group to a local bar for free. For the morning they even shuttled our group to the port. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, they have balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I appreciate your positive response to Trip Advisor of your stay with us. Please consider us in the future when visiting this area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the first Hilton that I've stayed at that doesn't have a fridge or minibar in the room. And that is not my first complaint.

2. The bath/shower soap was not replaced (we checked in on Friday, 04.01.2013, and as of 06.01.2013 it was not replaced). MAYBE WE HAVE TO ASK

3. The bedsheets and stuff was not replaced. Maybe we have to ASK as well.

All these for a USD150/night.

We're checking out on 11.01.2013. Lets see if that is going to be a reality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments posted. I will review your posting with staff and act accordingly.
Please consider the Hilton if in Galveston again.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary at this Hilton Hotel and it was wonderful. When we got to our room they brought us a tray with chocolate covered strawberries and two small chilled champaign bottles. The view from our room was breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I appreciate your reviews with Trip Advisor. Your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate departments. I hope to see you staying with us in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were two couples from Canada that stayed at this hotel in early November for two nights. The dealings I had with the staff by telephone prior to our arriving was great. Check-in was smooth and everyone was more than polite and courteous. I am a Hilton member and we still had to pay $10 per night for using the Internet. I find that in today's fast paced technology driven world that this charge is absurd. They really need to revisit this. Our rooms were clean and although we were missing some essentials, once we requested them they were delivered promptly. We did not use any of the facilities in the hotel itself, but the location is really good for morning and evening walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews. We will consider your comments with staff. Please feel free to reserve future stays at our property through reservations. We will be happy to serve your needs.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard, Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was fairly full because of all the people in town to board cruise ships the following day. We got put on the 1st floor near the elevators. I assume they had no choice since the hotel was full... but besides kids getting on the elevator all evening they had some sort of leak problem in our hall way so they had people there all night sopping up excess water. It was not a pleasant stay. The hotel employees were extra nice and helped all they could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your stay at the Galveston Hilton. Please consider our property for trips to this area in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.