We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it was convenient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well, it was convenient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room I was in was pretty worn, and grimy. Never felt clean in the room. On first floor, so there was lot's of noise in hall way.
Room service brought wrong items (but quickly resolved); food was overcooked and dry like it had been cooked much, much earlier in the day (I hope) and reheated for my meal.
Staff was as friendly as they could be and very appreciative for the business there. If it weren't for the rain, I would have moved elsewhere, but it is very, very close to the convention center.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review posting. I will pass your comments to the appropriate departments. Iappreciate you staying with the Galveston Hilton.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    285
    172
    82
    63
See reviews for
271
272
24
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hilton for a pre-cruise night with a very large party. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and they were happy to shuttle the group to a local bar for free. For the morning they even shuttled our group to the port. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, they have balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I appreciate your positive response to Trip Advisor of your stay with us. Please consider us in the future when visiting this area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the first Hilton that I've stayed at that doesn't have a fridge or minibar in the room. And that is not my first complaint.

2. The bath/shower soap was not replaced (we checked in on Friday, 04.01.2013, and as of 06.01.2013 it was not replaced). MAYBE WE HAVE TO ASK

3. The bedsheets and stuff was not replaced. Maybe we have to ASK as well.

All these for a USD150/night.

We're checking out on 11.01.2013. Lets see if that is going to be a reality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments posted. I will review your posting with staff and act accordingly.
Please consider the Hilton if in Galveston again.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 33rd Anniversary at this Hilton Hotel and it was wonderful. When we got to our room they brought us a tray with chocolate covered strawberries and two small chilled champaign bottles. The view from our room was breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I appreciate your reviews with Trip Advisor. Your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate departments. I hope to see you staying with us in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were two couples from Canada that stayed at this hotel in early November for two nights. The dealings I had with the staff by telephone prior to our arriving was great. Check-in was smooth and everyone was more than polite and courteous. I am a Hilton member and we still had to pay $10 per night for using the Internet. I find that in today's fast paced technology driven world that this charge is absurd. They really need to revisit this. Our rooms were clean and although we were missing some essentials, once we requested them they were delivered promptly. We did not use any of the facilities in the hotel itself, but the location is really good for morning and evening walks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews. We will consider your comments with staff. Please feel free to reserve future stays at our property through reservations. We will be happy to serve your needs.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard, Texas
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was fairly full because of all the people in town to board cruise ships the following day. We got put on the 1st floor near the elevators. I assume they had no choice since the hotel was full... but besides kids getting on the elevator all evening they had some sort of leak problem in our hall way so they had people there all night sopping up excess water. It was not a pleasant stay. The hotel employees were extra nice and helped all they could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your stay at the Galveston Hilton. Please consider our property for trips to this area in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff was very frendly, room was nice and clean with a great view. Well worth the money. great hotel. Pool was heated in the winter. Room was clean and bellmen prompt. They gave me my request for a high floor and also the room type I was looking for. Nice and quiet even on new years eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your reviews of the Hilton Galveston. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.