We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt comfortable and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt comfortable and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here one night before leaving for a cruise. We came early so they kept our baggage for us while we walked on the beach and got to swim in the pool. It was very nice and quiet. The rooms were clean and spacious. I felt safe parking our car in their lot and the hotel staff were very nice and sweet. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews of your stay here at the Hilton Galveston.
Please consider us for your future stays to the area. Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    175
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
280
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had hoped to rent a room at the San Luis or the Tremont House, but they were booked. We were extremely pleased with the clean room, comfortable surroundings and the attentive and friendly staff. Comfortable beds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I want to thank you for your overview of your latest stay at our property. I appreciate your comments and will share them with staff.
In closing I want to wis you a Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here in December during Dickens on the Strand. Hotel was very clean, staff was very nice and super helpful. Beds were doubles, not queens -- a little cozy for 4 women. Room was spacious, bathroom was very nice. Plenty of plugs and mirrors for everyone to get ready. Great view of beach and gorgeous pool from our room! Only drawbacks -- no free breakfast and no free wifi. Requested fridge and it was delivered to our room before we could even get our things from the car. Feel of a very high-end hotel at a reasonable rate!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
My gratitude goes out to you for your comments that you posted on Trip Advisor. I will share you review with staff at out next meeting. Please remember us when in the area and have a Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, service was good and the location was good for our purposes. Nice rooms and the view from our room was nice. Our kids enjoyed the pool. The valet parking was very good. Will stay again if the need arises.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I want to personally thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. i hope to see you soon and Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We made last minute plans to stay the night in Galveston on Thanksgiving day and noticed that the Hilton was offering really good rates. I stayed here once before several years ago and was quite pleased. Got a double room with a great gulf view. My only negative is that I wish my room had a balcony. Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wanted to take a minute to thank you for posting your experience while staying with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff about your stay. Happy Holidays from the Hilton!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I arrived here on Friday November 9, 2012 for a one night stay before our Disney cruise the next day. I have been to Galveston many times and have stayed at a number of hotels, however this was our first time staying here at the Hilton. I'm so glad we did!! The staff was very friendly, the check in process only took a couple of minutes. We arrived early around 1:00pm they had a room ready for us. We chose a king gulf view room, the clerk at the front desk asked if we wanted a room higher up and we said yes. We were given a room on the 10th floor which had a perfect view of the gulf. The room was very large, it had a nice size bathroom, huge king bed with a sleeper sofa and work desk. Overall we were very pleased with our room and would not hesitate to stay here again. One quick note, the pool area looked awesome, plenty of pool chairs with a swim up bar. I wished we would have taken advantage and gotten in, definitely on our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Please consider us when in the area in the future. Happy Holidays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We expected a lot more from a Hilton property. We stayed for one night and made this reservation through Hotels.com. The room was pricey(with internet and fridge, it costed $185). Of course, it had a balcony with the gulf view on the 3rd floor. The room was clean but not spacious. Definitely needs some remodeling as the interiors were outdated. The swimming pool was clean and nice. We did not try the food in the hotel and we can't comment on that. The view was okay but not as I thought it would be. We thought The San Luis Resort would have been a better choice for that price. Overall, it was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I appreciate your feedback from your stay with us. We can always learn from our guests what is important from their view. Happy Holidays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.