We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Island Escape
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we expected much more from a Hilton. We are Hilton Honors members so we only stay at Hilton brand or affiliated hotels. Sad to say, but the Embassy Suite and Hampton Inns that we have stayed at are more comfortable than this Hilton.

Location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable but not exceptional. The room we got had lousy views.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your posting to Trip Advisor. We take your comments to heart so that we may improve our facility. We appreciate your business.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    344
    197
    97
    74
See reviews for
351
331
27
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely NOT what you expect from a Hilton property. While the rooms are sanitary, the do not feel clean. I cannot explain it exactly, other than you always feel grimy when staying here. If other guests get out of hand (read: drunk), front desk simply says that "Galveston is for fun!" Beds are not really comfortable and seem to be well past their replacement date. It's an okay place, but look for somewhere else first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments of the Hilton. we appreciate your views of our property and they will be shared with the staff.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Multiple stays at this hotel have always yielded the same results. Less expensive than the neighboring San Louis with better rooms and a 100% professional staff. Located on the seawall with great views, swim-up bar, friendly and confrotable lobby bar, and an above average "hotel" dining room. A small mistake in reservations resulted in an upgrade for entire party. Ask for Sybill in the dining room and don't miss Shelly in the lobby bar. If you wish to stay on the seawall as opposed to the Strand, we strongly recommend this hotel. If you prefer "the strand", try the Harbor House on the pier (particularly if you are booked on a cruise out of Galveston).

Room Tip: High in the tower provided excellent view. The older wing has balcony rooms. We selected the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for thanking the time to post your views of your stay at our property. i will share your comments with staff to improve our operations. Again, i appreciate your bssiness and hope to see you for future stays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel while getting older is still Hilton quality. We had a room on the top floor and the view overlooking the Gulf was spectacular. Beds are comfortable and room was very clean. It still bothers me that Wifi is an extra charge. No breakfast offering but the IHOP next door is outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor and get the Gulf View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is probably better for families than a couple looking to get away or a business traveler. The hotel was clean but dated and a bit musty. There is a nice pool with swim up bar and its located on the seawall for easy access to the beach. Next door to one side is the convention center, and restaurants to the other. The San Luis Resort is also nearby.

My room was on the sixth floor in what appeared to be an older section. The room was spacious enough and had all the amenities you would expect from a Hilton (and a view of the ocean), but the a/c struggled with bouts of freezing cold, followed by a hot room, until the a/c kicked back on. This problem may have been remedied if the thermostat was in proper working order, but I think it was just the way the a/c worked.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and would do well to offer free wifi in rooms to all customers. I was too lowly of a Hilton Honors member to be entitled to such service, but so many hotels offer it for free it astounds me that Hilton doesn't. Even the lower brand hotels in the Hilton chain offer free wifi.

If you stay here, there is a grocery store on the opposite side of the convention center so you're within walking distance of snacks/pharmacy/starbucks. You're also within walking distance of many of the newer restaurants on the seawall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach or you'll be looking at a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I appreciate your candid review of our property. Your comments willl be passed on to our staff as well as our home office. It's individuals like yourself sharing your views of your stay that will make us a better operation. Please accept my appreciation for staying with us at the Hilton.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while traveling on business. Here are the pros. It is right across from the Galveston Convention Center which made it a great choice for me. It was clean and friendly.My room had a very pretty view of the Gulf. Here are the cons. The morning breakfast was not very good and not very organized. The walls are thin. I was able to hear the tv and laughter from the room next door to me.
Overall the hotel is average and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to posts your review of your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Please be aware that we take your comments very important and will share them with our staff to make improvements. Thank you again for choosing us while in Galveston.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our room had a lovely view of the Gulf, but no windows that opened. The room seemed a little "tired" even though the hotel has had recent (post-Ike) updates. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby and pool area were very nice. The Rainforest Cafe (across the parking lot) is a nice option for those traveling with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your observations of our Hotel. I will as always pass your comments on to staff and other parties necessary. We value your opinions and rest asure we will act on suggestions made by those who post to Trip Advisor. Please consider us if in the area in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.9 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.