We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fabulous service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value, fabulous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Multiple stays at this hotel have always yielded the same results. Less expensive than the neighboring San Louis with better rooms and a 100% professional staff. Located on the seawall with great views, swim-up bar, friendly and confrotable lobby bar, and an above average "hotel" dining room. A small mistake in reservations resulted in an upgrade for entire party. Ask for Sybill in the dining room and don't miss Shelly in the lobby bar. If you wish to stay on the seawall as opposed to the Strand, we strongly recommend this hotel. If you prefer "the strand", try the Harbor House on the pier (particularly if you are booked on a cruise out of Galveston).

Room Tip: High in the tower provided excellent view. The older wing has balcony rooms. We selected the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for thanking the time to post your views of your stay at our property. i will share your comments with staff to improve our operations. Again, i appreciate your bssiness and hope to see you for future stays!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    299
    176
    83
    66
See reviews for
288
287
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel while getting older is still Hilton quality. We had a room on the top floor and the view overlooking the Gulf was spectacular. Beds are comfortable and room was very clean. It still bothers me that Wifi is an extra charge. No breakfast offering but the IHOP next door is outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor and get the Gulf View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I personally appreciate yor feedback about your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Your comments as well as others are very valuable to our operation. Please consider us for future stays.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is probably better for families than a couple looking to get away or a business traveler. The hotel was clean but dated and a bit musty. There is a nice pool with swim up bar and its located on the seawall for easy access to the beach. Next door to one side is the convention center, and restaurants to the other. The San Luis Resort is also nearby.

My room was on the sixth floor in what appeared to be an older section. The room was spacious enough and had all the amenities you would expect from a Hilton (and a view of the ocean), but the a/c struggled with bouts of freezing cold, followed by a hot room, until the a/c kicked back on. This problem may have been remedied if the thermostat was in proper working order, but I think it was just the way the a/c worked.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and would do well to offer free wifi in rooms to all customers. I was too lowly of a Hilton Honors member to be entitled to such service, but so many hotels offer it for free it astounds me that Hilton doesn't. Even the lower brand hotels in the Hilton chain offer free wifi.

If you stay here, there is a grocery store on the opposite side of the convention center so you're within walking distance of snacks/pharmacy/starbucks. You're also within walking distance of many of the newer restaurants on the seawall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach or you'll be looking at a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I appreciate your candid review of our property. Your comments willl be passed on to our staff as well as our home office. It's individuals like yourself sharing your views of your stay that will make us a better operation. Please accept my appreciation for staying with us at the Hilton.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while traveling on business. Here are the pros. It is right across from the Galveston Convention Center which made it a great choice for me. It was clean and friendly.My room had a very pretty view of the Gulf. Here are the cons. The morning breakfast was not very good and not very organized. The walls are thin. I was able to hear the tv and laughter from the room next door to me.
Overall the hotel is average and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to posts your review of your stay at the Hilton Galveston. Please be aware that we take your comments very important and will share them with our staff to make improvements. Thank you again for choosing us while in Galveston.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our room had a lovely view of the Gulf, but no windows that opened. The room seemed a little "tired" even though the hotel has had recent (post-Ike) updates. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby and pool area were very nice. The Rainforest Cafe (across the parking lot) is a nice option for those traveling with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your observations of our Hotel. I will as always pass your comments on to staff and other parties necessary. We value your opinions and rest asure we will act on suggestions made by those who post to Trip Advisor. Please consider us if in the area in the future.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently my husband and I stayed at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort. We got upgraded to the 10th floor with great views of both pool and gulf. The suite was wonderful, more room than we needed but greatly enjoyed. Very well kepted with all that we needed. Lobby is beautiful and pool area is really nice. This hotel is near the convention center and good restaurants. It was an easy walk across Seawall Blvd to be able to walk for miles in either direction. I would recommend this hotel to any going to Galveston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to give us input about your stay. We at the Hilton use these reviews as a measuring stick on how we are doing. Please consider us for future stays.
Thanks,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Not in the crazy, pleasure pier area, but a short drive down Seawall Blvd. Clean rooms, a few extras which makes it fell like a resort. Swim up bar and waterfall in pool area. We had a great view of the ocean from our hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your stay here at the Galveston Hilton. We appreciate the feedback and will definately share your opinions with our staff. I hope that you will consider us on future stays inthe area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.