We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel... it's about as on the beach as any hotel with a crosswalk close by to get across busy Seawall Blvd. The Rainforest Cafe is next door and it looked really cool. Has a volcano!

Check-in was smooth at 7:45 after a really bad drive down 45 from Houston... DON'T do this drive on a Friday evening after work. Just don't. Room was 2nd floor with ocean view...next time I would probably spend the extra $$ for a balcony. Definitely for a higher floor. But it was fine for less than 24 hours. Bathroom was great... they believe in giving a girl room to work with her glamourizing tools and it's appreciated. Beds were fine, things appeared clean.

On the down side...Hilton hotels proper are irritating because they charge for almost everything or make it more difficult to travel. Small fridge, more hooks to hang wet things on, free wi-fi (especially for HHonors of ALL levels), breakfast would be helpful. They're already more expensive than their other brands like Hampton, Garden and even Embassy Suites, how about a few freebies?

Great pool here...the boys really loved it. All in all a great few hours and we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Go higher floor, spring for the balcony if staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review of the Hilton Galveston. Your comments are very valuable to our staff and will be shared immeadiately. I hope that you will choose our property the next time you are in the area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    175
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
280
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, TX
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed two nights as part of a group event. The lobby and pool area, as well as public areas in general, are beautiful and well-kept. The room itself wasn't above average. Internet access was not available free of charge, and in our room there was only decaf coffee both days, though the second time we were able to get some regular coffee from the staff. The buffet that was part of the group event was quite good though, far better than such buffets often are. As a location for the event, it was quite good. Simply as a place to stay when visiting Galveston, we wouldn't have been very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hilton. Your feedback is most important to how we manage the needs of our guests. Please consider the Galveston Hilton when visiting in this area.
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel but was a little disappointed that I found a glob of hair in the bathroom and part of the carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. However, the bed was comfortable and the linens clean. The hotel staff was very nice upon check-in.

We booked this hotel in particular because it offered free cruise parking but the free parking was actually located next door at the San Luis Hotel. The free shuttle couldn't take us to the cruise ship until 11:30 and we wanted to get there at 9:00 so we ended up callling a cab. By paying for the cab both ways, it negated any savings we had from the "free parking" perk.

The outdoor pool area was very nice and inviting. We had a little party out there at night and it was very relaxing. It was a nice location with an IHOP and Kroger within walking distance. I would stay there again because I have a feeling the housekeeping issue was probably an isolated incident.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post to Trip Advisor. I will forward your comments to the approiate departments. Please consider the Galveston Island Hilton when visiting the area in the future.
Mike pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I thought the staff was not very warm or extra helpful. The room was clean, but not up to date. I thought it had been remodeled. The bathroom was small and the tub was not well maintained. For the price it is not what i expected. The elevators are slow and noisy. The pool is nice. It is in walking distance of landrys and ihop which i hoped would be outstanding, but the food at landrys was not good quality and ihop had employees eating breakfast next to me. I had not been to galveston in 25 years and it hasnt changed much. There is a town just north of here called kemah that is a much better hangout, the boardwalk, the restaraunts the shops are exceptional. This is the place to go, the salt grass was great and the amusement park is really cool.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony and view of the ocean are ok, pool side is the best, but you have a sideway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I appreciate you giving me your overview of your stay and observations of the area concerning the Landry products. Your comments are important to our operation and any way we can improve our service is welcomed!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I took this trip to propose to my fiancee. I had never stayed at a Hilton before, and the price was just slightly out of our budget but we decided to splurge, and oh man was it the best idea we ever had. I had originally booked one room with an ocean view, but upon our arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a presidential suite. I can't think Tristan enough, the young lady who upgraded us, she went well above and beyond the call of duty and made our trip one that we will never forget. Our room was breathtaking, we had three balconies that looked out onto the ocean(on the top floor!) and our bed was ridiculously comfortable. The maids were a little loud in the hallway(you could hear doors shutting in the morning when they were cleaning), but it wasn't a big deal. The pool was AMAZING, and it even had a swim up bar that opened rather early for a hotel bar. Ricardo, the main bartender, was exceptional! He was quick with drinks and he made us feel very welcome. The other two female bartenders outside, however, seemed a little disinterested and distant to the guests, but I would be too if I worked out in 100 degree weather. Later that evening I ordered room service, it was delivered fast and prompt. The crab cakes and brownie a la mode were delicious, and the young man who delivered the order was very professional. In the morning, the housekeepers greeted us with a smile and it really started our day off well. I have worked at Wyndham Hotel for six years, and I know all about the inside details of the Hospitality business, but I was blown away with the service I received from the staff, along with the beautiful decor of the hotel. This was one of the best trips we have ever been on, and I really hope Hilton acknowledges both Ricardo and Tristan, I couldn't thank them enough for making this one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. PS, my fiancee said YES!!! We will be married this November and can't wait to return to Galveston!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front, with a balcony!!! soooo worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Galveston Hilton. I along with my staff take these comment very serious. Again I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when in this area!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stay at Hiltons all over the country often. I must say, the staff at this Hilton are amazing. The valet here were extremely accommodating, the service in the restaurant was fantastic, and the bartenders in the lounge and the pool were friendly and fun. Our room with a balcony and view of the ocean and pool was wonderful. I can recommend this Hilton for your stay in Galveston. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: I would definitely suggest the balcony rooms with ocean and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. Our staff really try hard each and every day to give great service to all of our guests. I hope to see you back at the Hilton Galveston to experience another great experience!
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel with our family of 4. The pool with the swim up bar was amazing and our room had a wonderful view of the ocean. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good at the hotel and very reasonably priced. A couple of tips: book your restaurants reservations early as they good restaurants fill up quickly and the hotel does not serve dinner. You do need to walk across a 4 lane road to the beach but it is that way with all of the hotels along this strand area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I'll pass your comments on to staff and please consider the Hilton Galveston when in the area.
Thanks again,
Mike Pistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.