We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms for smokers; by the beach and gives a discount with AAA members” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“rooms for smokers; by the beach and gives a discount with AAA members”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The good: nice place, smells good, small bar area, great pool w/bar in the pool. big restaraunt and breakfast buffet, but costs too much; close to everything.

The bad: You have to pay $10 a night extra for internet in your room. The business center has computers, printers and the internet, but you pay $3.00 for the first minute and $.50 each minute after and more, if you print. Horrible!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    292
    175
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
280
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

stayed prior to cruise. Rooms clean and pleasant. Corridor was cold. Took long time to get hot water in room.Breakfast took a while but staff very nice and breakfast was hot and reasoably priced. Good location. Pleasant stay. Furniture was dated and chairs were pulling apart.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The staff was extremely pleasant. The room was very nice but of course there was no free WIFI or free breakfast because it was a resort. Conveniently located right across from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and such. Nice. Comfortable. Reasonable price for the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

when we arrived at the hotel, the bell hop, was very polite and cordial. the reception at the front desk was efficient, but not overly friendly. we asked a few questions about site to visit, she answered but offered nothing extra. we asked if we could change our room for an ocean view, and what the cost would be? she stated that because we had booked witha 3rd party, we could not do this. we had been travelling most of the day and i did not feel like getting into a discussion about this. but this is december and the hotel is nearly empty. this is not a way to encourage a return trip. the room was clean and nicely furnished. the bathroom was of good size. the hotel is a bit noisy, you can hear doors closed in other rooms and people talk in the hallway. it is too bad that they do not provide, for free, hi speed internet in the rooms. overall it was a good hotel and for the price, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Galveston Island resort in November before going on a cruise to Cozumel. Hotel was very nice and great view of the gulf. Restaurant was a little expensive. Great staff... Would stay there again. Parking available for free which was handy while cruising. Has van to take and pick up from cruise.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here overnight prior to leaving on a cruise...and loved it! Everything is new and well-appointed.Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant for breakfast was great-lots of variety with the buffet! A lovely setting-just across from the ocean and handy to the Rainforest Cafe and a great Seafood restaurant-Landry's within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the 2 Double Balcony Gulfview room for a getaway for me and my girlfriend. The property is very nice and still appears very new! Bountiful parking with the option of valet and easy access to the room. Pool and spa were always very clean and a beautiful sight with excellent design. Only two disappointments were the sauna (is dry, meaning no steam, so it just feels like sitting outside on a hot day, which is just me being particular, and does not run continuously, so you must request a staff member turn it on), and the pool's waterfall was also not running either days we stayed. Neither the poolside restaurant or pool par were staffed either days, which I assume was just in occurrence with the holiday season and slow business days. Room itself was great, only a couple minor flaws. (The smoke detector had previously fallen out of the ceiling. Hallways and neighboring rooms were quite noisy during normal business hours. Housekeeping could be heard coming, going, and yelling through the hallway around 10:00AM. Most guests in the hallway could easily be heard and understood. Any furniture that was moved across the floor for cleaning in the neighboring rooms could be heard). Staff, however, is top notch and could not be more improved! Service is beyond what most hotels these days provide. We ordered room service our first night and received it within no more than 10 minutes. We declined cleaning service the next day, but later found there were some key items we needed more of. One in particular the front desk staff did not have of our requested amount, but sent a member up to deliver said items (no more than a 5 minute wait), and even gave a courtesy call to assure we had received them! Any other items requested, the desk had ready to supply us with! Also, at the time our items were sent to our room, we took the "Do Not Disturb" sign off our door so as not to confuse the member bringing said items. Seconds later, a housekeeper who had watched me take off our sign knocked on our door and asked if we needed service and if that was why we took our sign off. We declined and told her thank you for offering even though it was at the end of service hours! All members were very polite and friendly. Only minor disappointment was I had originally reserved a King Balcony Gulfview room, but received a 2 Double Balcony Gulfview upon arrival. I admit to being lazy and not bringing this up to one of the staff members, so I can't hold this against them. It was only me and my other, and a double worked fine for the both of us. We even switched beds one night just for the heck of it =). Overall, my stay exceeded my expectations, and will return again should the privilege arise!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.