We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel With A Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Hotel With A Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this Hilton hotel for a leisure visit to Galveston. I would have to give this establishment an average rating because of equally good and bad points.
We were able to reserve our room for less than $100.The hotel is an older Hilton property but is nicely maintained. It is called a resort but the only resort item is a very nice pool. The hotel is in a great location. You just have to walk across the street and you are at the beach. There are many restaurants and stores within walking distance. The front desk and other personnel are very cordial and try to help. The only negative personnel we encountered was the senior valet person. The hotel is comprised of two buildings. The tower building at the rear of the property which has no balconies. The tower rooms facing the seawall have a gulf view. The low rise building rooms have balconies. The balconies can seat just two people comfortably. In order to see the gulf you need a room on the 4th floor or higher in both buildings.When we arrived, we were assigned a room that already had people in it. We had to go downstairs to obtain another room. The luggage carts are only available if a valet attendant accompanies the cart. Valet parking is $10 but there is ample self parking on each side of the building. We stayed in a balcony room in the low rise building. Our room did have a few problems. The air conditioner was very, very loud. Thankfully, we brought a fan which blotted out the noise. A light bulb was burned out and a plug did not work. The TV is a flat screen. The cable line up is fairly limited. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I had read previously on other travel sites that the WiFi doesn't work in the rooms. They were correct. Since we are gold members, we received complimentary WiFi which never worked. We reported this, but it never was fixed. If you are not a gold or diamond member WiFi is $9.95 a day. The balcony room had a wonderful view of the gulf, the pool and the volcano which erupts every hour at the Rain Forest Cafe. The breakfast buffet in the morning is $12.99. If you are gold or diamond member, you will receive a complimentary continental breakfast. I would recommend walking to the IHOP which is less than 5 minutes walking distance from the front desk. When visiting the Galveston area again, I would stay at this hotel again if I received a discounted rate. I would not stay during the summer rates because there are other hotels that are better for the same summer rates. I would definitely check my room for any problems and know that WiFi doesn't work in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor or higher have a better view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    292
    176
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
282
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I spent last Saturday night in a tower deluxe room. Check in was great, and super instructions on where to park in the back closest to the room. Room was very clean and updated. We requested the Tower rather than the balcony, because it is larger. The only negative was the very noisy AC.
AAA rate was $97 plus tax which included internet and continental breakfast being a Gold member. For an extra $7/per person we upgraded to the full hot breakfast which included omelettes to your making.
All in all a very pleasant relaxing stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for one night in November before departing on a cruise. We booked the special "cruise rate" room which included one night's accommodations in a deluxe room, free parking for 7 days, and complementary shuttle service to/from the port.

The hotel is an older property, and it is fair to say that the rooms could use some new decor. With that said, the whole place was clean and safe. Our room had a lovely pool and ocean view as well as a balcony.

Service was excellent - shuttles were on time (no wait in either direction), front desk staff were very helpful, and housekeeping brought be extra pillows within 5 minutes of my call.

Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this property for a pre-cruise stay. As an added bonus, there is an excellent Landry's restaurant next door, and an IHOP for breakfast one block away.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room in the lower-rise wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Hilton Galveston is directly across the street from the beach, so our room had a great view of the beach and the hotel pool. We could easily walk to three restaurants, Landry's, the Rainforest Cafe, and IHOP on one side of the hotel. On the other side is the Galveston Convention Center, and next to that is a Kroger shopping center. We could easily drive to both Moody Gardens and the Strand area. Overall this property is really conservative for Hilton. The hotel has a nice quality, but small lobby area. Wifi is free in the lobby (pay to use from your room). Self-parking is free and is directly adjacent to the hotel. The staff is very pleasant. The room air conditioner was very quiet, but when we ran the heater, it was very noisy. We enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with the oceanview and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Had a great rate for a Sunday night of just under $80 including tax using the AAA card. As a diamond was upgraded to a gulf view with balcony. The room was large, the view great, the bed very comfortable and overall was completely satisfied.

The breakfast buffet on Monday morning did not include any hot food and was limited. A small annoyance was you had to wait to be seated by a hostess and with more than half the seats empty the delay was annoying.

The staff at check in was courteous and pleasant.

Room Tip: The Tower has no balconies - ask for a non tower room if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a great view of the bay from our semi-view room balcony. Service was slow in the dining area during the evening and we were the only diners there. Breakfast buffet was exceptional though and the rooms were a bit small but well decorated.

Room Tip: If you want a good outside view of the bay get a semi ocean view. Full ocean view is through a close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in early October. While I wished for a balcony room, we stayed in the tower. The view was still great. The location made it possible for a daily beach walk & it was still warm enough to swim in the pool. We got room service every morning and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.