We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Stay and a Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Galveston Island Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Package
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Stay and a Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We arrived before check-in but were given our room immediately. We stayed in the tower section of the resort with an oceanview room. The staff was pleasent, efficient, and helpful. The room was very very nice. Absolutely clean, appeared recently updated. The bed was a dream to sleep in with down comforter and pillows, got a great nights sleep! Convienent to the Rain Forest Cafe and other restaurants, plenty of parking (free) right next to the hotel entrance. The bellhop greeted us immediately upon arrival and offered his assistance. We have stayed at a lot of Galveston Hotels, this is by far the nicest for the price. Sure the San Luis is nice, but the price was double of the Hilton. Received by Hilton Honors points towards Onepass miles within 2 days of our stay. Absolutely no reservations in recommending this hotel. Galveston has a lot of hotels on the seawall, but this is by far the nicest we have stayed at in a few years and rates were very competitive with lesser quality hotels. Thanks Hilton, we enjoyed our stay!!!!

  • Liked — Staff service and quality of the room
  • Disliked — small bar
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    292
    176
    83
    65
See reviews for
277
282
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

When the other reviews said 80's I didn't quite believe it, they didn't lie. The pool and location across from the beach are the only redeeming qualities. The bed and bedding are terrible, not a decent chair in the room and to think this was off season and this cost 81 a night. I think I'd been better off not using priceline. Plus it rained and this room was not comfortable enough to stay in plus the doors were so thin you could hear everything in the hall. Gym was real small, lobby was tacky. would not stay her again.

  • Liked — pool and across from beach
  • Disliked — old bedspreads and old decorating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

My wife and I went to a wedding in Galveston recently and here is my take:

Bottom line I would likely seek another option if I went back to the area. I would either trade up to a nicer hotel (San Luis etc) or look for a lower-end brand that had a new property (Comfort Suites, Springhill Suites etc) .

Compared to other full service Hilton's this property is OK - not terrible. Some folks gave it really bad reviews and it does not deserve a "1 circle score" but to give it "5" or a "4" is just not fair either. It is clearly a 2 or 3.

Positives:
- Right on the water, walk across the road and you are on the beach
- Several good food options near by including Rain Forest Cafe (good for kids)
- If you need to be at the convention center it is immediately next door.
- Less expensive than the adjacent San Luis hotel.

Negatives:
- The rooms need renovation - period. They are dated and a bit tired. Not dirty really, but worn and not what most people expect from a full service Hilton.
- Our bed needed replacing - it was "saggy" and mattress was likely old.
- There is a pool area but road noise is a factor as it is on the main road side of the hotel.
- This seems like a hotel that gets packaged travel - for cruises and with the convention center.

Hilton should consider renovating this hotel and/or downgrading it to a Doubletree or something other than their main brand. You will easily "survive" a stay there but it will not be your best Hilton experience.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for an evening during the off-season, just to get a night away from Houston. Of course, it isn't the Galvez, San Luis, or Tremont, but we were very pleased with the accomodations. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so we had lunch up the road and came back to find that our room had been upgraded. The bed was plush and inviting and the room was very clean. The hotel is right off of the seawall, allowing you to walk from your room right down to the beach. However, the hotel also offers a pool with a bar, hot-tub, and sauna if you don't feel like getting in the ocean. The hot-tub and sauna were great since we were visiting during the off-season and it had been chilly and overcast. I had a great stay at the Hilton and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfy beds, sauna
  • Disliked — a little too expensive
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

Stayed one night with wife and two sons (7 and 4) - return after doing this a year ago. It was another great stay. The pool is lots of fun, with a large swim/play area and a lazy river type part that circles a waterfall and swim-up bar. The kids enjoyed the non-alcoholic frozen drinks - remembered them from last year. The RainForest Cafe right next door has a volcano that erupts several times through the night - fun for the kids. The beach is right across the street, with easy access at a traffic signal.

The room was big enough, clean, and comfortable. I do wish they had some double queens - only choices are King or two doubles.

The restaurant was good for breakfast buffet - only meal we ate there. Go to The Spot for very good shrimp po-boy sandwiches - a couple of miles east on Seawall.

We are already planning a return trip next summer - the boys will be disappointed if we stay anywhere else.

Only downfall, typical Hilton charge of $10 for internet.

  • Liked — Pool fun and beach proximity
  • Disliked — Internet charge
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Just got back from a two night stay this weekend. Overall the hotel was just ok, nothing special. I think it is overpriced. We paid $189 per night for a king non smoking room which was not a Gulf view. We did not eat at the hotel since the food was high priced as well. The pool was nice with a nice rock waterfall and a swim up bar (closed at 7). They also have floating toys that you can use. The hot tub did not look clean and we did not get in there. They had a dry sauna as well, but we did not go in there either. The room was clean not fancy. The elevators were slow as molasses and I ended up taking the stairs sometimes. We were on the 6th floor, but the stairs were not bad. I've stayed at Moody Gardens Hotel and the San Luis and I would rate both of those above this one.

  • Liked — pool/swim up bar
  • Disliked — elevators were too slow
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton the last two days for a get-a-way before school started and for my mother and neice's birthday. We loved the location. We experienced several problems in our short stay. The elevators are extremely slow and the service staff uses the same small elevators. So when one finally arrived, you could not get on it. None of the vending machines were working!!! When we asked about this, it was blamed on Coca-Cola. There were bees at the swim-up bar so it took the bartender awhile to get everyone's drink order because she had been stung before and was dodging the bees, as were we sitting at the bar. My sister could not get connected to the internet and had it removed from her bill. The guys at the valet were great!!! Never again!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Galveston Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.