We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price in Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location and price in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I got married in Galveston in March, and my husband and I booked a suite at this property for our wedding weekend. We liked that it was a small hotel compared to most on the Island. The room was beautiful and spacious, with modern, comfortable furniture and a great view of the harbor. It had a separate bedroom and even had a small dining area in the living room. Since we had a lot to do over the weekend, we didn't get a chance to take advantage of the complimentary appetizer or dessert at the restaurants nearby. We agree with some of the other reviews about the very odd light switches - they were difficult to figure out which switch worked with which lights! The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired as well - it was really disappointing. Parking was adequate and fairly secure as well, and we liked having the option of using amenities at their partner properties, where we had family staying.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and thought that it was an excellent value for the amenities and service. We would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to be close to many local restaurant, the water and within walking distance to The Strand district.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing Harbor House. We appreciate your insight on your stay and we hope that you come back soon. It is a great location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    116
    52
    26
    13
See reviews for
96
163
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have stayed here quit a few times over the years. It is a great location, right on the Galveston Harbor. They have a great Dolphin watch boat docked in their private marina. Plus we on occasion sail our boat down for a couple days and stay at the marina. It is a great spot!! The hotel is an easy walking distance from "The Strand" and lots of great places to eat and shop. They also have a "Jackup rig museum" next door and the 1900 Hurricane museum and the Alisa is right there!! They do not have room service but have a simple continental breakfast... The rooms are clean and very comfy.. It is a boutique hotel with no valet or bellman or room service, You do get a great view of a working harbor and boats going by and at night the welding on the rigs they are building or repairing is like fireworks... This place is beyond any doubt my favorite place to stay on the island!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review of the Harbor House, we are thrilled that you consider us your "favorite place to stay on the island." We appreciate your feedback and your comments on the many sights to see and places to go just within walking distance. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed a weekend stay here at Harbor House. We were greeted by a warm and friendly front desk woman. The room was very clean and seemed fresh. Bed linens were comfortable and nice. Tiled floor with area rug. Plank ceiling open with bare pipes overhead. Contemporary mixed with rustic harbor feel. Bath and Body products in the bathroom, tile shower, glass doors, stylish nickel fixtures and sink bowl. Great view of the Bay Area day or night. Woke up to a giant cruise ship parked across the way. It had come in during the late evening. Convenient to walk to Willie G for a drink on the bay side patio and Olympia for dinner on the bay. Continental breakfast in the morning complimentary. Pricey. No pool but can use pool in a different hotel closer to beach. Nice stay. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Harbor House, we have recently renovated the property and love to hear that you were impressed. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent visit to Galveston. Great location of you want to be near the historic area and the cruise ship dock. Hotel was clean, and quite. Breakfast was good, typical bagels, toast, yogurt,etc. nothing hot, but adequate. My main complaint is the light switches. They are HORRIBLE!!! They have some type of touch control pads that control all the lights in the whole room. I went to take a shower I could not get the lights to come up to only a dim level. Than I touched another pad and they went totally off and there seemed to be some type of delay feature before I could get one light to come on. Was never able to get the light in the showered area to ever come on. They need to change this design

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We are so sorry that you had an issue with the lights. Despite that issue, we hope that you enjoyed your stay and the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

From my perspective this hotel is in a good location, it's on the pier side but I liked this in preference to the Seawall side. It's close to the historic district and their are plenty of good restaurants and bars close by. The hotel itself was lovely and modern, very good sized room and bed but I have to agree with the comment on the lights, couldn't figure them out! Breakfast was a little basic and processed. Bonus is we also got to see the dolphins from the dockside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your recent stay at Harbor House Hotel & Marina. We are so glad you that you got to see the dolphins. Hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is located at Pier 21 in Galveston, Texas. It is a short walk from the cruise terminal. We enjoy the location as it is close to lots of great restaurants and the Galveston Grand. When we are cruising, we can leave our car in their parking lot for a nominal fee and walk ourselves right over to the terminal. Super convenient! Nice, comfortable and unique! Not a bad price either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Harbor House for your pre-cruise stay. We hope you had a great cruise and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love this hotel! We have stayed in a few of the hotels on the sea wall and they were always average and usually not worth the money...This hotel on the harbor was beautiful and clean and had ever changing cool views of the pier...the kids watched dolphins play from our window and from the dock below...Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room for adults plus and fridge and microwave...and it was super clean! I saw several reviews about the lights being hard to work...but you just push a button instead of flip a switch...kind of a cool change I thought...large shower and bathroom ...super comfy beds and huge double room...friendly staff...lots to do within walking distance and easy 10$ per day parking...plus easy drive to sea wall ...I will never stay at another Galveston hotel...Harbor House wins!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Wow! We appreciate your glowing review of your stay at Harbor House Hotel & Marina. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, the view and the area. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.