We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Hutto, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place for a weekend away. The location is wonderful with restaurants and museums practically right outside your door. The Strand is just a block away so you don't have to pay to park AGAIN. Seems like we had to pay to park everywhere in Galveston, but I will leave that for another review. The Harbor House is a fantastic place, the rooms are large with room for a King size bed, and a sofa and coffee table. The bathroom is separate with a dressing table outside of the shower room so two people getting ready at the same time is no problem. The room was very clean and housekeeping did their job in a timely manner and were very nice. The only draw back is that there is no pool, they do allow you to use the pool at the Galvez since they are sister hotels. And they offer a shuttle. If we had our kids with us we would have used this service. Overall, we were glad we chose Harbor House over the hotels on the Seawall. It offered much more to see and do without having to drive and pay to park everywhere. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate your thorough review on your stay at Harbor House Hotel and Marina. As you mentioned, it is very convenient for parking and enjoying the sites and restaurants nearby. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    102
    50
    25
    11
See reviews for
85
138
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the boat slips owned by the Harbor house and it was nice. While we slept on our boat, we had access to wifi and the breakfast. We're new to boating, so not sure if slip price was good or not but we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the marina. We are pleased that it made your boating trip to Galveston convenient. We currently have five boat slips that are available for overnight rental. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently traveled to Galveston with my family and we loved Harbor House! It's beautiful, clean and has a ton of character. It's also within walking distance of a ton of little shops and restaurants which was a plus for us, and my baby loved watching all the boats come in and out of the harbor. We also got a great deal because we stayed on Sunday and Monday night. We'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Harbor House Hotel and Marina. As you mentioned, the hotel's location at Pier 21 is within walking distance to shops, dining and more. It is also the only hotel that overlooks the harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Harbor House on September 11. From the moment we entered the lobby the staff were friendly and helpful. We got a good price on the room, discounts at two nearby restaurants, we got a requested location (on the side facing the cruise terminal), and late checkout. The room was comfortable & roomy, the wi-fi was free and acceptibly fast, and the bathroom was nice. Taking into consideration that the hotel is on the banks of a very busy harbor, it wasn't too noisy. In fact, it was so quiet we overslept and missed the breakfast. It did however have the somewhat musty smell of most waterfront properties. The location is convenient to the Strand, museums and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms may be noisier but the view of activities (and the sunset) is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House Hotel and Marina. It does offer a wonderful location and, as you mentioned, its just a block from The Strand. By the way, we are planning to renovate the hotel at the end of the year. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.