We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've stayed at Harbor House several times. We appreciate...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    104
    50
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
139
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Comfortable room. Nice amenities. Good continental breakfast. Excellent coffee. Nice
view from window of harbor and water activity. Good location. Close to restaurants. Very
pleasant staff. Not close to beach but shuttle was available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbor House. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

No business center and could have stayed on the sea wall with a jacuzzi and a balcony for the same price. The breakfast was a joke, toast and coffee and that was it. They also didn't have a channel listing sheet in the room, nor did they have any kind of local information for attractions and amusements anywhere in the hotel. The wifi was also horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will address the issues that you mentioned. Please note that our lobby includes an iPad which features current information on Galveston including attractions and special events. Also, Pier 21 offers five restaurants within steps of the hotel as well as three harbor excursions and two museums. We hope that you'll give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my first stay on the island. My husband and I enjoyed the relaxing and quiet atmosphere. You can walk to the strand from hotel or enjoy watching ships come into the harbor. There are restaurants all around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at Harbor House. We are so pleased that you found the hotel and the location "relaxing." We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.