We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Steps to Cruise Terminal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Galveston
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Walking Steps to Cruise Terminal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Convenient location and great value. Arrived by limo from IAH (Houston) about 1-1/2 hour drive. Excited to have two days in Galveston to explore prior to our departure for a Caribbean cruise. Actually walked from the Harbor House Hotel to the seawall which took about 3 hours while viewing various wood carvings designed from trees that had been partially destroyed in the 2008 hurricane. This walk included a stop at Bishops Palace a great museum from the past. My son and husband were very tickled to know they wouldn't have to walk back. We stopped at the Hotel Galvez and took the complimentary shuttle back to the Harbor House Hotel. Many places to shop and dine and the Olympus had reasonable dinner and a harbor view. The room was large with a great sitting area and two queen beds for the three of us. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. We could see the ship as we walked out the front doors of the Hotel. That morning when were to cruise we wheeled our suitcases out and down the tracks (literally train tracks) to the cruise ship terminal. Highly recommend this location. Great service from every front desk representative (The 2 Linda's and Richard)! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your comments and we are happy to read that you explored Galveston and took advantage of our courtesy shuttle. Hope you had a great cruise and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    105
    50
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
140
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

10 dollar parking for a quest NEGATIVE .. service was awesome Linda g was amazing took great care of us and made us feel at home.room was great and everything was clean and well taken care of.sitting area was nice and well maintained!


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Harbor House. We will share your compliments with Linda on her great service. We hope that your wife had a wonderful birthday trip to Galveston and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great value and superb location to Strand shops and restaurants. Continental breakfast was good start to the day. Beds are a bit on the hard side but not outrageously uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Harbor House. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our charming hotel and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Parking is private, rooms are nice but old. I like the building a lot just prefer more updated interior for the rooms. We stayed in the suite which had a nice dining room and living area. Two TVs in case you cant sleep. The doors didnt latch in the bedroom suite without major efforts. The paint shows lots of wear and the bathrooms need to be updated. Especially for the price. Both ladies were very nice but I don't care for the service by the gentlemen up front when I tried to enter the parking lot and my key card did not work. We normally stay at B&Bs but have this a try. Galveston isn't big so it's 5 min to get to the other side by the pleasure pier. A Carnival cruise ship left and we never heard anything. The windows to the suit open so it was nice to have the breeze and hear the seagulls. I'm a picky eater so I went elsewhere for breakfast. It's convenient to museums and the dolphin tour in front of the Harbor House is a must....VERY reasonable, under $10 a person. It isn't a bad place to stay at all, just not my style. I can't rate higher than a 3 for some reason below. Exterior is very nice and so is lobby furniture is dated and old TVs. Staff was very knowledeable and friendly about the area when I booked our stay. Bathtub/shower is very small. We didnt use it for this reason. We only stayed one night and went home in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review on your stay at Harbor House. We really appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to share that we are scheduled to renovate our guest rooms at the end of the year. We hope that you will stay with us again or try our sister property - The Tremont House which is located in the heart of The Strand District and just four blocks from Harbor House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very small entry, but Linda G made us welcome. The room was old, but updated, large, and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. The updates for the rooms should include new carpet. Windows open for that fresh ocean breeze. The hotel is on Pier 21 and centrally located for many of the Galveston attractions. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the a/c units toward the front of the hotel, over Tony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your insight and we are happy to report that we will be renovating our rooms at the end of the year. Thank you for the compliments to Linda, we'll be sure to share them with her. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.