We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor House Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Harbor House Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great value and superb location to Strand shops and restaurants. Continental breakfast was good start to the day. Beds are a bit on the hard side but not outrageously uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Harbor House. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our charming hotel and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    108
    51
    25
    12
See reviews for
90
145
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Parking is private, rooms are nice but old. I like the building a lot just prefer more updated interior for the rooms. We stayed in the suite which had a nice dining room and living area. Two TVs in case you cant sleep. The doors didnt latch in the bedroom suite without major efforts. The paint shows lots of wear and the bathrooms need to be updated. Especially for the price. Both ladies were very nice but I don't care for the service by the gentlemen up front when I tried to enter the parking lot and my key card did not work. We normally stay at B&Bs but have this a try. Galveston isn't big so it's 5 min to get to the other side by the pleasure pier. A Carnival cruise ship left and we never heard anything. The windows to the suit open so it was nice to have the breeze and hear the seagulls. I'm a picky eater so I went elsewhere for breakfast. It's convenient to museums and the dolphin tour in front of the Harbor House is a must....VERY reasonable, under $10 a person. It isn't a bad place to stay at all, just not my style. I can't rate higher than a 3 for some reason below. Exterior is very nice and so is lobby furniture is dated and old TVs. Staff was very knowledeable and friendly about the area when I booked our stay. Bathtub/shower is very small. We didnt use it for this reason. We only stayed one night and went home in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review on your stay at Harbor House. We really appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to share that we are scheduled to renovate our guest rooms at the end of the year. We hope that you will stay with us again or try our sister property - The Tremont House which is located in the heart of The Strand District and just four blocks from Harbor House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very small entry, but Linda G made us welcome. The room was old, but updated, large, and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. The updates for the rooms should include new carpet. Windows open for that fresh ocean breeze. The hotel is on Pier 21 and centrally located for many of the Galveston attractions. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the a/c units toward the front of the hotel, over Tony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your insight and we are happy to report that we will be renovating our rooms at the end of the year. Thank you for the compliments to Linda, we'll be sure to share them with her. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Linda G and Randall were amazing... The room was great... Would recommend 218 has a beautiful bay window! With our room key we scored a free app at the fishermen wharf... Location was great next to the strand and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your raving review on your stay at Harbor House. We love that you enjoyed your view, the locations and the restaurants at Pier 21. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a suite on April 19. We went to Galveston to see a show and have a little time away. That's why I booked a $300 a night room. I wanted to be pampered. That's not what we got. The location and the view were great. Its relaxing to watch the activity in the port. The hotel is where everything falls apart. The dressing area/bathroom sink smelled of microwave popcorn. There was no wifi. There was a coffee pot in the room, just no coffee. Don't plan on a bellman carrying your luggage. Oh, the parking is extra. The door between the bedroom and the living room did not close without a lot of noise. For the money they want its just not worth it. If you only want the best location in town its OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Harbor House. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Harbor House does offer Wi-Fi in the rooms so please accept my apologies that it wasn't working properly. Our front desk is quick to check on those issues for our guests. We have also noted your comments regarding the coffee. In the future, you may want to consider our sister hotel - The Tremont House. It is a full-service, boutique style hotel which is walking distance to The Grand 1894 Opera House. We hope that you will give The Tremont House a try on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.