We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, TX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very small entry, but Linda G made us welcome. The room was old, but updated, large, and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. The updates for the rooms should include new carpet. Windows open for that fresh ocean breeze. The hotel is on Pier 21 and centrally located for many of the Galveston attractions. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the a/c units toward the front of the hotel, over Tony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your insight and we are happy to report that we will be renovating our rooms at the end of the year. Thank you for the compliments to Linda, we'll be sure to share them with her. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    121
    53
    26
    13
See reviews for
102
170
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Linda G and Randall were amazing... The room was great... Would recommend 218 has a beautiful bay window! With our room key we scored a free app at the fishermen wharf... Location was great next to the strand and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your raving review on your stay at Harbor House. We love that you enjoyed your view, the locations and the restaurants at Pier 21. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a suite on April 19. We went to Galveston to see a show and have a little time away. That's why I booked a $300 a night room. I wanted to be pampered. That's not what we got. The location and the view were great. Its relaxing to watch the activity in the port. The hotel is where everything falls apart. The dressing area/bathroom sink smelled of microwave popcorn. There was no wifi. There was a coffee pot in the room, just no coffee. Don't plan on a bellman carrying your luggage. Oh, the parking is extra. The door between the bedroom and the living room did not close without a lot of noise. For the money they want its just not worth it. If you only want the best location in town its OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Harbor House. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Harbor House does offer Wi-Fi in the rooms so please accept my apologies that it wasn't working properly. Our front desk is quick to check on those issues for our guests. We have also noted your comments regarding the coffee. In the future, you may want to consider our sister hotel - The Tremont House. It is a full-service, boutique style hotel which is walking distance to The Grand 1894 Opera House. We hope that you will give The Tremont House a try on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location for our excited daughter to see the Disney Magic coming into port the morning of our cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We're thrilled that your daughter had the chance to see the Disney Ship pull into the harbor. Harbor House is the only hotel that offers that close-up view of the cruise ships.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.