We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for pre-cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for pre-cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in the perfect spot for a pre-cruise stay. The workers were very friendly, awesome restaurants connected to the hotel, and walking distance to a lot of things. The only negative was the room I was in had a view facing concrete and vents. For the price you're paying, make sure you ask for a water view.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on Harbor House. We appreciate the compliments on our staff. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    108
    51
    25
    11
See reviews for
90
142
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in rm 204, almost the nicest room in the hotel. It was awesome. Amazing view of the harbour, beautiful furniture, and comfortable beds. The bathroom was pretty old, but it worked fine. Only two negatives: the "complimetary continental breakfast" was worse than I've had in even basic motels, and way below the standard I'd expect at a $300/night hotel. And the bedroom walls were very thin. The couple in the room next door were having a pretty exciting night of it, and we heard every word and headboard-thump :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on Harbor House. We appreciate your comments and I'm sorry for any issues you experienced. We are planning on doing some renovations on the hotel at the end of the year. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel and location. Walking distance to Grand, Strand and many other locations. Lighting in the dressing rooms not so great but other than that great place to stay.
Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Harbor House. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the hotel. We hope the anniversary/wedding was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved the old building. Would love to know more on its history but staff was unable to give me any. Not sure if there is a reason behind that. Anyway we had a lovely corner room with great views. The interior needs some updating. The sitting furniture seemed dingy and probably needs replacing. Doors were marked up in room and the room could use a fresher color of paint. Better lighting needed in vanity area. Nice soft sheets and duvet, get rid of the nautical pillow shams the bed is fine without them and they just look aged. Air conditioner worked great as did other fixtures in the room. I prefer luxury hotels but enjoy historic or hotels like this that offer a little something different. This is not a luxury hotel but has the potential to be more than what it is. However I still liked it and would stay again. I wish breakfast didn't end at 9:00 we were on vacation and slept in late so we never got to take advantage of this inclusion. Property is nice and close to cruise terminal which is a big plus.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Harbor House and thank you for the feedback on the rooms. We are pleased to share that we are planning to renovate the rooms at the end of the year. It is the only hotel that offers a harbor view and, as you mentioned, it is in a great location for cruisers.

And here's a little history, the hotel was built on the site of a historic steamship terminal. The building was built in 1993 as part of the development of Pier 21 by George Mitchell and the Mitchell family. The hotel is still part of Mitchell Historic Properties and is managed by Wyndham Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great hotel at a great location. We will definitely return for another stay with the Harbor House. We arrived Saturday March 30th the day before we were to depart on a cruise. Randall checked us in and was very friendly and accomodated all of our needs and request. We found the room to be large with a great view of the pier and the ship channel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and all appeared to be well maintained. Docked outside our room window was the Sailing ship Ellissa and a Coast Gaurd Cutter that was allowing public tours. Two great seafood restaurants Willie G's and Pier 21 Seafood Restaurant are within just a few feet of the hotel. A Starbucks is across the street and one block down. The Strand Street shopping district is only two blocks away and it's good place to browse the shops while walking off that seafood dinner. On Sunday we departed for our cruise leaving our car parked at the Horbor House for a nominal fee. Both Carnival and Royal Carribean Cruise ship terminals are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Shuttles are provided in the event one is needed. Upon returning from the cruise I left my wife and luggage out by the street from the cruise ship terminal and walked the short distance to get our car avoiding the wait time of the shuttle.

Room Tip: For the best view request one of the upper rooms closest to the the ship channel or the north side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review on Harbor House. We appreciate you staying with us prior to your cruise. As you mentioned, the hotel is very convenient for cruisers and it offers a great location for dining and shopping too. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. Happy sailing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location. Very convenient for exploring the area. Great value for the price. Wish there was a restaurant actually inside the hotel, as the continental breakfast was pretty basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay at Harbor House. My apologies that we don't offer an in-house restaurant and only a complimentary Continental Breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants that are open for breakfast including Tremont Cafe at our sister hotel - The Tremont House. You can also charge your meals and cocktails back on your room at Harbor House. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;