We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with a great staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Save Saved
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    105
    50
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
140
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very nice. Comfortable borderline luxury. My husband and I have stayed twice while sailing out of Galveston. Several eateries within walking distanct. You can leave your car there (with a fee of course) and walk you luggage over to the port. We find that very easy. When you return, just walk your luggage back to the car and you are on your way. Another plus if you are an early riser you can watch your ship come in. This hotel offers breakfast as well with the price of the room. If you add up the cost of a hotel elsewhere in Galveston then add the cost of a cab or port parking fees, you will come out about even. Stay at the Harbor House and make it easy on yourself. I rate it a 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay at Harbor House. Now that we are in our spring season, guests can enjoy a number of free events including Party at the Pier on the third Saturdays of the month from 10 am to 4 pm (March - October). We appreciate your tips and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went into town early before a cruise. The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Nice view of the harbor from our room. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit when you cruise out of Galveston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

One of my favorite hotels in the USA. On the harbor, not on the seawall side. One of my favorite views, I can just sit in the big comfortable chair and watch all the tankers, tugs, barges, & cruise ships go up and down the harbor channel. They have wonderful suites that have windows looking out two different direction. Extremely comfortable over stuffed furniture. 3 excellent seafood restaurants in a row, including the one downstairs. Only one block to the Strand, the downtown area full of restaurants and shops. Good strong Wi-Fi. Things that could be better; they have the old style flat screen TV. Not HD. Hard to believe a Hotel like this, with these prices, doesn't have "real" flatscreen TVs! They also have strange light switches that are really hard to get used to. And thirdly, as you walk around your room, come into your room, lights are popping on automatically. I am constantly turning lights off! Every time I walk through the living room the bathroom lights go? Really don't get that.

As nice (and expensive) as this hotel is, customer service often stinks. There is no listing of TV channels in the room. When Wi-Fi goes out, there's no 800-number available to call and get help. When I called the front desk about the Wi-Fi issue, it took me several calls to get someone to answer. When I got a call from a business associate and needed to write down the message, I realized there was no pad/pen on the desk or side table as you would find in most hotels. I reported that my sink was not draining, but no one ever showed up to fix it.

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times, but this was the first time on the second floor instead of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Harbor House. We agree that it is a wonderful location and please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We will share your feedback with the appropriate staff. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Several of our computer cruise friends decided to stay at the Harbor House before last weeks cruise. We had never stayed there but others had and recommended it.

We arrived very early in the afternoon to meet up with people taking a tour of Galveston, and the bubbly lady at the front desk let us check in and gave us all kinds of advice on where to eat and drink - and what places we should use her name for freebies or discounts :-)

The hotel was right next to the dock where our ship was, right next door to the place we were gathering as a group for dinner, and convenient to everything. The rooms were nice, the continental breakfast served on the second floor was limited and was totally depleted when we went down, but when we told them they re-stocked - although several people just left.

All in all it's a great place to stay and we'll probably return the next time we go in early for a cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay at Harbor House. We will share your compliments with our front desk staff at the hotel. We're happy to hear that it was convenient for you and your friends. Please accept my apologies regarding the complimentary Continental breakfast, we'll make sure that the appropriate staff is aware. Thanks again for choosing Harbor House and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;