We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. The rooms are a nice size and comfortable and pretty clean. The staff was great with recommendations and accommodating us.

When my newly potty trained son woke up to go to the bathroom there was a bad leak in the ceiling going into the toilet. He couldn't use it. None if us could. It was so late that I figured I'd tell them in the morning and some how we went back to sleep. In the morning it was worse and also a new leak was also in the room. The staff got us quickly hooked up with another room so we could get ready and use the toilet.

I asked if they would give us a discount since we couldn't use the bathroom all night and were inconvenienced and they took off the entire night charge!! Now that's customer service. I highly recommend this hotel and despite what happened, we'd return. This is the kind of service that sets a hotel above the others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I'm very sorry to hear about the bathroom issue but it is gratifying to read that our staff did a good job in accommodating you. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    128
    55
    26
    13
See reviews for
107
177
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was close to the cruise ship terminal, but it didn't live up to the good reviews we read. I have stayed at Super 8's that are cleaner and more comfortable than this hotel. The room itself was spacious, but the bathtub was filthy - a little bleach would be a good investment for this hotel! They could also invest in some pillows with substance instead of ones that feel like your using a rolled up pillow case. The walls are paper thin - we could easily hear the entire conversation of the people in the room next to us and they weren't shouting. Plus the breakfast room is located on the same floor as the bedrooms which means lots of noise early in the morning. The "breakfast" was not appealing and there were too many people for the small location, so we went out for breakfast. At least there were some excellent restaurants nearby! If I ever take a cruise from Galveston again, I will book a hotel further away from the terminal so I don't get gouged by the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Harbor House. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Please know that we are planning on doing some hotel renovations in the fall. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Harbor House is a great location for The Galveston Stand and Cruise terminal. It sits on the Galveston Channel/Harbor. We stayed there to be close the the Strand for Mardi Gras. It is just across the street from the Strand.
The staff was great and were very nice to us. We were a group of guys doing a Mardi Gras Bachelor party.
They are very very close to some good places to eat and some good bars that have live music etc. on weekends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments on your stay at Harbor House. We hope that you had a fun Mardi Gras bachelor party and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Booked this hotel because we were leaving the next day on a cruise. Arrived and was very pleased with the location and appearance of the hotel. It's part of a converted warehouse. Rooms very spacious! King-size bed, view of the harbor. Microwave and frig tucked in an armoire under the TV. Separate sitting area, large closet, good-size bathroom. Wi-Fi in the room was fast and easy. It was so nice, we wished it was for more than 1 night. They would have happily stored our bags until the ship would let us check them, but we walked over with the big bags early on Sat (yes the Pier is that close). Continental breakfast was a little light for me, but it might have just been that there was a huge family group there at the same time, and we couldn't get near the food. Very helpful desk staff, took their restaurant recommendations and were glad we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the positive feedback on your stay at Harbor House. We hope you will stay longer than one night on your next visit. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erath, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had heard some negative comments but still decided to try it. So very glad we did, very friendly staff and awesome service. The beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, so don't realy know why some are complaining about it.

Room Tip: Loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at Harbor House. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I made a last minute trip to Galveston on Jan 5, 2013 . We booked a room here so we could be close to the Strand. We were greeted by the front desk attendant with a friendly smile and she made us feel very welcomed. Check in was quick! We went to our room and it was wonderful! We got a room that had 2 double beds and they were really comfortable. There was a big entertainment center with both a microwave and refrigerator as well as the TV. We had a couch and chair with coffee table and still had plenty of space for walking around. We had a coffee maker in the room with Wolfgang Puck coffee, which was AWESOME! There were plenty of bathroom amenities, even mouthwash! My husband went to breakfast while we slept in. He was fine with the breakfast. There were pastries, juices, etc. Also there was apples and orange in a basket that you could get throughout the day. Checkout was a breeze! I am very pleased with this hotel. I have stayed at MANY hotels in Galveston over the years and this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting comments on your recent stay and we are happy to hear that we made your favorite hotel list. We hope you come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.