We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for cruising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor House to your Saves list
Harbor House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for cruising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here the night before crusing on the Carnival Magic. It was a very nice hotel. The hotel receptionist was nice and helpful. I loved the decorations in the hotel room and it was clean. The hotel is right downtown next to the area called The Strand. Parking was a little hard to find, but once we found it, it worked smoothly. We checked in and then went walking in the downtown area, had a wonderful evening shopping and eating. The next morning, we were able to see our Cruise Ship docking at the port. Check out was easy and we were just a couple of blocks from our park and cruise spot. I would defintely recommend staying there, especially if you are needing a place the night before you cruise. They will also let you park there for the cruise, I think it is a little cheaper then what we paid, however we had reservations at another spot. But we will remember that for next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaynJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The location is great- within walking distance to really nice restaurants. Sadly even though this is a Wyndham hotel, it is probably the poorest quality I've been in. Furnishings are old, dated & need upgrading. Bathtub was chipped, shower curtain moldy & stained. Continental breakfast was minimal- sweet rolls, packaged oatmeal, juice, coffee & yogurt & juice. No fruit or anything hot. No workout room. Clerk said we could use workout facilities at Galvez & Tremont but who wants to have to drive across town for shared amenities?? Check in was pitifully slow- clerk nice but when you've been driving for hours & ready to get to your room, her conversation going on & on got old quick. This could really be a neat place - just needs some refurbishing & TLC to make it a 4 star. Right on the harbor side waterfront & rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Grossly overrated. I have had a better continental breakfast at Motel 6. Too many deficiencies to list here. Overall a poor rating. Bath and bathroom sink are dated. The air conditioner is behind the window curtains when you close them for the night. The room lighting is inadequate except when the window curtains are open.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAIL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here overnight before a cruise out of the port and it was exactly what we hoped for. Rooms and property were clean, especially for an older area. As others mentioned, the breakfast isn't great, but we were able to sleep late, have a couple of pastries before walking to the cruise ship and were eating lunch on the ship less than 30 minutes after leaving the hotel. There were several places nearby to eat or grab a drink. We didn't spend much time exploring the area, so I cannot comment on other attractions, however for catching a cruise this place cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cruise port if you want to see your ship at the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FriscoRowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff was wonderful and the room was spacious. We disliked the lighting or lack there of. We had to take a newspaper by the window so we could read small print. Also we didn't appreciate the air conditioning being on a timer or motion activated, so that it cut off 5 minutes after we left the room. We would come back to a hot room with no lights. After spending a lot of time shopping on the strand or the dolphin tour, it would have been nice to come back to a nice cool hotel room. Didn't like that the parking fee was added and that she said we should be happy they didn't charge 15-20 dollars like other hotels. We were expecting more choices for breakfast. Yogurt, bagel, or raisin bread to toast and juice. The room was nice and the staff was very helpful. I agree that a pool or maybe even a roof top area to view the harbor would have been nice. It is fun to go to the Galveston website and get to see the view from our room anytime we want.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for your comments. I apologize for any problems you experienced. Our air conditioning does not turn off when guests are out of the room so we will check that unit to make sure it is working properly. Guests at Harbor House are welcome to enjoy the pool at Hotel Galvez so please come back and enjoy the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I enjoyed our stay and the place is a very convenient stay to the harbor, fishing trips and The Strand. The desk did seem a bit weird (slow to respond) and understaffed. The lighting also was off in the rooms. Our night table light came on without reason and there was no overhead lighting. There was something going on with the lighting electrically in the switches and was some design that I was not accustom to for one switch operated several lights. The bath area was small; but, worked fine. The big door entering that area did get "in the way" a lot. There were only 2 of us so we worked around it. As another review pointed out, we could use the other two hotels and the pool at the Galvez was wonderful and they also offer Free bikes!!
Also there was a $10 parking fee nightly; but, I really feel that this reasonable because parking is tight and there can be much traffic in the area especially when all of the cruise ships are on the scene.
Also the breakfast is on the 2nd floor and could use milk and cereal. Fruit would be nice as well. There was yogurt, raisin toast, buns, orange/apple juice. I did not see coffee either but maybe because it is offered in the room!!
It was all a nice mid-week night stay and we really enjoyed Galveston!!

Room Tip: Choose more at the end of the hallways preferably on the top floor (3rd). It is a very small hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Harbor House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad you were able to enjoy the pool at Hotel Galvez. Since this is a downtown location we charge $10 for overnight parking but that price is very reasonable compared to the other options nearby. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This place was great for what Galveston has to offer. It is very close to the Strand (1 block) but far enough off the beaten path that it is quiet. The staff was great and it is very clean and comfortable. The only thing that would have given it 5 stars would be a pool/jacuzzi or rooftop area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelintexas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House

Address: Pier 21, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor House Hotel resides in Galveston Wharf overlooking Galveston Bay. The Harbor House amenities feature spacious guest rooms with scenic harbor views, free Wi-Fi Internet access as well as complimentary breakfast. All Guest rooms are designed to reflect a relaxed ambiance, embellished with nautical-style furnishings and wooden floors. Enjoy nearby attractions, such as the Texas Seaport Museum, The Tall Ship Elissa, and The Great Storm Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Galveston
Harbor Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing