We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Scottish Inn to your Saves list
Scottish Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not fancy but a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owners of this place are very nice and accomodating. They are picky about who stays here so you will not find wild parties or loud neighbors being an issue. They are still recovering from "Ike" so everything is not pristine and there are no elevators which can be a problem for some. There are no services nearby so you either have to take a taxi or shuttle to get anywhere if you do not drive there. This a very basic hotel and fine for an overnighter before a cruise if you don't demand luxury. They let you leave your car if you are taking a cruise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Judith, hope you and your son had a safe trip back to Sunny San Diago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    4
    3
    12
See reviews for
41
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was really great the service was excellent and Sam had a vast knowledge of the local area and was really friendly, the rooms where clean and really comfortable beds.I had a great time and i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good time in Galveston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank You hiran for staying with us.We thank you for your view on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Hotel is right next to the ferry so we could take it when ever we wanted day or night, comfortable beds and The staff is very kind, Breakfast was Provided everyday. It is also a short walk from the beach. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you Bob for staying,realy appreciate the kind view of my motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been cruising out of Galveston since 2008, and every year we go back to the Red Carpet inn. The rooms aren't anything special but the service is exceptional. Sam remembers us even though it's only once a year. He always treats us as family not as guests, The best part is it's just down the road from the cruise terminal and we leave our car at the hotel for the week for free. And I know Sam keeps a very good eye on it. We will always stay at the Red Carpet inn when we cruise... looking forward to it this year. Going on a Christmas cruise in December.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again, and I thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is right off the water and is right next to a ferry crossing. The rooms were clean and didn't look run down at all. The price was amazing for the location. I slept great on the beds. The best part was the service. The person at the front desk was very kind, friendly and went out of his way to serve us. Most excellent.
I will recommend this place to friends and family when they head to Galveston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello Antonio, thank you for your review.Hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked this room for our first year anniversary and the service was excellent the people who ran this hotel were amazing! The hotel is older but it's a great value. I really enjoyed our trip! Thank you so much for being so nice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for staying with us hope that you come back soon,but this time bring the baby with you so you don't have to rush back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Red Carpet Inn is close to the ferry, and at about 3 miles from the cruise terminal. The staff is very kind. Rooms have average comfort but clean. It was a good value for my business trip, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your kind word's. I am sorry to make you come back, I am very electronics illiterate. Thank you for tolerating with my ignorance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;