We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scottish Inn to your Saves list
Scottish Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Enid, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I have been cruising out of Galveston since 2008, and every year we go back to the Red Carpet inn. The rooms aren't anything special but the service is exceptional. Sam remembers us even though it's only once a year. He always treats us as family not as guests, The best part is it's just down the road from the cruise terminal and we leave our car at the hotel for the week for free. And I know Sam keeps a very good eye on it. We will always stay at the Red Carpet inn when we cruise... looking forward to it this year. Going on a Christmas cruise in December.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again, and I thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
42
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is right off the water and is right next to a ferry crossing. The rooms were clean and didn't look run down at all. The price was amazing for the location. I slept great on the beds. The best part was the service. The person at the front desk was very kind, friendly and went out of his way to serve us. Most excellent.
I will recommend this place to friends and family when they head to Galveston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello Antonio, thank you for your review.Hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this room for our first year anniversary and the service was excellent the people who ran this hotel were amazing! The hotel is older but it's a great value. I really enjoyed our trip! Thank you so much for being so nice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank You for staying with us hope that you come back soon,but this time bring the baby with you so you don't have to rush back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Red Carpet Inn is close to the ferry, and at about 3 miles from the cruise terminal. The staff is very kind. Rooms have average comfort but clean. It was a good value for my business trip, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your kind word's. I am sorry to make you come back, I am very electronics illiterate. Thank you for tolerating with my ignorance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This family owned and run hotel is wonderful. It is located right by the ferry and the seawall so it's location is perfect. The best part about the hotel is the people running it. They go out of their way to be helpful. The security there is also a plus. They really look out for you. I did not expect to be this pleased. This was a welcome surprise. I would and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You for your kind review, hope you come to visit your Grand children soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Red Carpet in is the best. We called multiple places before arriving to Galveston on our cruise vacation and Red Carpet gave us the best price. Once we arrived we were very impressed with the service and friendly staff which offered to help bring our luggage to our room and asked to call their office if we needed anything else. The rooms are clean; area is much quit, it is next to the ferry and not very far away from the Galveston port and not far from the beautiful beach. The next morning the owner allowed us to leave our recreational vehicle in his gated parking lot and offered to give us a ride to the Galveston Port which is about three miles away. I highly recommend Red Carpet in in Galveston for their friendly service, cleanliness and willingness to accommodate. If I ever need to spend the night at Galveston Red carpet in will be the place where I stay for their friendliness, very nice rooms and wiliness to accommodate to our needs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank You for staying with us.You came in late,the least I could do was to drop you off.
Hope to see you again. Hope you had a wonderful Cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My stay here was great. The rooms are clean and the pool is awesome! It's well maintained. The location is also great as well since it's close to the ferry boats and beach. Sam, the owner, was very accomodating and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcarpetgalveston, Front Office Manager at Scottish Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank You Bina,for your kind word's.We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn

Address: 928 Ferry Road, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Inn is located at the ferry landing (walking distance to the ferry boats). It is about 3 miles from the Cruise Terminal and the Strand District. The Shriner Burn and U.T.M.B Hospitals are about 2 miles also. Stewart Beach is just over a mile.This is an owner operated buisness, built in 1984. Must be 24 year old to book a room or check in. Must have a valid credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scottish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Galveston
Red Carpet Inn Galveston
Galveston Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.