We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough for an overnight before our cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Nice enough for an overnight before our cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a large group going on a cruise (including some elderly relatives) so we needed a reasonably priced hotel to stay at before our cruise. We didn't need a place close to the beach nor did we want to pay the higher prices. This was a good choice. This hotel was right off the highway as we drove in from Houston- very easy to find.

We went to the beach for dinner and it took us less than 10 minutes to get to the strand. Moody Gardens was even closer.

Within walking distance of the hotel there were loads of shops (like Target) and fast food places. So anyone that wanted to go shopping for last minute supplies or even grab a snack could easily walk.

This is considered an "extended stay" hotel so there is no breakfast provided but there was free coffee both in the room and down stairs in the lobby area. Plus there was a full kitchen in each room so you could bring supplies for meals- or walk across the street to buy supplies.

It was clean and the staff was quite helpful.

Room Tip: I did hear motorcycles revving out by the traffic light- so if you're a light sleeper ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
24
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Decided to stay here for a couple of nights whilst in Galveston, but unfortunately due to the Oil Spill in the Bay the previous week the hotel was busy and was unable as a Platinum member to get an upgrade, the young lady informed me that the Big Corporations had rented all the rooms.
That aside the Hotel was not the cleanest in the public areas I have been in and the Candlewood Shop had very little in it. The fitness room was adequate, but the laundry room was quite small.
I am a regular Candlewood suite user and love them, but guess I got this one at a bad time. Loved Galveston as a Town and enjoyed visiting the attractions and riding down by the beach front. The hotel is in a nice quiet area so nice and peaceful for sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Yorkie1948,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Off The main beach front, Well worth it. No blowing sand, Very few Seagulls, VERY CLEAN,WONDERFULL STAFF & EXCEPTIONALY FRIENDLY. THIS island spot had it all. There is a good Diner cady corner , Not expensive on 61st street. THE MGR. WAS GREAT. Good shopping walking distance ! WE WILL STAY THERE MANY MORE TIMES...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved the way the staff at this place was sooooo caring and so genuinely sincere in their service. I stayed here for three days and these were the best days of my travel!!!!
I'd recommend every one to go to the candlewood suites!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were in Galveston to attend a Christmas concert and to visit with some old friends. The hotel was very nice. The room was a one bedroom with plenty of space. We enjoy Candlewood Suites because they have a full kitchen. Service was excellent. They welcomed our dogs as well. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in preparation for the 5150 triathlon in Galveston and found this property conveniently located. Nice rooms, efficient layout, all things working fine, friendly staff. Secure parking, good size pool and resting area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked 5 night stay through their central reservations. Wanted smoking room, ground floor, and we travel with a small dog. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) and overlooked the city dump. There were very few guests in the hotel. Asked for two extra pillows the next morning as the bed had three small, square, lumpy pillows and was told it was their "policy" to give only one. I asked for an ashtray and was asked if we didn't have ONE. Yes, but I want two. The trash in the room was full when we arrived. The bed was so close to the wall that one person had to crawl over. The recliner in the room was greasy and did not recline. Customer service is not a priority here! We checked out the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Carol T,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your stay. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to deliver an at par experience on this stay particularly with the condition of the room and if the quality of service was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is important to us as this will enable us to further improve on what we can offer.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.