We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, efficient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Galveston

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Texas City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in preparation for the 5150 triathlon in Galveston and found this property conveniently located. Nice rooms, efficient layout, all things working fine, friendly staff. Secure parking, good size pool and resting area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
18
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked 5 night stay through their central reservations. Wanted smoking room, ground floor, and we travel with a small dog. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) and overlooked the city dump. There were very few guests in the hotel. Asked for two extra pillows the next morning as the bed had three small, square, lumpy pillows and was told it was their "policy" to give only one. I asked for an ashtray and was asked if we didn't have ONE. Yes, but I want two. The trash in the room was full when we arrived. The bed was so close to the wall that one person had to crawl over. The recliner in the room was greasy and did not recline. Customer service is not a priority here! We checked out the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Carol T,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your stay. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to deliver an at par experience on this stay particularly with the condition of the room and if the quality of service was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is important to us as this will enable us to further improve on what we can offer.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently took a 3 day vacation to galveston island & stayed at Candlewood suites. Extremely satisfied with the quality of service here. Would like to mention that we reached a lot earlier than the normal checkin timings. Staff couteously helped us to get a room ready at the earliest possible.
I would surely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently took a 3 day getaway to Galveston Island. We stayed in the Candlewood Suites for the second time & were very happy, AGAIN!

The room was great, (having a full size refrigerator, two burner stove-top, & microwave is great for us! We cooked breakfast & lunch in the room to save money!!), the pool was great, (the hot tub wasn't working though!), the staff were great!!!

There is a grill & seating area that is available for hotel guests, (we didn't use it, but we checked it out), a "country cupboard" , (that has snacks & food for people to get for their rooms), & a computer room/wi-fi area down by the front desk.

They also have DVD's & video games for you to borrow &, (what I think), was coolest of all, there are two machines in the pool area that allow handicap patrons to use the pool & hot tub. To me this is awesome!!! I work at a Research & Rehab hospital in Houston & seeing these machines that allow disabled patrons to have access to the pool area is fantastic!

The location of this hotel is fine with no problem getting around, (I've read some reviews that say it's "way out of the way", which is untrue). You are a 10 minute drive down Broadway to The Seawall at Stewart Beach. Halfway down the Broadway drive, you turn left to get to The Strand, (10 minutes from hotel). And if you go up 61st Street, (5 minutes from hotel), you hit the Seawall further down, so you can work your way back down the Seawall to Pleasure Pier, The Convention Center, etc.

Overall, we were very happy, (Again!), & will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location:
The hotel is less than 2 miles from the main beach and the nightlife in town, but I have to say for 5,000 points per night during the Priority Club Points Break promotion, it was more than perfect and we were really happy to have been able to stay here.

The room:
The room was pretty good and had the normal extended stay amenities, like a two-stove top, dishwasher, kitchen utensils, a microwave and a large fridge, plus all necessary kitchen utensils, plates, etc. There is a Target right next door, so you can definitely save some money doing grocery shopping and cooking a few meals in the room. The only sort of problem we had with the room was with the A/C, which each time it was running, the room seem to get awfully cold in a hurry, so we had to tweak it constantly until we found a decent enough balance to keep the room comfortable.
This is an extended-stay hotel, so housekeeping does the rooms weekly for those staying longer than a week. If you need anything such as fresh towels, toiletries, etc., the hotel staff is happy to provide them for you.

The Incident:
There was a large family checking in early Sunday morning at around 2:00 a.m., and they did not seem to understand the concept of silence at night, and their kids kept running and screaming up and down the hallway for about 90 minutes after 2:00 a.m. The family had rented two or three rooms, and they were actually yelling to each other from across the hallway at the wee hours of the night. We had to call the hotel twice and the front desk night clerk seemed somewhat oblivious to what was going on, and sounded more annoyed about us calling her with the problem than with the actual problem itself. Either way, we met the hotel's GM on the way out and mentioned the incident to him and he was very receptive and apologetic about the whole thing, so in the end this didn't change our opinion of the hotel itself.

Other amenities:
The hotel rate includes free parking and internet access. The rooms also have DirecTV including HBO. There is also an outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as a small fitness center/laundry room. There is also a small store with some beverages and snacks for a charge.

For the 5,000 points per night we used, you can't beat a better hotel, and would definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms away from elevators to reduce foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed there one night on a short trip to the Texas coast. The tone was more or less set by a sign that greeted us at the door when we checked in. It read (I'm paraphrasing, but this is close...) "Attention guests: For security reason [sic], we do not accept cash payment for accommodation. At all. For any reason." Okay, an odd way to make a first impression with your customers, but I'm paying with a credit card, so whatever...

We checked into our room, and it was pretty nice, except... Roaches! There were two huge roaches on the floor in front of the kitchenette. One was dead, the other was close. I scooped them up in a paper towel and threw their little roach corpses out, only to find two more on the floor by the bed. Before our stay was over, I'd find another one in the bathroom, and one more in the closet.

One other thing that bothered me a little was the workmanship of the room. It looks like this place was built by a contractor in a hurry. Paint lines weren't straight. Tiles weren't even. Outlets were crooked. Not BAD, just sloppy. If it were my house, I'd have made them try again.

There is no free breakfast at the hotel. I actually don't mind that - I knew it when I booked the room. They did have a pantry area which offered free coffee, and sold cold drinks, snacks, and even some frozen dinners at decent prices. It looked neglected by the staff, though. It badly needed to be restocked. There were none of the advertised breakfast items to be found anywhere.

Before I end this review, I should say something nice... The pool is impressive. Very, very nice for a budget hotel. Hot tub, palm trees, clean water. It was obviously well cared for. If only the pool guy was in charge of pest control...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MookieB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hi there,

I stayed here before boarding a transatlantic cruise from Galveston, I found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very helpful. The rooms are well equipped and have in room wifi free, I managed to Facetime my family back home. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to large Target and other shops. I didn't get in the pool although again this looked all in great shape. I had a one bed suite and this was lots of room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.