We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Roaches!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed there one night on a short trip to the Texas coast. The tone was more or less set by a sign that greeted us at the door when we checked in. It read (I'm paraphrasing, but this is close...) "Attention guests: For security reason [sic], we do not accept cash payment for accommodation. At all. For any reason." Okay, an odd way to make a first impression with your customers, but I'm paying with a credit card, so whatever...

We checked into our room, and it was pretty nice, except... Roaches! There were two huge roaches on the floor in front of the kitchenette. One was dead, the other was close. I scooped them up in a paper towel and threw their little roach corpses out, only to find two more on the floor by the bed. Before our stay was over, I'd find another one in the bathroom, and one more in the closet.

One other thing that bothered me a little was the workmanship of the room. It looks like this place was built by a contractor in a hurry. Paint lines weren't straight. Tiles weren't even. Outlets were crooked. Not BAD, just sloppy. If it were my house, I'd have made them try again.

There is no free breakfast at the hotel. I actually don't mind that - I knew it when I booked the room. They did have a pantry area which offered free coffee, and sold cold drinks, snacks, and even some frozen dinners at decent prices. It looked neglected by the staff, though. It badly needed to be restocked. There were none of the advertised breakfast items to be found anywhere.

Before I end this review, I should say something nice... The pool is impressive. Very, very nice for a budget hotel. Hot tub, palm trees, clean water. It was obviously well cared for. If only the pool guy was in charge of pest control...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MookieB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
21
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hi there,

I stayed here before boarding a transatlantic cruise from Galveston, I found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very helpful. The rooms are well equipped and have in room wifi free, I managed to Facetime my family back home. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to large Target and other shops. I didn't get in the pool although again this looked all in great shape. I had a one bed suite and this was lots of room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I never need service! The room has everything! I liked the room because they had a kitchen inside the rooms to make your own breakfast. They have a very clean bathroom. Their pool was exiting and fun! They have a beautiful and smooth waterfall near the perfectly warm hot tub. The pool was widened perfectly. I liked the pool most and nothing least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was in town for work and stayed here for thirty days. The management, front desk, and house keeping made me feel at home. There was a issue with a electric receptacle not working when I contacted the front desk they told me somebody would be there to fix it with in a short time it was fixed and working great.Will stay here again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seiling
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed and linens. I needed to print off a receipt and there was a computer and printer with easy access. I printed I off my document at no extra charge. They have a pantry stocked with with a variety of good things including a snacks and microwave meal. You purchase on the honor system. The location was only minutes from the Cruise Terminal. We had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My room was on the backside of the property to get away from the noisy expressway (I-45). The trains started clanging into each other about 2:30 am. Then about 6:30 am someone upstairs started stomping around (it's a 3 story wooden construction property) and it was impossible to sleep. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mike N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the experience you had due to the outside noise and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the best personal attention during our stay. The room was great- fridge, microwave, stove. The staff is great. Laundry is free. Convenient onsite "snack-shop". Great stay for our family traveling with an infant. Convenient to beach with super target across the street. Walgreen and Cvs down the street. Manager gave us great attention after we checked out of another hotel with bad service. He called to our room to ensure it was to our liking. This will be our hotel for every stay in Galveston. You will not be disappointed with this stay. Clean rooms, convenient, friendly and knowledgable staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.