We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Dang Noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Galveston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Too Dang Noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My room was on the backside of the property to get away from the noisy expressway (I-45). The trains started clanging into each other about 2:30 am. Then about 6:30 am someone upstairs started stomping around (it's a 3 story wooden construction property) and it was impossible to sleep. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mike N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the experience you had due to the outside noise and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
20
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the best personal attention during our stay. The room was great- fridge, microwave, stove. The staff is great. Laundry is free. Convenient onsite "snack-shop". Great stay for our family traveling with an infant. Convenient to beach with super target across the street. Walgreen and Cvs down the street. Manager gave us great attention after we checked out of another hotel with bad service. He called to our room to ensure it was to our liking. This will be our hotel for every stay in Galveston. You will not be disappointed with this stay. Clean rooms, convenient, friendly and knowledgable staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The atmosphere is like a small community; the front desk looks after their guest. I always felt safe and never had to worry about my car being stolen or broken into. The little “store/pantry” works on the honor system and nicely stocked (Tzo teas and small selection of frozen foods to name a few) and offers free coffee throughout the day. Hotel also has free washers and dryers and a fitness room. Suites have a modern kitchen with microwave and dishwasher and nicely stocked with pots and pans. I was happy to see the hotel subscribes to Direct TV. The pictures on the web site are very accurate. Since the hotel is an extended stay hotel housekeeping only came around once a week, but any time I needed fresh towels or sheets all I had to do was exchange the used linens and I was given fresh linens. Swimming pool was always very clean and so was the heated Jacuzzi. The hotel is steps away from Target, Pier 1 and a bank with ATM. My family and I will most definitely be visiting Galveston Island again and will stay at Candlewood Suites. Ali and the staff were most friendly and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a view of the highway unless you want a view of the City of Galveston recycling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first 'try' of Candlewood Suites on our 8 week road trip from Scotland to USA.We are timeshare owners and used with the 'at home' style and standards that Diamond Resorts give us.We were really impressed with Candlewood at Galveston- when we arrived , our room was next to a barking dog- not for us on a four night stay! The Operations Manager Akbar Ali Mukhida had no hesitation in changing our room.What a very professional and pleasant man- nothing was a problem to him on our stay- an asset to say the least at Candlewood.With quality spacious rooms with full kitchens and complimentary laundry,parking,fast wi fi and daily newspaper,we went ahead and booked Candlewood Dallas,San Antonio and El Paso as part of our Texas road trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When searching for a Pet Friendly hotel traveling with our Chocolate Lab, we were continually directed to La Quinta Inn on the web. After some reviews regarding roaches, we canceled and looked at the alternative. Candlewood Suites were pet friendly with a non-refundable pet fee of $75. We calculated it by the day and it was very reasonable for what we were about to be pleasantly surprised of the amenities that this hotel had to offer.

The room was equipped with a full sized refrigerator with ice maker, large new GE microwave, dishwasher, and 2 burner stove top. The cookware was commercial quality and being a chef and in the hospitality business my whole life, I was pleased.

The Operations Manager Ali, was all about customer service protocol. I am a very critical traveler because I am in the business. He was attentive, had good relationships with his staff who were very courteous and respectful. The goal of making a person feel like they are at home away from home was certainly achieved with this visit. My friend who has a temporary assignment in Galveston at UTMB decided to stay at Candlewood rather than another competitor. The kitchen offers so much more opportunity to eat healthy, make your lunch and dinner and not have to eat out all the time. When you travel a lot, eating out gets old.

The other great surprise is that they offer free laundry services with commercial washers and dryers.

The fitness room has high grade equipment.

Oh, did I mention the pillow top mattresses and high quality bedding and towels.

The location is great as it is close to everything but not so much in the middle that you can't have your space.

Free daily papers. Pool. New flat screen TV's. DVD loan library and gas grill outside. And there is even a toaster oven upon request.

Wow, it has been a great stay. I honestly could live here for a long term assignment and be very happy.

At Candlewood, you really feel special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on three separate occasions for numerous days during each stay. We have a small daschund, who is very well behaved. But, very few good hotels will allow pets. We made the mistake of staying in three other hotels and cottages before finding Candlewood Suites. We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Galveston, whether or not we have our pet with us.
The staff is very caring and responsive. The manager, Ali, is very accommodating, regardless of our requests. Ali truly wants the guests to feel welcome and to enjoy their stay. He is extremely interested in pleasing the guests, so that they will enjoy their stay and return to the Candlewood Suites.
We highly recommend the Candlewood Suites in Galveston.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was so stressed out with my home conditions, with work and kids it"s alot to handle. So i decided to take a trip with a couple of friends of mine, we dicided to go to Galveston Island for the weekend. My friend was suppose to book the room but somehow slipped her mind. so we stoped at a hotel candel wood and they were nice enough to give us a room on such short notice. the staff was very nice and help full the young lady at the front desk (Rita) was from the island so she was very knowledgeable about the atractions there, she recomended lots of nice places to eat and a few spas, also some really nice night spots. The hotel was very clean and staff was great they only inconvenience was that the freezer was down, but luckly there was a target located right across the street. So it was not a big issue and thier store room still offered alot of other snacking items like ice cream! All in all my friends and I had a wonderful time and we will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from traffic noise, but the front rooms have the most sun coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.