We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Galveston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed just one night with my wife and 2 kids and could have not been more pleased. The location is easy to find and there are many stores and restaurants nearby. Check-in was a breeze, even though we arrived an hour before check-in time. The hotel had an overall appearance of cleanliness and the staff was polite. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The air conditioner works great. We never had a problem with it being too warm in our room. The pool was clean, although not fancy at all. My kids loved it!

When I return to Galveston, I will probably stay here again. Even though it is not on the beach, its location is convienent and nothing is more than 15 minutes away. Who wants to look at the brown water of the Gulf of Mexico anyway?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
22
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have never stayed at a Candlewood Suites before but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was wonderful. I loved the full kitchen, it came in very handy! The staff was wonderful and the construction crew that have been staying there (aka "the thugs") were awesome as well. They helped us in choosing some great local places for good burgers! We usually stay on the Seawall but I believe that I will book here again the next time we come. I also loved the extra little family of 4 that show themselves to very few... that was another one of the highlights of my stay! Great and friendly staff!!!!! I had a blast here!
Connie Ivy
Forney, TX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here a week. The manager and staff were very helpful and nice. Price was good because of the #of days we stayed. Missed not being on the beach but is close. If you stay for a period of time you don't have daily room service. They will give you what ever you need though, if you ask.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed here twice, and the second time around was better since they with their new Manager,GREAT inside, the room is very nice and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on, it's one of those new special mattresses. Good variety of fitness room equipment. Swinmming pool and hot tub was good and prices very reasonable for hotel fare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The weekend before the 4th of July, my wife and her sister’s family went down to the coast to try and catch some sunshine. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night at the Candlewood, and were quite pleased with the stay. There’s a pool, which seems rare for the brand. The deck is a good size for the hotel, and there’s a hot tub, too. The staff, especially Ashley, was friendly and made excellent dining recommendations. Proximity to Target (across the street), the freeway, the Strand (downtown) was a bonus. The beach was less than a 10 minute drive. Bronco Burrito is just a minute down the street and has must try breakfast burritos. We loved the convenience of the full kitchen to premake drinks to take to the beach. Only drawback is that there was no ice machine and the freezer in the room lacked a hyper-ice-creation setting. Rooms had window AC unit, but it was controlled by an in-wall thermostat. All in all, a great weekend base for the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights for a beach vacation. I loved having a kitchen to prepare meals and save money on dining out. The Target across the street was great for picking up groceries. The rooms were clean, though a little small. We had a DVD player in the living area and borrowed movies from the front desk. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaints were, the silverware in the room wasn't very clean. I rewashed them before we used them. The Wifi was weak in our room, but they had a computer near the lobby for guest use. We also smelled cigarette smoke on occasion even though our room was non-smoking. I think some of the other rooms on our floor (3rd) were smoking rooms. You do have to drive to the beach, but it's not far and there is parking on the seawall. I enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Candlewood Suites is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms, a kitchenette, gym and a convenience store.

The negative things of this hotel is that for 2 adults, the bed is somewhat small and more importantly, the parking lot and the pool area outside has too many MOSQUITOS which can turn a beautiful evening outside into a nightmare.
Mosquitos attacked my wife and I as well as my puppy. Every time i walked our puppy, i can see him dancing because of the mosquitos around the hotel.
It made outside very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: bring your insect repellent, mosquitos everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Bevon,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found our hotel pleasing. Your comments about the Mosquito's have been shared with the appropriate departments.

I hope you can stay with us again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Galveston

Address: 808 61st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.