We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat old drugstore, average expensive food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Drug Store

Star Drug Store
510 23rd St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1906
409-766-7719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Neat old drugstore, average expensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved looking thru the old store, did not love the food. I had a hamburger, the meat patty was premade and greasy...and they do not have french fries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love that Reuben!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love coming down to Star Drug Store for the awesome Reuben sandwiches and yummy soup, potato salad, and desserts!! This place is definately worth paying a visit to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channelview, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Eggs Benedict, tomato basil soup with actual tomatoes in it, the "Rachel". It all was good! The Halloween decorations were cute!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, reasonably priced "stuff" to browse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited here at lunch time - the food was great and it was interesting to see how the cabinets could be raised out of the way to protect items from hurricane damage.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Huh?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

How is this reviewed so high? I walked in and a nice older gentleman said brunch? Yeah so I sit at the counter area. And wait. Now it's about 1pm time I make it for brunch and not too crowded at all. Several people working behind the counter there. No acknowledgement. So a random waitress walks up beside me and asks if I'm ready to order after about 10 minutes of me smiling and kinda waiving at the folks behind the counter. I order coffee, water, 2 eggs, bacon, pancake, grits. So sit for another 10 minutes. No drinks. Finally 1 of the guys behind the counter(literally less than a foot away from me lol) says hey did you want to order something? So I give him my song/dance and say I would really like my drinks before the food comes and he gets my coffee and water.

So food comes out piecemeal. First, I get a pancake. If you cook, most know that 1st pancake you make from your batter usually doesn't come out the best so you go on to your next one but naw that's the one I got. So tough couldn't even cut it and dry dry. So about 3 minutes later the rest of breakfast showed. Couldn't even try to drown the pancake in syrup because no one had brought me any. Just tossed the pancake in front of me and quickly walked away. Bacon hard as rocks. I really think it had been sitting back there for a while. You can see them cooking back there and I didn't see anybody cooking bacon after I ordered. Most folks were ordering lunch items. Grits were worse than mine and I'm not the best cook to put it mildy. Eggs were actually good and made soft scramble as requested. No one asked how the food was for about 15 minutes. After that, the place cleared out and now EVERY server in there is asking if I need a refill or if I'm doing ok. Maybe they noticed the unhappy look on my face by now or realized their tip was in jeopardy. I don't know.
So you check out at front. 10 buck breakfast. Same price as IHOP and you know what you are getting into there at least. Gentleman asked me how everything was. I told him basically what I wrote here. Eggs only thing that was good and got a 'oh well have a good day now'. Huh?
Go elsewhere. Cute atmosphere but food not even decent

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Drug Store also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Star Drug Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Drug Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.