We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss this area of town.... Great old artitecture and fun shopping,dining,and bars.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand

The Strand
2100 Strand, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Strand like an insider
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Houston Sightseeing Tour and Galveston Day Trip
Ranked #8 of 88 things to do in Galveston
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lively strip in the heart of historic Galveston feautures pubs, delis and specialty shops.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Dont miss this area of town.... Great old artitecture and fun shopping,dining,and bars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This area of town is all that you want it to be. Great old architecture, a few cute restaurants, some great local bars, and prefect little beach town shops. And the best of all is you can walk the streets while carrying a drink! So your on vacation go shopping with an adult beverage you can buy on the street!!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    352
    168
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a truly fascinating shopping area! No matter what you are searching for you will find it on The Strand. We spent a morning here, stopped for a bite to eat, then back for 3 more hours of shopping and visiting with the locals. What a wonderful experience! Atmosphere is very laid back - no one is in a hurry. Very refreshing. You will find antiques, jewelry, tee shirts, cafes, old fashioned convenience store shops and even a year round Christmas Shop. Such a lovely, quaint, and remarkable place. You can't truly say you have been to Galveston unless you've been to the Strand! Great, great experience!!

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The only interesting thing about this place was the historic architecture. The shops were boring and there was too many food establishments. I paid for parking on the street which seemed expensive. Especially when they don't tell you how much it will be until the end. I did enjoy the old buildings though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We enjoyed walking around shopping and eating. Fun time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disapointed, nothing great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We (2 families with teens) went on a weeknight in mid August after 6pm so the better shops were already closed. All that was open were t-shirt shops with WAY overpriced stuff. Then some of the buildings were vacant too and there was hardly anybody walking around, there was no "atmosphere" there at all, almost seemed abandoned. Granted I'm a 50 year old guy that is not that into shopping but my wife didn't think much of the place either. Maybe Ike damaged the place so its not the same but I don't know why anyone would want to go there. Feel free to check it out if you are in the area but I sure wouldn't make a special trip to see it though, I really expected more. Maybe its really hopping if a cruise ship is in port but it was dead the night we were there. I'm really not the complaining type but I just have to be honest and report what I saw.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.