We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just stayed here again over the 4th of July and had a great time. The rooms have just been renovated and updated. The staff was extremely friendly from the bellman to the security people I worked with when I thought I lost my Wallet (fell out of my purse in the car). Even the valet helped me search my car for the wallet. Great location away from the Seawall but did not miss the beach because you get a free pass to Palm Beach (waterpark with sand) which is much better than the beach, no seaweed and waiters. Highly recommend this hotel for families as there are a lot of organized activities for kids which enable both parents and kids have a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear TheaTX,

We are so glad that you chose to spend the 4th of July at Moody Gardens. We are delighted to hear that you and your family liked our newly renovated rooms and found our staff friendly and helpful. We love to welcome children to the hotel and I am glad that you and your family enjoyed Palm Beach and the Kids Crew Activities.

We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens for many more getaways and vacations!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    265
    90
    59
    27
See reviews for
326
147
12
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Clean, updated, family friendly hotel. They have adult/children time done perfectly. Everyone greets you with a smile and they are very accommodating. Lovely rooms and big bathrooms, we loved the pool bar and Palm Beach!! Anthony at the front desk was so nice! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Txnewslady,

Thank you for the nice comments. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool bar and Palm Beach.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I love this hotel! It is very clean and the new renovations are beautiful. The staff is extremely friendly. It makes a wonderful one stop spot for a family vacation. One stop to many attractions for adults and kids so everyone is happy. A great vacation really close to home. This is our fourth time here and we still love it. Highly recommend it for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear 4EZ,

Thank you so much for the nice review. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the new rooms and found our staff friendly. We are delighted that you and your family continue to select Moody Gardens as a repeat vacation spot.

Thank you for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The place, rooms, staff, pool, property, and service was fantastic. The staff from top to bottom was excellent. The food was ok at best. Stay there, play there, swim there, visit the pyramids, and eat somewhere else or bring back carry out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Once_in_a_while_Sa,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. We are pleased to hear that you found Moody Gardens and the staff fantastic.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This resort is very clean and everyone was nice but, my room was in a horrible spot at the hotel. I was on the 6th floor in a corner. To get from the parking area to my room was a task in itself. If I ever plan on going to Galveston again, and I was booked in one of these rooms, I would seek elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

As an executive I have stayed in many four-star hotels, but this is truly a remarkable place to stay. I have never had anyone go so far out of the way to make me feel welcome I will stay at the Moody Gardens every single time I come here it is a wonderful place and I couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jim Y,

Thank you so much for the nice comments about our hotel and staff! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything during your stay.

We would love to chance to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great stay for a family. The resort has something for everyone from the water-park for the children to the swim-up bar for the adults. The rooms are recently renovated-really lovely decor. Nearly every room has a view of something. You really get into "vacation mode" quickly. The staff is very helpful (though I'd suggest a tour of the hotel for new-hires as a front desk clerk sent me 180 in the wrong direction). Bring ear-plugs. It's not a place for romance...the walls are paper-thin. I could hear the guy in the next room unzip his pants. The next night a baby cried non-stop despite the parents and three other children's efforts to quiet her (yes, without ever seeing them, you will know who all the folk are in the room next to you). If you have a family and want a full-service resort, this is the perfect spot in Galveston.

Room Tip: Ask if it's possible to be in a room with no one to either side of you. If the occupancy is low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear AlegriaTequila,

Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for you being sent in the wrong direction. Thank you for the feedback I have passed it on to the Front Desk Manager to prevent this from occurring again.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Moody Gardens very soon for another visit.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.