We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgetown
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was here for a 2 day conference and had a enjoyable stay. This property has recently had a major upgrade since I was here 3 years ago. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. We were in the far tower, so it was a bit of a hike to the pool, but overall not bad. Of course, there were no kids around as school is in session, so the ice cream shop and other amenities weren't open. Had great seafood at Guidos and Willie G's. Also, try the Original Mexican if you're hungry for great Tex-Mex.

Only complaint.... the water in the outdoor pool was too warm! It was more like a hot tub then a pool. The water was actually warmer than the temp outside, so we didn't get to enjoy that.... must have already turned the pool heater on.

Overall, great hotel and I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear mickir,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get to enjoy the pool. I did verify that the heater has not been turned on yet. Summer temperatures can keep the water extremely warm sometimes. We appreciate your kind words and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    259
    88
    58
    27
See reviews for
323
142
11
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the newly remodeled Moody Gardens Hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor, the room was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable. ( im getting one for our room at home) We had the best time in Galveston. We spent the day on the Strand and had a great time. The restaurant at the hotel is closed at this time, remodeling. It's supposed to be one of the better ones on the island. Staff was all very friendly. We went to the Aquarium at Moody and had a lot of fun just looking at all the different kinds of marine life. I would recommend this hotel to couples and of course families with kids. Will be back!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are renovated, so any should be good. 8th floor with great views of bay and attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear karycrystal ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Moody Gardens to celebrate your anniversary and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly, enjoyed your room and felt the bed was comfortable (we recently updated the mattresses to the Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses). It’s great to hear that you had fun exploring the Aquarium Pyramid. I was disappointed to read that due to renovations you were unable to dine at Shearn’s Seafood and Prime Steaks due to it being closed for renovations. Shearn’s did re-open Friday, September 6th. On your next visit to Galveston we hope you will be able to dine at Shearn’s. Shearn’s is one of only 11 Houston/Galveston area restaurants to receive AAA’s Four Diamond Award of Excellence and has done so each year since 2004.

We appreciate your feedback and recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently held a conference at Moody Gardens. My group received high quality service from hotel staff. Food, meeting rooms, audio visual assistance and equipment were all very good! Staff is friendly and helpful! The recently renovated sleeping room I stayed in was well appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. I slept like a baby which does not happen often for me in a hotel. The hotel gym is also well-equipped, nice and spacious.

Room Tip: I am unable to provide feedback on the spa since I did not make it there on this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Leesa T,

Thank you for choosing to hold your conference at Moody Gardens and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and the food, meeting rooms and AVW equipment very good. It’s great to hear you found our newly renovated fitness center to be well-equipped, nice and spacious. I’m thrilled to hear that you slept like a baby, we recently updated our beds to Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses and have received fantastic reviews.

Please keep us in mind for future events of any size. We have 100,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a 60,000 foot exhibit hall that is ballroom quality. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

42 members of my family gather every year for our annual NANI'S FAMILY FUN FEST! This year we chose MOODY GARDENS in GALVESTON, TEXAS for this event...it also happened to be "NANI'S 80th BIRTHDAY" so we wanted the reunion to be "extra special". Mike Boles at Moody Gardens put together a wonderful experience for our family...the rooms were great and the 1 bedroom suite was perfect for a "gathering" place for the entire group. The diversity and wealth of activities that both Moody Gardens and Galveston offered ensure that there was something for everyone to enjoy...in fact too much to enjoy! We'll have to book a "follow up" so that we can enjoy those things there was simply not enough time to do. THANK YOU MOODY GARDENS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Debehahn,

We truly appreciate your wonderful review and for choosing Moody Gardens to celebrate NANI’S FAMILY FUN FEST.

We are very pleased to read Mike Boles and our staff made it a memorable experience for your family, and we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, its amenities and service from staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great service,very friendly staff, room better than expected. A good place for a weekend close to home. Just park your car and relax or enjoy the amenities with the kids. Rest. food is adequate for value. Property is clean and well keep.
The palm beach nearby, provided a lot of fun for children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Pedro G,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to hear that our guests enjoy the service they receive. I hope you'll choose Moody Gardens the next time you want to get away for fun and relaxation. Keep us in mind this holiday season, when our annual Festival of Lights transforms Moody Gardens into a winter wonderland. In addition to the Festival of Lights, our Kid’s Crew has great Santa’s Workshop activities planned during the holidays. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was awesome the time spent at the resort this past weekend after a bad few months when my wife almost died due to an accident. Our vacation helped a lot with the recovery. Thanks food excellent, palm beach awesome too, everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear PAPITO2528 ,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay at Moody Gardens. I am glad to hear that your stay with us was awesome and helped with your wife’s recovery. Best wishes for her continued recovery. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel for a Pre-cruise weekend on Hotwire. We definetly got a great deal. This hotel was amazing . The rooms were updated and the beds were so comfortable. We had two adults and three kids so they gave us a twin rollaway. We ate all meals at the restraunt and we got one free child meal per adult meal, which was an added bonus and the food was delicious. The pool was fun and they had activities like face painting, balloon animals, s'more's, a jumper, a playground, crafts and a penguin mascot walking around, and they gave the kids a bag with stickers, and a few other items too. We also received free passes to palm beach, which was really fun. We went to a few attractions at moody gardens which is on the premises, we really enjoyed the aquarium, it had a lot more than I expected. The customer service was good, but I felt they could have promoted all the activities more. We didn't know about the fireworks until after our visit. I would highly recommend this hotel , it would be a great weekend getaway, we never left the premises until it was time to leave for our cruise. We only wish we lived in Texas so we could o back again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Mommitry,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Moody Gardens on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the Terrace restaurant and our kids eat free special. I am thrilled to know your children enjoyed our Kid’s Crew activities and Palm Beach. I am disappointed to hear that you did not hear about the fireworks before they started, I will share your feedback with the Front Desk Manager to prevent this from occurring in the future. Please accept my apologies on behalf of all of us at Moody Gardens. We appreciate your kind words and feedback. If you get a chance to return to Galveston we would love to welcome you back to Moody Gardens.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.