We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moody Gardents Hotel Complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights SAVE 20%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Moody Gardents Hotel Complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was recently a guest in this hotel while my granddaughter was attending a dance convention. Our room was comfortable and spacious, but did not look much like the photos on the hotel website. There is a lot to do very near the hotel. Shuttles are available and we seldom had to wait for a ride. A man-made beach and water park was nearby which was included in the price of the room. The room had a refrigerator. We took advantage of several of the free things including a ride on a paddleboat. I did feel like the rate was a little steep, but was unable to find a hotel for less in the area for the time we needed to be there. Our floor was a bit noisy at times because of the teenage dancers coming and going at all hours of the day and night. They laughed and were pretty loud. The staff was extremely helpful in every way. Overall, it was a good experience and we had a very good time.

Room Tip: Request room with view of Galveston Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens and were able to visit the Moody Gardens attractions. I was concerned to hear that you had issues with noise during your stay, I will be sharing this with our staff to prevent this from occurring in the future. Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope you will be back to visit Moody Gardens soon.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    169
    64
    49
    22
See reviews for
213
89
11
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I happened to notice the posters in the lobby and see a newly renovated room. The difference is striking. I tried to change rooms during our 5 night stay and was told they could not give me a new room. Sandy, the manager, offered no apology or compensation. She just said "to think of the other guests as not paying more than me"!!!!! What?!???

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us and I sincerely apologize for our inability to make a room change during your stay. After checking with our Front Office Managers, they informed me that your stay was with the Showstopper competition block which all had multiple night stays and all requiring rooms with two queen beds. Over those dates, there was no renovated room available to move you. While we are very pleased with the newly remodeled rooms, we do not believe our existing rooms are lacking in any regard please know that your room assignment was not made because of rate or method of reservation. It was simply a matter of accommodating the entire block of rooms for the group with the inventory available. We would love to welcome you back to Moody Gardens Hotel and please contact me personally before you book your next visit and I will make sure you get one of the remodeled rooms and a great view.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I will start off by saying that we paid a higher room rate because of the water park entry was included for all members of our family. We felt that added value to the price of the room.

Room - super nice, had just been remodeled. The staff was also very nice at the front desk and the restaurants. For just a room - too pricey.

Water Park - one of the worst I had ever been to. Super crowded, really dirty and needed a renovation. One of the things they talk about is the beautiful sand beach with sand from FL. Have to say that that ended up being the biggest joke. The sand was dirty, very little of it and it didn't touch the water. There is a retention wall and rocks between the sand and the water - I don't really consider that a beach.

Overall - I would stay somewhere else with the ability to walk to the pier and the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read your kind remarks about the hotel and our associates, I was concerned over the condition of our water park, Palm Beach. We normally get high praise from guests visiting Palm Beach, especially those with children who are a bit younger than those who might prefer Schlitterbahn. There is, however, no reason for the beach and facilities to be poorly maintained and please know that I personally shared your comments with the managers there so that they can be more diligent in maintaining the area at all times.

I also noted from your comments that we need to do a better job at explaining our amenities at Palm Beach better. It is not intended to be a substitute for the gulf beach but it does offer a more diverse water experience with fresh water wave pool, lazy river and play areas that can be a refreshing alternative and complement to the gulf. That being said, we will work harder to make sure it is better maintained, especially during busy times.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Galveston, and the Moody Garden Hotel made it memorable. The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was professional and attentive. We enjoyed the on-site pool, beach, and rainforest. The restaurant and Starbucks were nice amenities. We recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is for every guest to feel cared for, valued and respected. We are pleased to hear when we have met or exceed our goal. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our 4th or 5th visit - this time for a dance competition. We stayed in a Gulf View Suite. We will keep coming back, but here are my observations:

Pros:

- The service was friendly. This seems to be trending upward over the last few years.
- Although the hotel was crowded, it was never unbearable. Again, the staff does a good job.
- Lots to do for families.
- The pool is a nice blend of kid friendly and adult friendly. Food and bar service is pretty good if a little slow at times.
- Complimentary access to Palm Beach.
- Location is perfect if you want to go to Schlitterbahn.
- Room service was quick and good.

Cons:

- Towels by the pool. You have to keep track of 'towel cards' the whole time which you exchange for towels. Mildly annoying, and part of what keeps this from being a 4 or 5 star resort.
- No discounts for the Moody Gardens pyramids.
- Rooms are in need of an update - which I think is underway.
- TV's: The most irritating remotes I can imagine.
- Phone systems seem to be 20 years behind the times. Tip: just dial 0 for the operator when none of the buttons work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent visit to Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read your kind remarks about the hotel and our associates. I apologize for the challenges you had with the remote, as part of our renovations the TVs are being replaced. Your pros and cons are appreciated, I have passed your comments on to each department manager so we can continue to offer great customer service and provide pleasurable memories for all of our valued guests. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Galveston, be sure to mention you would like a "new" room when you make your reservation so you can see the changes that we are making.

Sincerely,
Garvin O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The place is awesome. The hotel is very nice and clean. There's so many places to go. The activities for the kids are endless, from fossil excavation to night time s'mores by the pool. I recommend this place especially if you have little ones.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Maria - Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. The overriding goal at Moody Gardens is to provide excellent service and memories for you and your family. From the Kids Crew activities to Bands in the Sand there is always something for families and couples to do while staying at Moody Gardens. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Garvin O'Neil, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great comfortable room with a great view of the pyramids. The have a ton of activities for the kiddos! Their beach is pretty nice, too. Free admission.
Con: A bit pricey and I didn't have the feel that I was in Galveston. The location is not in the seawall. So, you're away from all the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoodyGardensHotel, General Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. We love hearing that our guests and their families enjoy Palm Beach and our Kids Crew activities, plus the extra bonus that these activities are included with your stay at Moody Gardens. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Garvin O'Neil, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.