We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Visit; For the Short Time There, It Was Fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights SAVE 20%
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Dallas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First Time Visit; For the Short Time There, It Was Fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed on the island for only one night. The hotel was very nice, however, I was pleased to see the rooms were to be upgraded soon. We did notice all of the metal (door hinges, etc.) was rusty and tarnished and made it look like the hotel was slightly run down. It really isn't and the remodel should refresh everything. We had drinks twice on the 9th floor at Shearn's Bar. In the late afternoon, the view was nice, service was fine and the drinks were good. We came back after dinner to listen to the piano player and enjoyed the wrap-up to a long day. We didn't eat at a restaurant in the hotel, however, we did get room service for breakfast. All in all, it was a pretty nice visit. All of the staff we encountered were very supportive and friendly. We would return.

Room Tip: Upper floors at least have some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that even during our major renovation you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. I have passed along your feedback to our entire staff. Our sunsets at Moody Gardens are beautiful and Shearn’s has a magnificent view, not to mention the best steaks on the island.

We have many fun activities planned for the summer, including Bands in the Sand every weekend. We hope to see you again soon to enjoy all that Moody Gardens has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    169
    63
    49
    22
See reviews for
211
89
11
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckypeekn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

AttAttending a convention and loved every minute of it. The banquet halls are large but without losing intimacy. The service staff was great. There was never an empty plate or glass the whole time I was there. Facilities for speeches or training were very nice as well.
I was able to get a pedicure and massage at the space and had a great experience with both!

Room Tip: Would recommend an odd numbered room so that you can overlook the Moody Garden pyramids and the Gulf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our convention center and that you were able to treat yourself to a pedicure and massage at the Spa. Along with our rooms, the spa is undergoing renovations. All of us are very excited to unveil the new Spa and we would love to have you back to experience all the changes. I have passed along your comments to our spa and convention center staff.

We do hope you will keep Moody Gardens in mind for your future travels should they bring you back to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were in Galveston for the Herman Miller Ironman competition. The hotel was the race site and was wonderful for families and spectators could watch the race and grab lunch or sit at the pool in between events. the pool was fabulous and heated which was great since the first day was kind of cool. The shallow end was great for little kids since it was only 3 ft deep. The hotel also had tons of activities for the kids including bounce house ; ) We ate at the hotel restaurant every day and the food was great. We ordered room service when the wait was too long in the buffet restaurant. Everyone was very nice. And the room we had was a King with a sleeper sofa. perfect for our family. we also took a morning drive down to the Preserve part of the beach. Its $5 per adult and well worth it because it is very private! the kids loved chasing the waves and birds. Our room was recently updated and we loved it!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the pyramids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay at Moody Gardens during the Ironman competition. Our heated pool is a guest favorite and I am so glad you were able to enjoy it. We love hearing that our younger guests have fun with our Kids Crew activities and bounce house. All of us at Moody Gardens are proud of the renovations under way and to hear that you enjoyed our new King room with a sleeper sofa makes our day. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I have shared them with all of our associates.

We have many fun activities planned this summer so please keep us in mind for a return trip. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

During our hotel stay for a convention that was three days long it was a bit boring. Even though the hotel was booked, we stayed at the north tower, there was no one in site down the hallways which seemed odd. The view of the pyramids was great from our room which were spacious and bed comfortable. We ate at their restaurant once for dinner the first night and that was over priced and not good. The breakfast buffet did not include pancakes or waffles and some food was not hot. The pyramids are suitable for someone with children who wants to see rainforest, aquarium etc.

Room Tip: Too complicated to get to the north tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Moody Gardens. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly upgraded Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses. The pyramid view is beautiful to behold, it happens to be our most requested view. I was disappointed to read about your experience at the restaurant, I have shared your comments with Chef Urs, our executive chef, he takes all feedback seriously to ensure the food quality is of the high standards we strive to provide to our guest.

We would love to have you come back during the summer, we have many great events planned – our Palm Beach attraction opens May 11 and starting June 8, every Friday and Saturday we have Bands on the Sand complete with fireworks, both are free to guests. We appreciate your comments and would love to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in room 448. It was newly redecorated and beautiful. Clean, modern, yet warm and comforting decor. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to adjust temp to our liking. No real view, just overlooking the waterpark. TV channel selection was good, but in room movies were pricey. Room 448 is at the end of the hall so no noise issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our newly redecorated rooms. As part of the renovations we updated our beds to Sealy Plush Euro Pillow top mattresses. We are receiving fantastic reviews about the renovations and beds. I have passed along your feedback to our entire staff. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We decided to take advantage a a room special Moody was offering this past Easter weekend and also reserved Easter buffet in the ballroom. It had been two years since I visited the hotel and I was hoping the service had improved and the rooms had been updated, and that the food quality hadn't suffered. It was an amazing weekend. We arrived late Good Friday evening and check in was prompt and easy. We were given a updated room on the 5th floor and it was very nice, great beds and linens and bathroom totally updated. A cheese and fruit tray with wine was also waiting for us and it was tasty and the wine very good. We ate off property first evening and when we returned from dinner we slept wonderfully in the comfy beds. We ate a the garden resturant the next morning, which was somewhat lacking in a breakfast buffet. Most of the items on the buffet were not even hot. Took a long time to get seated too. After breakfast we did the tours and they were alot of fun and interesting. Then we did the pool for several hours which was great, followed by a trip to papa's pizza ( best outside of Florida I think) and an hour on the beach. The next morning was check out and the Easter buffet. Has got to be one of the best brunch buffet's I have had in a very long time. Presentation beautiful. Decorations stunning. Service impeccable. Food was so very good. Cannot wait to go back for Mother's Day.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your Easter Weekend stay at Moody Gardens. We are excited for all of our guests to see all of the planned renovations. I was pleased to read you enjoyed one of our newly renovated room and the Easter Buffet. Chef Urs, has been with Moody Gardens since we opened and he truly has a gift with food. He oversees even the smallest details! While I was pleased to read about how much you enjoyed your stay, I was disappointed to read about the shortcomings you had at the Terrace Restaurant. On behalf of all of us here at Moody Gardens, please accept my sincere apologies. I have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage to ensure we provide positive memorable experiences.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward seeing you back at Moody Gardens Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Positive: it had a nice lobby. And it had good food. I was there for a reunion and the meeting rooms were very nice. Also, as is typical of Texans, the staff was friendly.
Negative: The TV never worked even after 3 calls.

Room Tip: Get working TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for such kind words about our friendly staff! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Moody Gardens. On behalf of all of our associates, I apologize for the inconvenience with your TV. Moody Gardens is a great destination location so keep us in mind for your future travels - whether business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel
Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.