We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for families, pina colada for mom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort credit
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome for families, pina colada for mom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great trip. I think this hotel will look great when the reno is done. My teens were not impressed with the 90's decor. Our room was clean and spacious, and didn't feel like your typical beach hotel. There are so many beautiful botanical areas. The pool area is pretty great too. I believe they have a kids camp, but my kids are too old.
The very best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone was attentive and helpful. I appreciate having great customer service, these guys did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and letting us know the best thing about the hotel is our staff. Those nice words will be shared. Moody Gardens is nestle amongst acres of lush tropical gardens and majestic pyramids. We invite you to come back/relax and bask in the sun. As you stated, we do have renovation going on - Please keep us in mind when you make your next trip to Galveston Island so you can take in all the new enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    195
    67
    50
    22
See reviews for
240
103
11
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here on business in Feb 2013. Nice facilities for small conventions, meetings, or family gatherings. Relativly close to some major attractions. It appears as though the rooms may be starting to have some upgrading. The property appears to be well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guest and for your comments about being a nice facility and meeting the needs of conventions, business meetings or family gatherings. Last year we started our guest room renovation and later this year will be giving a lot of TLC to our public areas. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a convention there and booked most of the hotel for rooms. The convention space is outstanding and very nicely accommodates a large group (1,000+). We went to check in early and the manager got us a room that was ready to go. There are a few small things that could be attended to for maintenance purposes, but the room was very clean and presentable overall.

This is no where near the beach, so stay elsewhere if that is what you are looking for. However, it is right next to the Moody Gardens (obviously) and is in a good location otherwise.

Cost wise, this is not a cheap place. However, it has a nice pool, some nice restaurants (highly recommend The Viewfinder Restaurant) for its panoramic views of the Gulf and the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Front desk associates do everything they can to get our guests checked in as soon as possible - I am pleased to read we did accommodate you right away. Whether for business or leisure I hope Moody Gardens Hotel has the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Well, where to begin....Ok, so we went to Galveston during Mardi Gras, and also Educator Appreciation at Moody Gardens. We traveled all the way from Fort Worth, TX, and arrived at Moody Gardens around 10am. We went to the aquariums and museums, and around 2pm, were ready to go check in to the hotel. Well, upon arriving, we were told we would not be allowed to check in because check-in was at 4pm. We told the front desk people that my mother in law, a diabetic, needed to lay down because she wasnt feeling well, and she needed her meds. Their excuse this time was "our system is down, we can't check you in". Ok..... So after my husband tracked down the manager and explained what was going on, we were checked in right away. So we look for our room (the hallways are very confusing, and no one in sight to ask for help) and attempt to get inside, when we discover our key cards don't work. So we trek downstairs, and get new key cards programmed. So we finally make it inside our rooms, and the TV and phones dont work (neither does my in-laws, 2 rooms down from us). After flaggind down a cleaning lady, who calls a maintenance man, he changes the batteries and POOF, its fixed. The rooms are in severe need of an uplift, it looks like 90s greatness in there, with aqua and pinks and the bedspread was scary! The beds itself were comfy, and the room fairly clean (i wouldn't say that about the carpets, tho) We did like that they provided a shuttle to The Strand, so we wouldn't have to drive. Parking is either valet, or in the boondocks around back. Our room didnt have a great view (of the Bay and of parking lots) and there is not breakfast included. There is, however, a $12 breakfast buffet, which was alright. (again, good but not for the price, would have enjoyed IHOP better) Also, none of the Galveston attractions (except for Schlitterbahn, which is on site) are nearby, so you have to drive everywhere, even to the beach. For around $169 a night, I expect fancy, not shmancy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank You for your feedback from your recent stay with us. The weekend you stayed with us was a very frustrating one. Our computer system was down for the entire property. We had our IT department working 48 hours straight on trying to correct the issue. As a result we had to operate without acomputer system which was frustrating for our guests as well as our associates. Please accept my apologies for any frustrations caused to you and your family. I was pleased to read that our front desk manager recognized the urgency and was able to quickly get you and your in-laws checked in even with the issues concerning the computer system. The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation at the moment and we have 140 rooms complete at this time! The Spa will begin its renovation in the next couple of weeks and we are excited for our guests to see the end result. The hotel already has upgraded to new beds and as you experienced are wonderful! We look forward to serving you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was also the site of a convention we attended. On arriving, we were greeted at several different spots by various workers. There was no wait at the front desk and we were able to check into our room several hours ahead of the published check in time. That was a pleasant surprise after a long drive in! Our room was very nice, clean, with average decoration & amenities. The bed --- wow! comfortable. Otherwise, the hotel grounds were clean & well organized. We parked ourselves, instead of using valet service. The parking lot was not far, well lit and since it was the same parking area as valet, there was always a worker in the parking lot so it gave appearance of secure. (We also saw a security car driving on several occasions.) The hotel has two pools, one very nice outdoor which we did not get to use since it was too cold. And an indoor lap pool, which we also didn't use but it was because we ran out of time. The hot tub was also outdoor so no using it - too cold. On the whole, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Location, is everything and we are lucky to be near so many great activities. We hope to see you again soon! Summer is coming quickly and we have some great things planned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a large party staying at the Hotel over the weekend. Most of us flew into the local airport (Scholes Field). Location is very conveniently located to the airport and attractions. Amenities are first class and rooms are very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating to our many requests. The Hotel Shuttles were used to go between the Hotel and nearby locations (i.e. the Beach). Schlitterbahn, Lone Star Museum and Moody Gardens are all within walking distance. We came in on Thursday and the Hotel was very quiet, so if you want a very relaxing stay check-in on Sunday night and leave on Thursday!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the great comments! It is a great amenity to be right next to Scholes Airport. When you fly in next time please let us know and we will be more than happy to send our transportation to pick you up! We want to show you our fine hospitality from the moment you land. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

When I first arrived at the hotel, there was an issue with finding my room because someone else had booked it/dates changes and the girl at the front desk was a trainee but eventually everything was figured out.
The room was gorgeous and clean, the bed was one of the most comfortable and soft I have ever slept in, and the blackout curtains were a life saver because boy does it get bright in the morning. Free wifi/mini fridge/coffee = awesome!!!!
I had a room overlooking the pool and even though it's February, people were out there swimming kind of late a night. I just put the air on high and it drowned out most of the noise.
Housekeeping shows up at about 9:30 am on the 2nd floor, it's nice if you have to be out and about early anyway but if you're trying to sleep in or are just in the room they start calling out "housekeeping" (over and over and over) pretty early.
All of the food I had at the hotel was wonderful. I was there for a conference so our meals were brought in but everything was wonderful.
One negative - I went into the Terrace restaurant about 30 minutes before it was set to close to get a piece of cake to go, the lady who helped me was already counting the money in the till, even though there was still a while until close, and treated me like I was inconveniencing her.
Otherwise, all of the other staff was wonderful, especially Vlada at the front desk and the event planners and caterers who went above and beyond to help us and make sure that everything went smoothly.
The hotel is in a great location, just a walk across the parking lot to Moody Gardens or Schlitterbahn and a few blocks from the seawall.
Overall this is a pretty great place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
It is always great to hear our associates are taking care of our loyal guests. Vlada, is a great addition to our team! She is the leader on being recognized on our comment cards. All of our pools are heated year round so everyone can enjoy the pool regardless of the weather. I am so glad you enjoyed the free WiFI, we understand the importance of being connected to friends or business. Chef Urs, has benn with Moody Gardens since we opened and he truly has a gift with food. He oversees even the smallest details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.