We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center to your Saves list
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed the weekend of Jan. 11, 2013, for an event our daughter had at Moody Gardens. We have been to Galveston numerous times, usually staying at the San Luis, but stayed at Moody Gardens for this event. We were not disappointed. Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was of good size as well. Every staff member we dealt with was competent, friendly, and helpful. Despite a hotel full of school aged cheerleaders the room areas were actually very quiet and we slept well. The kids loved the heated pools. The food at The Terrace (hotel restaurant) was okay, a bit expensive (expected at a hotel), but the servers were great. The only problem we had was picking up a wireless signal for our phones. It was spotty. No problems w/ a signal in our room but in the lobby and other areas we could only get a signal about half of the time. However we had no problems receiving the free wifi service offered by the hotel. The hotel is not across the seawall from the beach as are some of the other hotels but it is only a short drive. We will definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Galveston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Kelkay66. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and walked away with the thought that you will definitely consider staying at Moody Gardens Hotel again on your next trip to Galveston. I will pass along your feedback to our staff and thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    294
    98
    61
    29
See reviews for
368
157
13
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Even during a major room remodel, our stay at Moody Gardens was wonderful. We never heard or saw any work being done. We were in an "older" room, but it was very comfortable. The bedding is great and very plush.

The staff at Moody is well trained and always ready to assist. During the holidays there was hot wassail in the lobby all day long and in the evenings snacks and soft drinks were available. We enjoyed the Festival of Lights and Moody provided a complimentary shuttle back and forth to the entrance of the festival. This is a wonderful, family oriented, resort and I have stayed here a number of times. Our granddaughter loves the hotel experience and my husband and I enjoy our own little get-aways. There are activities provided all year long, from the Rainforest Pyramid, the Aquarium, 3D and 4D movies, heated pool and spa, to The Schlitterbahn which is next door. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Views of the pyramids are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Nancy H. I am pleased that even during our major room renovation your stay at Moody Gardens Hotel was wonderful! Given our pride in providing excellent service and care for our guests, I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our entire staff. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our group of 5 couples stayed here for the Moody Gardens New Years Gala and we were very happy with the accomodations. HOWEVER, there was one thing that will keep us from returning. Anytime we were not in our room, (e.g. in the lobby, bar, or restaurant) none of us could get ANY phone or internet reception. We had to walk outside away from the building. Since some of the couples had children they were trying to stay connected with (and jobs!) this was a real nuisance. We were told by the front desk that some people who have AT&T as their provider can get reception. That is ridiculous. I was tempted to give only 3 stars since this was such a major inconvenience for us.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the North wing or you'll have to walk a LONG way to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear likesto2travel,
We were very pleased to read your group of 5 couples was very happy with their accommodations for New Year's Eve at Moody Gardens. Thank you for bringing in 2013 with us! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Our building is a bit unusual because we are rated for level 4 hurricane storms which require much larger rebar and steel in the walls. We did contact phone service providers and some have equipment on the hotel roof to help with reception. Apparently we need to again make contact with the other providers. We are proud of our complimentary Wi-Fi capabilities throughout the hotel and convention center. Thank you again for posting and for your business. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We got the Festival of Lights package that included hotel room, festival of light tickets and breakfast. The room has big windows providing a great view of the Moody Gardens pyramids. If your room does not have a pyramid view, you can see the pyramids from the hallway where elevators are. Moody Gardens Hotel is right next to Moody Gardens. If fact, if you park in the hotel parking lot, Moody Gardens and the Hotel are both just steps away. The room is nice and very clean. The bed is comfortable. The Restaurant on the Terrace has a nice view and environment. The buffet breakfast is pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear collector_hunter, thank you for your comments. It is always nice to hear from folks telling us Moody Gardens Hotel is a great place to stay. Keep us in mind for spring break - We have
"fun" in store and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Moody Gardens for the last weekend of the Festival of Lights (Jan 3-4, 2013) to celebrate my daughters 12th birthday with 2 of her friends. We had a wonderful time! The check-in staff was friendly and even though I had booked an island view room, immediately moved me to a view of the pyramids and lights when I asked. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check in time, but they had a room available and let us check in early. Our room had not yet been updated, but it was still nice, comfortable beds and nice bedding and clean.

There were so many fun activities and the special package prices were very reasonable. The girls were at first disappointed that the snow tubing was so small, but it proved to be great fun, even for active 12 year olds. The ice skating, Ride Film, and 4D film were all great fun. One of the unexpected surprises was the Discovery Museum music exhibition upstairs. It was so interesting to the kids, and they really enjoyed singing Karaoke on stage. After all the activities and dinner, it had gotten very cold and the girls weren't sure they wanted to take the long walk through the Festival of Lights. Along came a Golf Cart, equipped with blankets to keep us warm. What a treat it was! The lights were great, and they had a large bonfire where you could roast marshmallows and make s'mores, try Kettle Korn and warm up.

Everywhere we went, the staff was helpful and friendly. I was pleasantly surprised by how much there was to do. We will definitely go back to visit again next year, and probably in the warmer months when we have time to enjoy the aquarium, rainforest, pool and water activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JojoDK. Thank you for taking time to review your stay that you enjoyed with your family. I am glad you were entertained with everything Moody Gardens offers - Festival of Lights, Rainforest, Aquarium, bonfire, smore's and to end the day fall asleep in our comfy beds. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming your family back to Moody Gardens in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Our stay took place 1/1-3/12. We were so happy during our stay. Our room was very clean and beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bellman was AWESOME! Our twins were asleep in the car. He unloaded our bags and took the up to our room. He hung our jackets up rather than just layed them across the bed. We had tons of bags and he sorted them and was very thoughtful. His customer service really set the trip off right. The restaurant was considerate of our noisy 2 year olds and catered to our needs. During each meal a mgr came to our table, great customer service! All of the attractions at Moody Gardens was a blast. Each having kind employees that were helpful. My husband look forward to staying again without the twins and spend the day at the spa! We will return with our family next Christmas! Two thumbs up on being a family friendly property!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear SavedByJesusChrist. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Moody Gardens Hotel during New Years Eve. We are honored you entrust us with providing quality service to your family while you are away from home. Thank you for sharing the customer service you received from our bellman – I will pass along your positive comments. I look forward to you and your husband returing in the near future for your special time away and would consider it a privilege to greet you personally upon your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived at Moody on 12/24 around 2:00pm and there was no line, so check in was a breeze. Took about 5 minutes. We were lucky enough to get a renovated room (8th floor). I don’t know what the rooms looked like before, but the new rooms are nice & very clean. In fact the hallways still had a faint smell of paint. The beds were so comfortable!! I want to buy the mattress they use for my bed….. Every staff member we spoke with was very nice & professional.

The Terrace Café was pretty good. Not the best food in the world, but certainly not the worst. Just average.

The festival of lights was worth the money. I think it was about $7.00 per adult and believe the walk as about 1 mile.

The Christmas Show & dinner was alright. The show was standard “event” buffet. Which means bland food. However, the desserts were very tasty. The show was very cheesy. I was bored halfway through it, but that’s not the hotels fault.

The aquarium pyramid is really good! I could have stayed there all day.

The rain forest pyramid was good as well. However, if you have bad allergies like me the smells of all the different plants will get to you. They said they had sloths, but I didn’t see any. On some “levels” the animals are just hanging out in the trees so you might have a monkey come up to you. The butterfly part was a little bit of a disappointment. There was like 1 butterfly. Maybe there were hiding or it wasn’t their season??

The only “flaw” about the place is the location it’s about 1-2 miles away from the gulf and if you don’t have a car you’re kind of stuck. I guess the hotel does have a shuttle that will take you to the strand, but since it was the “off season”, they didn’t have this service. We ended up renting a car so we could get around town.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRoomsManager, Manager at Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear sarahcuda. I am pleased you have found check-in to be a breeze with only a 5 minute wait. Thank you for your comments regarding guest rooms, and we appreciate reading our staff was very nice and professional. Thank you for choosing to stay at Moody Gardens Hotel - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.2 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
4.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center

Address: 7 Hope Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#5 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moody Gardens Hotel Hotel Galveston
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa And Convention Center
Moody Gardens Motel
Moody Gardens Galveston
Moody Garden Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.